Metro Apartments

3 stars
440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd... See full review

  • Amazing79
  • Nov 26, 2013
Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean,... See full review

  • Meagherman
  • Jul 21, 2013
Located in the Theater District, these New York City apartments are a short walk from Times Square. Each apartment features a kitchenette, cable TV and free high speed internet access.

Whether with the family or on a business trip there is something for everyone to do in New York's Times Square and our apartments are the perfect choice for residence. You can go shopping with the family,or go out to diner and the theatre. A stay with us at Metro Apartments will give you all the excitement of a vacation while giving you all the comforts of home. There are so many things to do within walking distance of our property.
Metro Apartments features a 24-hour front desk and laundry facility available to all guests.

The 42nd Street-Port Authority Bus Terminal Subway Station is within one block of Metro Apartments. Central Park is a 25-minute walk from the property.
Optional cleaning service fee- $50 per day, plus tax.

Metro Apartments Rooms

COMFORT - STUDIO
Premium bedding and cotton linens help ensure a restful night. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has complimentary toiletries. Air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, and a phone with free long-distance calling are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.
LUXURY - APARTMENT
Premium bedding, a down duvet, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a separate living room, and a phone with free long-distance calling are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
High-speed internet

Hotel Map

40.7582 -73.9948
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Laguardia airport, JFK airport, and Newark airport
Area description
There are arcades, parks, movie theatres, comedy clubs, bowling alleys and much more all within walking distance! We are a five minute walk to The Jacobs Javits Center, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum , Ripley's Believe it or Not, Dave & Busters, Mary Poppins (the play) and 3 different movie theatres. We are also within 2 minutes of all major subway lines, and within walking distance to Port Authority and Penn Station. The famous Central Park & Zoo are only a 25 minute walk away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Apartments

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2010

The worst!

This is not a hotel, it's a dump! Actually, it's an apartment building for people who are borderline indigents. Depressing. And noisy: the windows are super thin, and my room overlooked the NJ tunnel entrance and bus terminal. I couldn't sleep at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 27, 2010

Metro Apartments

Room was clean but grills were missing from vents in the rool and the whole place had the look of being under renovation. It was okay for the price, but guests should not expect much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donaldmad
Business
palm desert ca
Mar 28, 2012

The Place was a Disaster!!

Would never stay there again. No clean towels hair dryer did not work.. Bed not made asked for soap they did not give it to me. Not cleaned daily. Bad Bad Bad. Room very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2010

The worst!

This is not a hotel, it's a dump! Actually, it's an apartment building for people who are borderline indigents. Depressing. And noisy: the windows are super thin, and my room overlooked the NJ tunnel entrance and bus terminal. I couldn't sleep at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thr3pswithjaybee
Business
Hawaii
Jul 26, 2010

metro deal...?

The doorman/woman were nice. One gentelmen (older fellow w/mustach and bald head) was a bit jumpy at times. He was a bit agressive with a visitor of mine, he stated he tried to call my room (i never heard the phone ring so it may not work). The others were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The room was just recently updated so everything is fresh and new. The quality of craftsmanship is in question though... Free wifi, clean, cold A/C and a big flat panel TV were nice.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethlehem, Pa
Aug 16, 2010

Noisy everything & noted violations

I was put on 5th floor facing the bus ramps to the P.A.B.T. Very noisy exterior with busses running all night. I called for soap/shampoo and the front dest said I would have to buy those items. My stay was because the next morning I was to have a major operation @ St.Lukes/Roosevelt Hosp. and I needed to stay in the city the night before surgery. Because of my disability, it was inconvenient to go trapesing around to find toiletries in which I feel the Metro Apt. should have provided (very cheap of them to disreguard this).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shell Jones
Newark, DE
Mar 6, 2011

"Horrible Hotel Experience"

My husband and I travel to New York each year for a weekend getaway. This weekend was "GREAT", except for the hotel stay. Besides being convenient to the parking garage, the hotel was horrible! Upon entering the hotel we were approached by a terribly unprofessional customer service employee. The front desk (a chair and counter top with a few shelves behind it) was very unwelcoming. I wanted to turn around and walk back out the door; however the room was prepaid. The lady at the desk asked to take a copy of my id and credit card for records and proceeded to walk away from the desk into another room to do so. It was a very uncomfortable situation. Upon entering the room, there were many things wrong. Coffee pot, no coffee. The mini fridge did not work. The internet did not connect. There were no washcloths in the room. No heat. The wire running to the heater was punctured by a staple so we did not plug it in because of the risk of fire. Also, the bath tub dripped continually, the outlet in the bathroom was just hanging in the wall, the vent in the bathroom was a piece of metal just hammered to the wall. To sum things up, Metro Apartments should rethink the prices they charge for staying there. It is definitely not worth the money my husband and I paid. I will never go back to, or recommend, this establishment to anyone. Compared to the past two hotel stays in New York, this hotel could not have been WORSE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Any hotel other than Metro Apartments is sure to be wonderful.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thr3pswithjaybee
Business
Hawaii
Jul 26, 2010

metro deal...?

The doorman/woman were nice. One gentelmen (older fellow w/mustach and bald head) was a bit jumpy at times. He was a bit agressive with a visitor of mine, he stated he tried to call my room (i never heard the phone ring so it may not work). The others were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The room was just recently updated so everything is fresh and new. The quality of craftsmanship is in question though... Free wifi, clean, cold A/C and a big flat panel TV were nice.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 27, 2010

Metro Apartments

Room was clean but grills were missing from vents in the rool and the whole place had the look of being under renovation. It was okay for the price, but guests should not expect much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethlehem, Pa
Aug 16, 2010

Noisy everything & noted violations

I was put on 5th floor facing the bus ramps to the P.A.B.T. Very noisy exterior with busses running all night. I called for soap/shampoo and the front dest said I would have to buy those items. My stay was because the next morning I was to have a major operation @ St.Lukes/Roosevelt Hosp. and I needed to stay in the city the night before surgery. Because of my disability, it was inconvenient to go trapesing around to find toiletries in which I feel the Metro Apt. should have provided (very cheap of them to disreguard this).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top