$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Mayfair New York

3 stars
242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
784 reviews
Convenient Date Night Location

My husband and I needed an affordable hotel to stay in after a concert, the Mayfair was perfect. It... See full review

  • Jordan 27
  • Feb 23, 2014
Great little place for the solo traveler

I love the Mayfair. It is located right in the middle of everything, within easy walking distance... See full review

  • Airedale Terrier mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Intimate, European-style boutique hotel in the Theater District
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Features

Famed Theater District and Times Square restaurants are near the hotel. Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway is open all day and features classics like meatloaf and chicken potpie and a singing waitstaff. Gallagher's Steakhouse serves classic New York steakhouse specialties include dry-aged steak and lobster for lunch and dinner. Visit Bobby Flay's Bar Americain for star chef power. Expect classic cocktails, a raw bar and American classics such as shrimp and grits for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.986
Nearby airports
(LGA), 11.00, MI; (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed- European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed- European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-PVT Bath-CableTV LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (784)

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
784 out of 784
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Florida L and D
Florida
Sep 10, 2012

Room was essentially a clean broomcloset

Room was EXTREMELY small. No room for a chair. Could not even get in the door without squeezing between door and the wall! Room was clean, though. Staff was pleasant. Hotel is somewhat threadbare and - based on absence of ammenities and minscule rooms, the price is too high - even for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heart of Texan
Business
Heart of Texas
Sep 2, 2012

Great location, acceptable everything else

Great location! Times Square, two subway lines a block away in either direction, Broadway a street away, two theaters out the front door, a church out the front door, several delis all within a two minute walk. Everything else is acceptable. For the price, good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
NY
Aug 27, 2012

Great location

I never have a porblem staying at the Mayfair. Perfect location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jillian and Joe
Cleveland, OH
Aug 26, 2012

Best time in NYC

THIS IS the hotel that I will book every time I am in NYC. I absolutely loved the location and the intimate atmosphere of the hotel. The staff was extraordinary pleasant and rooms were clean. The hotel is of an old age, but is wonderfully decorated and well kept. Our room was simple in pink color - walls, bedspread, pillows and a head board were made of the same material. It was unique and I am sure that I will remember Mayfair Hotel for this! The room is small, but was perfect for the two of us who spent all the time on the streets. It had a flat screen TV, which was nice. No coffee maker or fridge though, but it wasn't a problem at all because Starbucks and other food places were only a few steps away. We had a late night flight and we could leave our bags at the front desk for a $2 charge per bag, which was very much appreciated. Highly recommend this hotel. We got the best memories with our three nights stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Meatpacking district - night clubs are open midnight till 4 am. Dance your night away!

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bxsplh
Athens, OH
Aug 20, 2012

overall a good trip

This hotel is located in the center of New York, and is also near a subway station. It is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Japanese bar near the hotel.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victorious Nicky
Miami Lakes, Florida
Aug 6, 2012

Hotel Stay

My stay at the Mayfair was overall a positive experience. I would not mind staying there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just make sure you have the funds necessary in order to enjoy the experience.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tweet
London UK
Aug 4, 2012

First time in NYC

I booked this hotel when booking our flights and hadn't had a chance to read the reviews. Just as well because when I did read them they were very mixed and some were truly awful. We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived. The hotel is in a great location near to Times Square and the subway for quick access to the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. The decor is a bit tired and our room was on the small side but clean and adequate.The bathroom was fine. The air con was noisy but ear plugs did the trick. For what we paid we were very satisfied - anyway who wants to stay in their room when visiting NYC?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Before you get to NYC book on-line for a walking tour to Ground Zero, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our guide was a born and bred New Yorker who was so informative.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zaidy Robert
Toronto, Ont.
Aug 4, 2012

excellent

Excellent location for theater access. Room was small but clean and comfortable with all the required amenities--TV, WiFi, iron, etc. The price for this location in Manhattan was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GorgeousNburnz
Orlando
Jul 31, 2012

Location!

Best location... Average customer service. But will recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to all the theaters and populars spots!

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deniz the Traveler
Istanbul, Turkey
Jul 30, 2012

Only Location

Hotel's location is perfect, room is ordinary but really small. You can't get sleep, if air conditioner is open, they really need to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search