$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
813 reviews
family trip

Good i like this hotel the People customer servicio was nice See full review

  • Adrián H.
  • Dec 29, 2014
amazing traver

this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this... See full review

  • super ICON
  • Nov 14, 2014
Intimate, European-style boutique hotel in the Theater District
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Features

Famed Theater District and Times Square restaurants are near the hotel. Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway is open all day and features classics like meatloaf and chicken potpie and a singing waitstaff. Gallagher's Steakhouse serves classic New York steakhouse specialties include dry-aged steak and lobster for lunch and dinner. Visit Bobby Flay's Bar Americain for star chef power. Expect classic cocktails, a raw bar and American classics such as shrimp and grits for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Business
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed-Free WIFI European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed-Free WIFI European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-Free Wifi PVT Bath-CableTV-LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV-WIFI PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (813)

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
813 out of 813
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 19, 2009

Very small room...

Small room and very low water pressure in the bathroom. The only good thing that I can say is that it is a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
May 9, 2010

hotel and website

Not was hotel bad and [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conocedor
Business
Miami, Florida
Oct 24, 2011

A walk-in closet size room in a building that needs repairs

Fantastic location. Overpriced very, very small room for 2. Lights out in the bathroom, elevator that needs new everything, including cleaning. Carpet in the stairs all torn and poorly cleaned. The bathrooms are fairly new, but fixtures not maintained. Nearby hotels offer a lot more for the same price. The size of the room (for one or two persons) is offensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pastis French Restaurant (meat packing district)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rennie
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Attend conference

Very dissapointed. Hotel dirty,very rundown. No ameneties of any kind. Toilet and sink faucet drained loudly all day and night. Bed very uncomfortable with no top sheet. Only positive was location. Would not recommend and would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappycouple2011
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 22, 2011

New York Nightmare

I would not advise anyone to stay at this motel. My wife and I were very unhappy upun arrival. The place is dark and very out dated. The elavator could barely fit both of us and our two bags. Our room was also very dark and was dirty. There were water spots on the ceiling and the bathroom was not clean. I changed hotels and moved to Chelsea where the price was cheaper and the hotel was ten times better, Please take this advise and do not be fooled as I was. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to use the subway system. It took a few minutes and a map to get it figured out, but once that was done it was a lot cheaper to get where you needed to go. It also saved time because rush hour taxi rides are sometimes long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
myfirstrating
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Stay away

The size of the room was about 11x14 INCLUDING THE BATHROOM and the elevator barely worked. The building itself was also cheap and not well kept either. I can't spend too much time writing about this place but DO NOT stay at this hotel... shame to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay (DON'T) a couple blocks down Broadway past 42nd is a very, very cheap souvenir shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Macontherock
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Very cramped rooms

Terrible mattress cheap pillows and bed bugs . Great location off Broadway and beautiful Catholic Church across the street daily mass 8:00 & 11:00am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serafina Italian Restaurant. Very Classic setting Classic fine food. $39.00 avg dish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Itzakick
Business
Denver, CO
May 14, 2012

Don't stay here. No, seriously. Don't stay here.

I used to think that if a hotel was well-located, I could forgive any number of sins because I spent so little time in my room. The Mayfair Hotel has finally disproved this theory. Yes, the location is right in Times Square, but the dingy accommodations, surly staff and decrepit condition of this hotel combine to cancel out any advantage its proximity might provide. Specifically, it took the incompetent desk staff three tries to get me a room key that worked and they were neither apologetic nor particularly solicitous about the situation. Only Jason, the bellhop, was ready to help. The front desk staff also refused to look up or acknowledge guests coming in or leaving, which took effort since they were stationed right by the front door. Then the one guest elevator only worked sporadically, a real treat for visitors staying on higher floors. Once in the room, I discovered that the linens were dingy and dirty-looking and weren't even long enough to cover the mattress at the foot of the bed. I could go on, but you get the picture. I can put up with a lot, but poor accommodations and bad staff attitude add up to a total loser of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MANPACK
Business
Chicago/Los Angeles
Jun 4, 2012

BUSINESS TRIP

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel and I totally didn't like this referral. Mr. Stanton Sheppard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RF Traveler
Business
Marietta GA
Jun 19, 2012

One Star Hotel with Rude Staff

We stayed in room 702. The room was 10x10 (seriously) with a window that looked out to a brick wall 4 feet away. The mattress needed replacing as you could feel the springs on your back. Carpet was filthy. Bathroom sink, had slime around the area where water comes out making it creepy to brush your teeth. The room had a nice computer sized safe - which was great as I would not have wanted to leave out my personal belongings. Location was very good near the theatre district, however, there are many other choices nearby that are good name brands and were only a few dollars more. I hate I skimped over $10 - so if you have the choice, spend a few dollars more to stay somewhere else and you will be glad you did. The hotel staff was rude and unhelpful. Bellman wanted me to flag my own taxi to the airport since I did not want a car service. Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top