$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
813 reviews
family trip

Good i like this hotel the People customer servicio was nice See full review

  • Adrián H.
  • Dec 29, 2014
amazing traver

this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this... See full review

  • super ICON
  • Nov 14, 2014
Intimate, European-style boutique hotel in the Theater District
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Features

Famed Theater District and Times Square restaurants are near the hotel. Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway is open all day and features classics like meatloaf and chicken potpie and a singing waitstaff. Gallagher's Steakhouse serves classic New York steakhouse specialties include dry-aged steak and lobster for lunch and dinner. Visit Bobby Flay's Bar Americain for star chef power. Expect classic cocktails, a raw bar and American classics such as shrimp and grits for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Business
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed-Free WIFI European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed-Free WIFI European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-Free Wifi PVT Bath-CableTV-LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV-WIFI PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (813)

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 813
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I Work Hard for the Money
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 23, 2014

It Could Have Been Worse; I Wish it Was Better

I was in NYC for a two-day stay. Having previously stayed in Manhattan with a national hotel chain (which I felt was grossly overpriced) I was happy to find a less expensive hotel. However, I did not presume that a lower price meant substantially lower quality. The overall architecture of the building is beautiful; however, it appears that no effort is being made to maintain the building or upgrade the rooms. My room had peeling wall paper, chipped paint, and the carpet was such that I was afraid to remove my shoes. I did not have any control over heat in my room; I was told that I could use an air conditioner (in November!) to regulate the heat. I found stray hairs in the bathroom, and the only "new" thing in the room was the flat screen TV (complete with local channels). That stated, the staff were friendly. I'm planning to return to NYC in the future, and had hoped that this would be my go-to hotel; unfortunately, I am going to have to continue my search for reasonably priced accommodations that meet minimum quality standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Marlo Man
Business
Washington DC
Nov 19, 2014

Unpretentious

The location combined with the low cost is probably unbeatable in mid Manhattan. Their are no bells and whistles and the rooms are small but comfortable with a large flat screen TV on the wall.The bar and Cielo Restaurant are excellent and fun. The food is excellent with a decided Italian emphasis. The Letterman Show, Music Director Paul Shaefer was propping up the bar when I went down for lunch.He's a regular there. The hotel was patronized by many Broadway actors over the years . It sits right next to the O'Neil Theater . Don't bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring the whole family. Great for singles and couples though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue from. south
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 16, 2014

Older Hotel great location

Spent one night, location great. Room small, but not any different than most NYC rooms. Staff very nice. Hotel a bit worn, but clean. No ability to control heat and got a bit warm and had to keep window cracked in very cold weather, shame to be so wasteful. Great value for the money for midtown/Times Square hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

to TXT for broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpr61
Business
ny
Oct 2, 2014

quite small, but great value

nice, old-fashioned place - tiny, clean rooms, can use updating, but great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue from. south
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2014

Quaint and great location

Friendly helpful staff. Old facility but clean. Great location in heart of theater district

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to TKTs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Active lady
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 17, 2014

Good place to stay

I only stayed for one night to sleep. Overall, it's a comfortable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FunctionalFather.com
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect for a quick over night stay

I stayed here recently for work - I live well outside the suburbs and needed to come to NYC for an early meeting the next day. My office is in Times Square, so this place provided a perfect location and cheap option. All I'm doing is sleeping there and taking a shower, so I will never need more than this place. Place is very outdated, but not a deterrent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Active lady
Business
Upstate NY
Mar 17, 2014

Good affordable hotel

I went to NYC for a conference and was busy all day and came back at midnight to the hotel just to sleep so it serves the purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus Antonius Aurelius
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2013

Location and convenience

You want a convenient location ? Well Mayfair is right around the corner from Times Square. What's better than that? The rooms are relatively small and that's expected for this area. However, it's a room to sleep -- not spend your entire vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book of Mormon is just next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rod the Bod
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 29, 2013

Great for Value!

If you don't need all the bells and whistles, this place is just right! I really enjoyed my stay here. Don't get mad when you see a fuel surcharge though. It's still work the value. You are literally right beside Broadways theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top