$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Metro Apartments

3 stars
440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd... See full review

  • Amazing79
  • Nov 26, 2013
Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean,... See full review

  • Meagherman
  • Jul 21, 2013
Located in the Theater District, these New York City apartments are a short walk from Times Square. Each apartment features a kitchenette, cable TV and free high speed internet access.

Whether with the family or on a business trip there is something for everyone to do in New York's Times Square and our apartments are the perfect choice for residence. You can go shopping with the family,or go out to diner and the theatre. A stay with us at Metro Apartments will give you all the excitement of a vacation while giving you all the comforts of home. There are so many things to do within walking distance of our property.
Metro Apartments features a 24-hour front desk and laundry facility available to all guests.

The 42nd Street-Port Authority Bus Terminal Subway Station is within one block of Metro Apartments. Central Park is a 25-minute walk from the property.
Optional cleaning service fee- $50 per day, plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Apartments also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Metro Apartments Rooms

COMFORT - STUDIO
Premium bedding and cotton linens help ensure a restful night. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has complimentary toiletries. Air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, and a phone with free long-distance calling are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.
LUXURY - APARTMENT
Premium bedding, a down duvet, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a separate living room, and a phone with free long-distance calling are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Apartments

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donaldmad
Business
palm desert ca
Mar 28, 2012

The Place was a Disaster!!

Would never stay there again. No clean towels hair dryer did not work.. Bed not made asked for soap they did not give it to me. Not cleaned daily. Bad Bad Bad. Room very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, Pa
Aug 16, 2010

Noisy everything & noted violations

I was put on 5th floor facing the bus ramps to the P.A.B.T. Very noisy exterior with busses running all night. I called for soap/shampoo and the front dest said I would have to buy those items. My stay was because the next morning I was to have a major operation @ St.Lukes/Roosevelt Hosp. and I needed to stay in the city the night before surgery. Because of my disability, it was inconvenient to go trapesing around to find toiletries in which I feel the Metro Apt. should have provided (very cheap of them to disreguard this).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 27, 2010

Metro Apartments

Room was clean but grills were missing from vents in the rool and the whole place had the look of being under renovation. It was okay for the price, but guests should not expect much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2010

The worst!

This is not a hotel, it's a dump! Actually, it's an apartment building for people who are borderline indigents. Depressing. And noisy: the windows are super thin, and my room overlooked the NJ tunnel entrance and bus terminal. I couldn't sleep at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thr3pswithjaybee
Business
Hawaii
Jul 26, 2010

metro deal...?

The doorman/woman were nice. One gentelmen (older fellow w/mustach and bald head) was a bit jumpy at times. He was a bit agressive with a visitor of mine, he stated he tried to call my room (i never heard the phone ring so it may not work). The others were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The room was just recently updated so everything is fresh and new. The quality of craftsmanship is in question though... Free wifi, clean, cold A/C and a big flat panel TV were nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shell Jones
Business
Newark, DE
Mar 6, 2011

"Horrible Hotel Experience"

My husband and I travel to New York each year for a weekend getaway. This weekend was "GREAT", except for the hotel stay. Besides being convenient to the parking garage, the hotel was horrible! Upon entering the hotel we were approached by a terribly unprofessional customer service employee. The front desk (a chair and counter top with a few shelves behind it) was very unwelcoming. I wanted to turn around and walk back out the door; however the room was prepaid. The lady at the desk asked to take a copy of my id and credit card for records and proceeded to walk away from the desk into another room to do so. It was a very uncomfortable situation. Upon entering the room, there were many things wrong. Coffee pot, no coffee. The mini fridge did not work. The internet did not connect. There were no washcloths in the room. No heat. The wire running to the heater was punctured by a staple so we did not plug it in because of the risk of fire. Also, the bath tub dripped continually, the outlet in the bathroom was just hanging in the wall, the vent in the bathroom was a piece of metal just hammered to the wall. To sum things up, Metro Apartments should rethink the prices they charge for staying there. It is definitely not worth the money my husband and I paid. I will never go back to, or recommend, this establishment to anyone. Compared to the past two hotel stays in New York, this hotel could not have been WORSE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Any hotel other than Metro Apartments is sure to be wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shane 1990
Business
London, UK
Mar 17, 2012

