$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Metro Apartments

3 stars
440 West 41st Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd... See full review

  • Amazing79
  • Nov 26, 2013
Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean,... See full review

  • Meagherman
  • Jul 21, 2013
Located in the Theater District, these New York City apartments are a short walk from Times Square. Each apartment features a kitchenette, cable TV and free high speed internet access.

Whether with the family or on a business trip there is something for everyone to do in New York's Times Square and our apartments are the perfect choice for residence. You can go shopping with the family,or go out to diner and the theatre. A stay with us at Metro Apartments will give you all the excitement of a vacation while giving you all the comforts of home. There are so many things to do within walking distance of our property.
Metro Apartments features a 24-hour front desk and laundry facility available to all guests.

The 42nd Street-Port Authority Bus Terminal Subway Station is within one block of Metro Apartments. Central Park is a 25-minute walk from the property.
Optional cleaning service fee- $50 per day, plus tax.

Hotel Map

40.7582 -73.9948
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Laguardia airport, JFK airport, and Newark airport
Area description
There are arcades, parks, movie theatres, comedy clubs, bowling alleys and much more all within walking distance! We are a five minute walk to The Jacobs Javits Center, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum , Ripley's Believe it or Not, Dave & Busters, Mary Poppins (the play) and 3 different movie theatres. We are also within 2 minutes of all major subway lines, and within walking distance to Port Authority and Penn Station. The famous Central Park & Zoo are only a 25 minute walk away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Apartments also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Metro Apartments Rooms

COMFORT - STUDIO
Premium bedding and cotton linens help ensure a restful night. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has complimentary toiletries. Air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, and a phone with free long-distance calling are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.
LUXURY - APARTMENT
Premium bedding, a down duvet, and blackout drapes/curtains invite a good night's sleep. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the 32-inch LCD television offers premium TV channels. The private kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, a stovetop, and a microwave. The private bathroom has a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a separate living room, and a phone with free long-distance calling are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Apartments

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ASIA
Jul 21, 2010

unbeatable location for the price!!!!!!!

I recently stayed at Metro Apartments and was pleasantly surprised.The apartment was very comfortable and clean,and had everything i needed.The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure i had everything i needed.The location was great, its right in Hell's Kitchen and i could walk to Time Square with no problem.I couldn't believe that the rates were so low for such a great location and comfortable suite.I will definately be staying at Metro on my next visit to New York and would recommend it to anyone i know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NEW YORK AT IS BEST...

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angels, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Great Location

Very nice hotel and in a great location (a couple blocks from Time Square and not even a block away from the subway ... station). the hotel feels very clean and modern. Rooms are practical in size as far as New York City goes, and have comfy beds and nice amenities like flat-screen TV's and free wi-fi internet. The staff was also super helpful, and one day when it rained I was able to borrow an umbrella from the front desk. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anthonie
liverpool
Jul 26, 2010

excellent stay

really good location. very nice apartment. clean an has everything you need for a stay in new york, close to times square an the main bus station. would stay there again on the next trip an recommend to anyone! service provided was 10/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Nov 4, 2010

Great place to stay, unbeatale location

I was on business/family trip. Great place to stay, very close to everything in Manhattan. Staff is friendly and very helpful, made us feel like at home. Clean and safe for anyone. I'm strongly recommend Metro Apartments to everyone who want to visit New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sagine
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Oct 16, 2012

Great family getaway

The Hotel was nice very spacious and clean we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. We went to museum with the kids. They were excited and extremely tired from shopping and cite seeing all over Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

supermarket around the corner helped for having to take out

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pagey282000
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Metro Apartments=Good Value in Midtown

This place is perfect if you want to be close to 42nd St/Broadway but don't want to break the bank. What you sacrifice in amenities and creature comforts, you get back in value. This place is located in Hells Kitchen. It's one block from 42nd Street, which offers everything. Warning: if you're not a seasoned traveler, this neighborhood may scare you a bit, as it's far from your suburban home. For the not so squemish, you'll find some great hidden treasures in the neighborhood including the Hells Kitchen Flea Market. Our suite was a decent size and included a toaster, coffee maker (bring your own coffee), microwave, small frige, small stove top, dishes, silverware, glassess (including wine glassess!), an HDTV and a small balcony. Staff was friendly. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tour NYC on Sunday. It's much quieter and easier to get around.

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meagherman
Business
Marin County, CA
Jul 21, 2013

Apartment setting

Not a bad location. Apartment like building. No real services, but ok if you need a clean, convenient room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amazing79
Alexandria, VA
Nov 26, 2013

Decent hotel on a budget

The location of the hotel was decent. It is within a few blocks of the bus drop-off point (W 33rd St and 11th Ave). Also, there is a Food Emporium a block away that you can hit up should you decide to save some money from a restaurant and utilize the kitchenette in your room. The kitchenette is stocked with your basic pots/pans/bowls/plates/cutlery. Everything (microwave and stove) seemed to function well. The room was neat and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the cramped side, but everything worked fine. The hotel is near a noisy highway, but that did not bother us at all. The mornings, there is coffee and cookies offered. That's a nice treat. The only Cons: *No internet access. I had brought my computer in order to book tickets for shows or do some NYC research. In the end, I utilized my mobile phone to do some research, but it wasn't ideal. *Because we were staying there for five nights, we were "offered" one complimentary free room service/housekeeping on any day of our choosing during our stay. We tried to take the hotel up on that offer but were denied since they stated that there would be too many checkouts occurring for them to honor this complimentary service. So we tried to switch days to no avail. It's no big deal since my bf and I are relatively neat but it is disappointing to be told that you'd receive something and not get it. One other thing - the hotel is located near a Covenant House which is a shelter. Some of the folks that hang around there seem a bit shady. Fortunately, there was no conflict during our stay at the Metro Apartments. Overall, I would definitely rebook at Metro Apartments if I get another good hotel deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and lots of shopping (H&M, Forever 21, American Eagle, etc) and lots of shows are all within walking distance. There are MANY places to eat in H.e.l.l.'s Kitchen as well. The difficult part was trying to decide where to eat. You're overwhelmed with options. Many places also offer great happy hour rates. I enjoyed a wonderful Litchee-tini (Litchee Martini) for $5 at Thai place called "V{iv}".

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry II
Netherlands
Jan 11, 2014

OK place

We stayed for 8 nights in a suite. Simple but comfortable furniture. Beds are excellent. However, curtain was broken, toaster too, thermostat hung by it's wires out of the wall. All this was brought to the attention of the staff however none of the deficiencies were corrected during our stay. It's biggelt staving grace is location and reasonably priced studio's and suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capicci pizerria. Probably best pizza restaurant in Manhattan!

Review of Metro Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoseKnows
Utah, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Ok place for the money...

The location was pretty close to Time Square and that was nice. The subway was about .25 miles away, so fairly close. The room was nothing special and could use a little TLC, such as new carpet or flooring and paint. The bathroom was slightly dingy and could use some sprucing. Overall it was just average for your buck, no bang!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search