$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
756 reviews
Warm Friendly Hotel

I loved everything about this hotel. From check-in to check-out it was a great experience. Everyone... See full review

  • Dyan B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
family trip

Good i like this hotel the People customer servicio was nice See full review

  • Adrián H.
  • Dec 29, 2014
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
General
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Dining
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Property features

Intimate, boutique hotel in the Theater District

Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Nearby attractions
  • Business center
Business
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed-Free WIFI European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed-Free WIFI European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-Free Wifi PVT Bath-CableTV-LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV-WIFI PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
756 out of 756
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan 27
Business
Bronx, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Convenient Date Night Location

My husband and I needed an affordable hotel to stay in after a concert, the Mayfair was perfect. It is a cute hotel. The room decor reminded me of a bed and breakfast. The staff was hospitable and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jan 11, 2012

Great location!

Always like staying at the Mayfair. Great location and very affordable,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J. Peter
Business
Austerlitz, NY 12017, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Midtown Perfection

The staff are extremely sweet and make the experience as easy and pleasant as possible. This boutique slot in the heart of the theater district is accessible to theaters, restaurants, retail stores and transportation. The rooms are small and yet never feel cramped or uncomfortable and the bathrooms are lovely. Noise is not a real factor and once people are in their rooms you generally feel the privacy that surrounds you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eight Avenue, south or north of 49th Street, provides a wealth of interesting choices from a Greek Diner to Brazillian Haut Cuisine.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpartanIL
Business
Sparta, IL, USA
Jan 24, 2012

A vintage jewel in the heart of the theatre distrct

I loved this hotel. Yes, my room was tiny BUT tis is New York not suburbia. The lobby was intimate and warm. The room was beautiful,clean and well appointed. The staff was personable and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jan 28, 2012

Great Value

Always like staying at the Mayfair. Great value, helpful staff, great location to Times Quare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Daughter Travelers
Business
Pineville and Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Feb 29, 2012

Mother-daughter trip to NYC

I chose the Mayfair Hotel because of location and reviews I had read. Although the room was very small, my daughter and I are small women and it worked out great. The staff was wonderful, very eager to help and the room clean and quiet. We had no trouble finding our way around the city. We had no trouble with the one small elevator or having to go next door to buy refreshments. We will happily stay there on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking to all the major theaters, safe and well lighted at very late hours.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Floridatraveller
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 28, 2012

Amazing Value

I stayed at the Mayfair while attending a conference at one of the overpriced hotels a few blocks away (which was three times as expensive). Every staff member I met was friendly and efficient, and welcoming. The room was apparently recently renovated and the bathroom was especially updated. The bed was very comfortable, nice linens, and nice towels in the bathroom. The desk was a bit too small for work with my computer, but was adequate. The bed took up most of the room, but the large entrance space gave me some room to maneuver. The experience would probably have been less pleasant with two people, but the space was just fine for one. I can't think of much to complain about, especially given the fantastic price. One suggestion: the side of the room with the desk needs a bit more light if you are going to do any work. I imagine most people, though, are there to take in some shows and see the sights and don't care about that. I hope to be able to stay at the Mayfair again on a future trip to NYC, and I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dimples48
Business
Chicago,IL
Apr 12, 2012

Visit

I'm very BIG on customer service. And this hotel has OUTSTANDING customer sevice from he Desk Clerk to the Bell Hops. The rooms are very cozy and quaint. Very close to Time Square. I really like this hotel and would recommend to family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jul 24, 2012

Great Location

I stay here often and never have a probelm. Great staff, location. Rooms always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mango6
Business
ft hood
Nov 26, 2012

super location

2 minute walk to times square and train station and broadway shows in front and on both sides of hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top