Not that impressed

I arrived at this hotel to be met by a lady at the front desk who greeted me with 'you do realise you have to pay a $50 service charge right?' i was already aware of this as it was mentioned on my booking. I was taken into their office to pay the service charge and spoke with a lovely lady who said she would waive the tax for me as i was paying cash (that was nice). When I got to the room the first thing i noted was that the whole place had a strange smell to it - not fresh at all. The bed was comfy however as i was staying with my cousin i requested an air bed which had to be re-inflated twice each night just to stay up. The TV had no plug attached to it and the room was quite dirty. On our third night i was surprised that nobody had been into our room to clean or change towels and when i phoned reception i was quite abruptly told that my service charge was to pay for the room to be cleaned at the END of my stay and if i wanted towels i would have to wait till morning and ask when the maids were in!! For over £100 a night i think this is disgusting service. The location of the hotel was quite good... there are some really nice diners around and its a ten min walk to times square and about 20min walk the other way to macys and empire state building. There is a subway station right opposite as well which was great. I wouldnt choose to stay at this place again. The staff were quite rude and abrupt and it is most certainly not worth the money. If it was much cheaper then I would probably consider it as a cheap alternative only due to the location. If this is the cheapest you can get and you dont mind staying somewhere similar to a hostal with hotel prices then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starlight Diner was a lovely place to have breakfast and even dinner! Staff are lovely and the food is great for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quinnovator
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 21, 2013

Noise undermines budget experience

The price was good, people were friendly, room was clean if somewhat dingy. The real problem was composed of two factors: it's next to a bus station with queues of buses right outside the window; and the windows are single pane. Consequently, the noise was distractingly loud. For the money don't expect much, and most was nice, but window renovation to add some sound insulation would be a major improvement (and save energy costs too).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Curious2
Business
Maryland
Dec 24, 2013

Short notice and short trip to New Yourk

Everything was OK. The room was clean with the necessity amenities. The location was good & close to time square. We visited the metropolitan Museum and walked a lot. The weather was exceptional (70 F). The hotel experience was **.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent city traveler
Business
Louisville, KY
Oct 9, 2010

Adequate but you can find a better optio

FIRST warning: There is a big, loud construction project (daytime noise from 8 to 4) across the street that isn't ending anytime soon so if you plan to stay in the room during the day, bring earplugs (and if you ask for the other side of the building, you'll get noise from the Lincoln tunnel 24-7). Again, this didn't matter so much to us because we left at 9 and didn't come back til 4 or 5. SECOND warning: There is an unadvertised extra $50 "cleaning fee" that they collect when you check in if you are staying "more than one night" but oddly they do not provide any cleaning services or linens during the entire stay; this is a fee to clean up AFTER you check out.THIRD warning: This may not be the low-cost option if you had been willing to wait a bit longer to book a room at a chain. Although the rooms are clean and can be low-cost, and the building is safe, there's no hiding that this is no Hilton; in fact, do not mistake this for a hotel because it's not. Metro Apts feels and acts like a slightly run-down apartment building that has started to rent out rooms to tourists but you are still on tired hallways with real live apartment dwellers. A lone, barely friendly security guard is your welcoming party and you are curtly instructed to knock on the door of an office that is a cluttered hive of odd-behavng paper pushers who speak broken English (they seemed Russian?). My wife described this office as "creepy" and we felt unsure about giving them our credit card. The rooms are small "studios" with the basics (even a stove, microwave, frig, sink) but there are odd omissions: they supply shampoo and bath gel, but no bars of soap; there are a few dishes and silverware, but no dish soap; there is no cleaning service, but they charge a cleaning fee. What did I expect for $195? Don't get me wrong: The room was okay, the location was great. I had some buyer's remorse when we checked in at 2 pm and there was HUGE construction noise across the street. Also, when I saw that the Hilton Garden Inn was no longer $340 but instead was offering rooms that same week for $235. Next time: I will wait til the week I leave for NYC and book a higher quality hotel on line. I miss having "normal" hotel services and trained staff, and I want to be sure there's no noise outside. I travel frequently and have a high tolerance for odd choices, but I'd skip this next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Times Square and just sit down and watch the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top