$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Metro Apartments

3 stars
440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd... See full review

  • Amazing79
  • Nov 26, 2013
Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean,... See full review

  • Meagherman
  • Jul 21, 2013
Located in the Theater District, these New York City apartments are a short walk from Times Square. Each apartment features a kitchenette, cable TV and free high speed internet access.

Whether with the family or on a business trip there is something for everyone to do in New York's Times Square and our apartments are the perfect choice for residence. You can go shopping with the family,or go out to diner and the theatre. A stay with us at Metro Apartments will give you all the excitement of a vacation while giving you all the comforts of home. There are so many things to do within walking distance of our property.
Metro Apartments features a 24-hour front desk and laundry facility available to all guests.

The 42nd Street-Port Authority Bus Terminal Subway Station is within one block of Metro Apartments. Central Park is a 25-minute walk from the property.
Optional cleaning service fee- $50 per day, plus tax.

Metro Apartments Rooms

COMFORT - STUDIO
Premium bedding and cotton linens help ensure a restful night. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has complimentary toiletries. Air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, and a phone with free long-distance calling are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.
LUXURY - APARTMENT
Premium bedding, a down duvet, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a separate living room, and a phone with free long-distance calling are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Apartments also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7582 -73.9948
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Laguardia airport, JFK airport, and Newark airport
Area description
There are arcades, parks, movie theatres, comedy clubs, bowling alleys and much more all within walking distance! We are a five minute walk to The Jacobs Javits Center, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum , Ripley's Believe it or Not, Dave & Busters, Mary Poppins (the play) and 3 different movie theatres. We are also within 2 minutes of all major subway lines, and within walking distance to Port Authority and Penn Station. The famous Central Park & Zoo are only a 25 minute walk away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Apartments

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry II
Netherlands
Jan 11, 2014

OK place

We stayed for 8 nights in a suite. Simple but comfortable furniture. Beds are excellent. However, curtain was broken, toaster too, thermostat hung by it's wires out of the wall. All this was brought to the attention of the staff however none of the deficiencies were corrected during our stay. It's biggelt staving grace is location and reasonably priced studio's and suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capicci pizerria. Probably best pizza restaurant in Manhattan!

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Curious2
Maryland
Dec 24, 2013

Short notice and short trip to New Yourk

Everything was OK. The room was clean with the necessity amenities. The location was good & close to time square. We visited the metropolitan Museum and walked a lot. The weather was exceptional (70 F). The hotel experience was **.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amazing79
Alexandria, VA
Nov 26, 2013

Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd St and 11th Ave). Also, there is a Food Emporium a block away that you can hit up should you decide to save some money from a restaurant and utilize the kitchenette in your room. The kitchenette is stocked with your basic pots/pans/bowls/plates/cutlery. Everything (microwave and stove) seemed to function well. The room was neat and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the cramped side, but everything worked fine. The hotel is near a noisy highway, but that did not bother us at all. The mornings, there is coffee and cookies offered. That's a nice treat. The only Cons: *No internet access. I had brought my computer in order to book tickets for shows or do some NYC research. In the end, I utilized my mobile phone to do some research, but it wasn't ideal. *Because we were staying there for five nights, we were "offered" one complimentary free room service/housekeeping on any day of our choosing during our stay. We tried to take the hotel up on that offer but were denied since they stated that there would be too many checkouts occurring for them to honor this complimentary service. So we tried to switch days to no avail. It's no big deal since my bf and I are relatively neat but it is disappointing to be told that you'd receive something and not get it. One other thing - the hotel is located near a Covenant House which is a shelter. Some of the folks that hang around there seem a bit shady. Fortunately, there was no conflict during our stay at the Metro Apartments. Overall, I would definitely rebook at Metro Apartments if I get another good hotel deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and lots of shopping (H&M, Forever 21, American Eagle, etc) and lots of shows are all within walking distance. There are MANY places to eat in H.e.l.l.'s Kitchen as well. The difficult part was trying to decide where to eat. You're overwhelmed with options. Many places also offer great happy hour rates. I enjoyed a wonderful Litchee-tini (Litchee Martini) for $5 at Thai place called "V{iv}".

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quinnovator
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 21, 2013

Noise undermines budget experience

The price was good, people were friendly, room was clean if somewhat dingy. The real problem was composed of two factors: it's next to a bus station with queues of buses right outside the window; and the windows are single pane. Consequently, the noise was distractingly loud. For the money don't expect much, and most was nice, but window renovation to add some sound insulation would be a major improvement (and save energy costs too).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meagherman
Business
Marin County, CA
Jul 21, 2013

Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean, convenient room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meagherman
Business
Marin County, CA
May 16, 2013

Apartment setting

It was different staying in an apartment but kind of cool. Lacks all big amenities of a big hotel, but convenient and nice to have a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sagine
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Oct 16, 2012

Great family getaway

The Hotel was nice very spacious and clean we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. We went to museum with the kids. They were excited and extremely tired from shopping and cite seeing all over Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

supermarket around the corner helped for having to take out

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donaldmad
Business
palm desert ca
Mar 28, 2012

The Place was a Disaster!!

Would never stay there again. No clean towels hair dryer did not work.. Bed not made asked for soap they did not give it to me. Not cleaned daily. Bad Bad Bad. Room very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shane 1990
London, UK
Mar 17, 2012

Not that impressed

I arrived at this hotel to be met by a lady at the front desk who greeted me with 'you do realise you have to pay a $50 service charge right?' i was already aware of this as it was mentioned on my booking. I was taken into their office to pay the service charge and spoke with a lovely lady who said she would waive the tax for me as i was paying cash (that was nice). When I got to the room the first thing i noted was that the whole place had a strange smell to it - not fresh at all. The bed was comfy however as i was staying with my cousin i requested an air bed which had to be re-inflated twice each night just to stay up. The TV had no plug attached to it and the room was quite dirty. On our third night i was surprised that nobody had been into our room to clean or change towels and when i phoned reception i was quite abruptly told that my service charge was to pay for the room to be cleaned at the END of my stay and if i wanted towels i would have to wait till morning and ask when the maids were in!! For over £100 a night i think this is disgusting service. The location of the hotel was quite good... there are some really nice diners around and its a ten min walk to times square and about 20min walk the other way to macys and empire state building. There is a subway station right opposite as well which was great. I wouldnt choose to stay at this place again. The staff were quite rude and abrupt and it is most certainly not worth the money. If it was much cheaper then I would probably consider it as a cheap alternative only due to the location. If this is the cheapest you can get and you dont mind staying somewhere similar to a hostal with hotel prices then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starlight Diner was a lovely place to have breakfast and even dinner! Staff are lovely and the food is great for the price.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trot Kamp
Business
Kampala
Mar 3, 2012

Location is wow

Wonderful ease to connect around Manhattan. You wana hang out till late and yet get to your retirement room without a hassle? then MA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shacks

Back to menu Return to top