$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Becki B
Business
Orlando, FL
May 14, 2013

Needs work

All staff were professional and courteous. Room was small as expected but we developed an a/c problem at 4 a.m. our last day. There were no rooms to move to and no maintenance on duty. We got a no-hassle refund for the night for our loss of sleep and comfort. A small fridge would be a nice touch. NO amenities but we knew that going in. Seems pricey for the size of the room and lack of amenities. Carpet in public areas and elevator are shamefully worn considering the room rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Marino just a couple of doors away was a hidden treasure. Restaurant and piano bar where you are treated like royalty and the homemade pasta is outstanding.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rod the Bod
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 29, 2013

Great for Value!

If you don't need all the bells and whistles, this place is just right! I really enjoyed my stay here. Don't get mad when you see a fuel surcharge though. It's still work the value. You are literally right beside Broadways theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Serious Dilettante
Business
Massachusetts
Apr 25, 2013

The best you can expect in this price range

No one would call this hotel luxurious, but it is fairly priced and well located if you are interested in Broadway shows or anything else on the West Side, or need to be in the city for a meeting the next day. Particular pluses: the staff at the front desk were friendly and the bathroom was surprisingly large and comfortable. The room also has good electric light - you can read comfortably in bed. Wifi speed is acceptable but not super fast. Minuses: the rest of the hotel, except for the bathroom, is like being in a doll house that has seen a lot of wear. My double bed room was not much larger than the bathroom, with room for a bed and barely enough floor space to get around it. The stair carpeting is threadbare and the hallway walls have been knocked a lot. The room windows opened onto an air shaft. The elevator is tiny, as are the stairs - don't bring a large suitcase! If you are seeing a show and need a place to crash for one night, this hotel offers good value and location, but for an extended stay it could be tight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sashito
Business
Torrance, CA
Apr 18, 2013

Not for people with claustrophobia!

When my mom just entered the room, she started screaming that she would rather sleep in the lobby. The room was so ridiculously small, almost like in a submarine. Obviously, if you have claustrophobia it is not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhagy
Business
Salisbury, NC
Apr 8, 2013

Mayfair is Good, Inexpensive Broadway Hotel

The Mayfair is the best place for someone who comes to New York to see Broadway shows. It is conveniently located, and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and it is far less expensive than a variety of other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book of Mormon is just next door!

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica the know it all
Business
Calexico California
Apr 6, 2013

good experience

it was a good experience. It was my first time in New York and the hotel was in a great location close to broadway and walking distance to everything. Wouldnt mind staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the New York pass it will save you money.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RNMichelle
Business
WilliamsburgVA
Apr 3, 2013

Renewal of 49th Street

I well remember the urban decay during the Koch/Trump years,(though I do have a soft spot for the Mayor)when homelessness proliferated and the filth took over that area. The Mayfair is BACK -yes, rooms are TEENY,the heating/cooling is old, there isn't wifi, but there IS a sense of history,of ghosts of theatre visitors past and a gentility that comes with a building that has LIVED...The staff were warm and caring, the building was CLEAN...Will go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark Saltzman
Business
Los Angeles, California
Mar 28, 2013

The Mayfair is a beached whale, with Band Aids

This hotel is falling apart, and the staff doesn't seem to care. The carpets are torn, the walls are marred, the wallpaper is coming off, the elevator barely works, the plumbing bursts (I was in 3 rooms, over a 4 night stay). It appears that this very old hotel had its day in the sun, decades ago, but it has fallen into disrepair. Apparently, the hotel simply repairs what is broken. Thus, the decor is a hodgepodge of tattered items and a few modern touches that don't fit in. Most of the staff is indifferent to the problems and downright rude. The only pluses are that it is a little less expensive than other Time Square hotels, an it's location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spring break mom 1
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 18, 2013

Times Square!

Enjoyed our stay here. Very close to Times Square and theaters. The room was small, but clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yandere Mecha
Business
New England
Mar 2, 2013

Overnight Stay

I had to stay overnight around the Times Square area and didn't want to get robbed (well both in terms of neighborhood safety and what I'm shelling out for NYC accommodations). This place fit the bill. Awesome location, split second proximity to all the geographic goods, and quiet (good for sleeping) at least when I stayed. I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget in need of a place to crash overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The W Hotel bar is literally 3 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top