$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Mayfair New York

3 stars
242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
786 reviews
Convenient Date Night Location

My husband and I needed an affordable hotel to stay in after a concert, the Mayfair was perfect. It... See full review

  • Jordan 27
  • Feb 23, 2014
Great little place for the solo traveler

I love the Mayfair. It is located right in the middle of everything, within easy walking distance... See full review

  • Airedale Terrier mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Intimate, European-style boutique hotel in the Theater District
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Features

Famed Theater District and Times Square restaurants are near the hotel. Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway is open all day and features classics like meatloaf and chicken potpie and a singing waitstaff. Gallagher's Steakhouse serves classic New York steakhouse specialties include dry-aged steak and lobster for lunch and dinner. Visit Bobby Flay's Bar Americain for star chef power. Expect classic cocktails, a raw bar and American classics such as shrimp and grits for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.986
Nearby airports
(LGA), 11.00, MI; (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed- European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed- European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-PVT Bath-CableTV LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (786)

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
786 out of 786
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Convenient!

Though the rooms are small, they are comfortable, clean, and attractive. This hotel is less than a block from Boradway in the theater district. For the price, it is a great choice. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops in this area are tourist traps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 12, 2007

Great value and location

The Mayfair Hotel was a great deal! The room was very cozy, charming, and clean. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. I felt very safe staying there and the location was very convenient to the theatres and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel easily, and would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is walking distance to all the Broadway theatres, making it very convenient to go see a Broadway show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2007

small but tidy

The Mayfair is living history for the Theater District, and it's all around you. Small but clean rooms. I was surprised to have my own computer in one of the rooms--it was very handy to have. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The less expensive places to eat are NOT in Times Square, but in the other direstion on 9th Avenue. Still, there are some great breakfast places and deli's in the Broadway area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 6, 2007

great location

The location was great for the trip. The front desk was helpful however the cleaning lady was very rude to me and my child. I could not find a drink machine on any of the floors. The room was small but workable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right on broadway. It is convient to most everything I wanted to do. The tour bus stop is right on the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Location is all this place has

The ONLY thing this place has going for it is the location. It is a short walk from Times Square. However that is the ONLY thing. It's relatively easy to find and from the outside it seems very nice. Few things: 1. If you are arriving before the check in time. DO NOT let the hotel store your bags. Unlike some hotels that put your stuff in a special room/locker, they just leave all your stuff out on the main lobby floor with tags on them. We think that someone may have stolen a purse from our pile. Instead, leave your stuff in the car and park in the parking garage. As of this visit, the parking garage they let you use actually allows you to go to your car and get your stuff out. Your stuff will be safer in the car rather than the hotel. 2. The rooms are small. VERY small. The room we were in was a 10x10 w/ a queen size bed. VERY little room to move. 3. The computer we had didn't work and the tv we had kept 'buzzing'. I wouldn't count much on the things they say they have. 4. Don't count on a view. B/c of its location, all you see are bricks. 5. When we arrived, there was a major pipe leak that leaked onto the main floor. After walking around the extremely nasty front floor you'll notice that the really slow elevator is a mere 3'x4' in size. A party of 4 with 'some' stuff... MIGHT fit in there if they hold their stuff in the air. 6. The building it's in is really outdated. The stairs are uneven in some points and at the top floor the floor itself actually bows. 7. When we woke up in the morning, none of the water was working. Apparently, they shut the water down in order fix this. Not bad yes, however they didn't tell us before hand and we woke up at 1100 w/ intentions to shower and leave. The staff was very relucant to give us a room in order to freshen up. As a matter of fact they were even considering still holding us to the 1200 check out time even though we had no functioning water. After a bit of coaxing, they caved in and gave us a room to freshen up in. This room was on the top floor and had a king size bed. The room was nicer in size and had a functioning tv but that's probably all it had going for it. 8. The staff (as far as the maids, repair man, laundry guy) were all very pleasant to talk to and seem very concerned to assist my needs accordingly. I wish I could say the same about the staff behind the desk. It was almost morbid watching them work. Final Note: If you really don't care about amenities and are looking for basically a roof over your head with a decent location, then this is it. Don't give yourself any expectations higher than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 1, 2007

OLDER HOTEL

THE HOTEL WAS GOOD AND FOR A LARGE CITY IT WAS AS EXPECTED. BUT THERE WAS A TWENTY DOLLAR CHARGE ON MY CREDIT CARD AND NO ONE EXPLAINED THIS TO ME SO WHEN I CALLED THE HOTEL I WAS TOLD IT WAS THREE DOLLARS BUT DO NOT FULLY UNDERSTAND THE CHARGE. THEY DID CREDIT MY ACCOUNT FOR SEVENTEEN BUT THEY SHOULD EXPLAIN THIS NOT JUST CHARGE WITH OUT EXPLAINING IT. THE ROOM WAS SMALL THE BATHROOM WAS VERY LARGE FOR THIS SIZE HOTEL OTHER THEN THE CHARGE I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

IN THE THEATER DISTRICT OF NW YORK WHICH WAS GREAT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Awesome location

The Mayfair Hotel is in a perfect location if you will be seeing shows or visiting the Times Square Area. The lobby and elevator are VERY small, but no complaints. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 29, 2007

very friendly stuff

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights end of July 2007. It has a very good location just around the corner from Times Square and in the middle of all the broadway theatres. The reception stuff was very friendly and they found my reservation immideatly and I got one of those credit card size hotel room keys. The room was clean, a bit small, but still ok as I was on my own. On the walls there was a white blue wallpaper which might not suit everybodies taste, but I was only slepping there, so I did not mind. I just had a quick shower and sorted myself and then I went back down to explore the neighborhood. The portier was really friendly, I asked him some things, for a restaurant nearby and an internet cafe and he even wanted to bring me to the restaurant he was recommending. The internet cafe was just next door, so I was settled for the evening. The room was quiet as it was out to the back and clean, so basicly everything or more you can expect from a budget hotel in New York. Also the stuff was very friendly and competent. I can surely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay for a view days in New York, especially if you want to visit some of the broadway musicals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an internet cafe next door and also a supermarket in the same street. Ideal location for visiting broadway musicals, two of the theatres are in the same street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2007

Good deal but very small

The Mayfair New York was nice and had air conditioning and a private bath as well as DSL in the room. The bed was comfortable and TV worked. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room is basically a bed with enough room to get to the small bathroom. There was a small closet and desk. The Mayfair is a great deal for being so close to Broadway theatres and Times Square. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Marino's Italian resturant is down the street and you can ask the hotel staff for a discount card to the resturant. The Mayfair New York is next door to the Eugene O'Neil theater and across the street from the Ambassador. You are one block from the subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2007

Great Value

The Mayfair is a good, basic, well-located hotel. It is very clean but old and can use some upgrades. Very small room but still sufficient. Would definitely return. Its key advantage is that it is a great value in a neighborhood of $300.00 per night hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several very good choices including Irish Pubs and Italian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search