$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Metro Apartments

3 stars
440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd... See full review

  • Amazing79
  • Nov 26, 2013
Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean,... See full review

  • Meagherman
  • Jul 21, 2013
Located in the Theater District, these New York City apartments are a short walk from Times Square. Each apartment features a kitchenette, cable TV and free high speed internet access.

Whether with the family or on a business trip there is something for everyone to do in New York's Times Square and our apartments are the perfect choice for residence. You can go shopping with the family,or go out to diner and the theatre. A stay with us at Metro Apartments will give you all the excitement of a vacation while giving you all the comforts of home. There are so many things to do within walking distance of our property.
Metro Apartments features a 24-hour front desk and laundry facility available to all guests.

The 42nd Street-Port Authority Bus Terminal Subway Station is within one block of Metro Apartments. Central Park is a 25-minute walk from the property.
Optional cleaning service fee- $50 per day, plus tax.

Hotel Map

40.7582 -73.9948
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Laguardia airport, JFK airport, and Newark airport
Area description
There are arcades, parks, movie theatres, comedy clubs, bowling alleys and much more all within walking distance! We are a five minute walk to The Jacobs Javits Center, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum , Ripley's Believe it or Not, Dave & Busters, Mary Poppins (the play) and 3 different movie theatres. We are also within 2 minutes of all major subway lines, and within walking distance to Port Authority and Penn Station. The famous Central Park & Zoo are only a 25 minute walk away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Apartments also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Metro Apartments Rooms

COMFORT - STUDIO
Premium bedding and cotton linens help ensure a restful night. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has complimentary toiletries. Air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, and a phone with free long-distance calling are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.
LUXURY - APARTMENT
Premium bedding, a down duvet, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a separate living room, and a phone with free long-distance calling are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Apartments

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pagey282000
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Metro Apartments=Good Value in Midtown

This place is perfect if you want to be close to 42nd St/Broadway but don't want to break the bank. What you sacrifice in amenities and creature comforts, you get back in value. This place is located in Hells Kitchen. It's one block from 42nd Street, which offers everything. Warning: if you're not a seasoned traveler, this neighborhood may scare you a bit, as it's far from your suburban home. For the not so squemish, you'll find some great hidden treasures in the neighborhood including the Hells Kitchen Flea Market. Our suite was a decent size and included a toaster, coffee maker (bring your own coffee), microwave, small frige, small stove top, dishes, silverware, glassess (including wine glassess!), an HDTV and a small balcony. Staff was friendly. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tour NYC on Sunday. It's much quieter and easier to get around.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bobby and kids
New Jersey, USA
Dec 12, 2011

What was I thinking

This is no hilton the staff was not very nice. too much noise from street. no soap in the bathroom. the kids could not sleep with bugs in the room. the room was nice. next time pay more and be happy. I would love to recommend this place to my mother inlaw

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoseKnows
Utah, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Ok place for the money...

The location was pretty close to Time Square and that was nice. The subway was about .25 miles away, so fairly close. The room was nothing special and could use a little TLC, such as new carpet or flooring and paint. The bathroom was slightly dingy and could use some sprucing. Overall it was just average for your buck, no bang!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shell Jones
Newark, DE
Mar 6, 2011

"Horrible Hotel Experience"

My husband and I travel to New York each year for a weekend getaway. This weekend was "GREAT", except for the hotel stay. Besides being convenient to the parking garage, the hotel was horrible! Upon entering the hotel we were approached by a terribly unprofessional customer service employee. The front desk (a chair and counter top with a few shelves behind it) was very unwelcoming. I wanted to turn around and walk back out the door; however the room was prepaid. The lady at the desk asked to take a copy of my id and credit card for records and proceeded to walk away from the desk into another room to do so. It was a very uncomfortable situation. Upon entering the room, there were many things wrong. Coffee pot, no coffee. The mini fridge did not work. The internet did not connect. There were no washcloths in the room. No heat. The wire running to the heater was punctured by a staple so we did not plug it in because of the risk of fire. Also, the bath tub dripped continually, the outlet in the bathroom was just hanging in the wall, the vent in the bathroom was a piece of metal just hammered to the wall. To sum things up, Metro Apartments should rethink the prices they charge for staying there. It is definitely not worth the money my husband and I paid. I will never go back to, or recommend, this establishment to anyone. Compared to the past two hotel stays in New York, this hotel could not have been WORSE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Any hotel other than Metro Apartments is sure to be wonderful.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shell Jones
Newark, DE
Mar 6, 2011

"Horrible Hotel Experience"

My husband and I travel to New York each year for a weekend getaway. This weekend was "GREAT", except for the hotel stay. Besides being convenient to the parking garage, the hotel was horrible! Upon entering the hotel we were approached by a terribly unprofessional customer service employee. The front desk (a chair and counter top with a few shelves behind it) was very unwelcoming. I wanted to turn around and walk back out the door; however the room was prepaid. The lady at the desk asked to take a copy of my id and credit card for records and proceeded to walk away from the desk into another room to do so. It was a very uncomfortable situation. Upon entering the room, there were many things wrong. Coffee pot, no coffee. The mini fridge did not work. The internet did not connect. There were no washcloths in the room. No heat. The wire running to the heater was punctured by a staple so we did not plug it in because of the risk of fire. Also, the bath tub dripped continually, the outlet in the bathroom was just hanging in the wall, the vent in the bathroom was a piece of metal just hammered to the wall. To sum things up, Metro Apartments should rethink the prices they charge for staying there. It is definitely not worth the money my husband and I paid. I will never go back to, or recommend, this establishment to anyone. Compared to the past two hotel stays in New York, this hotel could not have been WORSE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Any hotel other than Metro Apartments is sure to be wonderful.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island NY
Jan 24, 2011

Metro Apartments

We stayed here a night prior to our cruise. It was a couple of blocks away from Pier 88 and was very convenient! The room was clean, a diner around the corner delivers, and it was a perfect 1 night stay! Ask for a room in the back, there is a ton of construction across the street that goes on ALL night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

From the Cruise Terminal!

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island NY
Jan 24, 2011

Metro Apartments

We stayed here a night prior to our cruise. It was a couple of blocks away from Pier 88 and was very convenient! The room was clean, a diner around the corner delivers, and it was a perfect 1 night stay! Ask for a room in the back, there is a ton of construction across the street that goes on ALL night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

From the Cruise Terminal!

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Nov 4, 2010

Great place to stay, unbeatale location

I was on business/family trip. Great place to stay, very close to everything in Manhattan. Staff is friendly and very helpful, made us feel like at home. Clean and safe for anyone. I'm strongly recommend Metro Apartments to everyone who want to visit New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Nov 4, 2010

Great place to stay, unbeatale location

I was on business/family trip. Great place to stay, very close to everything in Manhattan. Staff is friendly and very helpful, made us feel like at home. Clean and safe for anyone. I'm strongly recommend Metro Apartments to everyone who want to visit New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 27, 2010

Metro Apartments

Room was clean but grills were missing from vents in the rool and the whole place had the look of being under renovation. It was okay for the price, but guests should not expect much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top