$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Mayfair New York

3 stars
242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,359 reviews
Convenient Date Night Location

My husband and I needed an affordable hotel to stay in after a concert, the Mayfair was perfect. It... See full review

  • Jordan 27
  • Feb 23, 2014
Great little place for the solo traveler

I love the Mayfair. It is located right in the middle of everything, within easy walking distance... See full review

  • Airedale Terrier mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Intimate, European-style boutique hotel in the Theater District
This intimate, European-style hotel is a contrast to its surrounding neighborhoods -- the showy and loud Theater District and Times Square. Where Midtown Manhattan is big and loud, the Mayfair New York Hotel is cozy and understated. Amenities include a business center and around-the-clock concierge service. Special touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms are unexpected in a property of this size.
Highlights
  • Around-the-clock concierge service
  • Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater
  • Near theaters, Times Square entertainment and shopping
Location

The hotel puts guests steps away from Broadway shows. The Mayfair New York Hotel is adjacent to the Eugene O'Neill Theater and a block from the Gershwin Theater. Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center are a short walk. The nearest subway station is one block away.

Rooms

Unwind in European-style rooms that feature toile wallpaper, custom-designed mahogany furniture and fine linens. Some rooms have marble bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with hairdryers, ironing boards and complimentary wall safes. Rooms with a computer and printers are available upon request.

Features

Famed Theater District and Times Square restaurants are near the hotel. Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway is open all day and features classics like meatloaf and chicken potpie and a singing waitstaff. Gallagher's Steakhouse serves classic New York steakhouse specialties include dry-aged steak and lobster for lunch and dinner. Visit Bobby Flay's Bar Americain for star chef power. Expect classic cocktails, a raw bar and American classics such as shrimp and grits for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA subway, A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Broadway theaters (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/ 1.28 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Business
  • Business center

Mayfair New York Rooms

Queen Room
Theatre District-Queen Bed- European Flair-PVT Bath-Cable TV
King Room
Theatre District-King Bed- European Flare-PVT Bath-Cable TV-Non Sm
Double Room
Theatre District-Double Bed-PVT Bath-CableTV LCD TV-European Flair
Twin Room
Theatre District-Twin Bed-Cable TV PVT Bath-European Flair-NonSM

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
FAX
Room
Television with cable
Temperature control

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayfair New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.986
Nearby airports
(LGA), 11.00, MI; (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1359)

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1359 out of 1359
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Mar 22, 2010

Not so great...

Not so great... room was absolutely too small, good thing it was just to sleep there. But even then the bed was not comfortable. The only really nice thing was the location but plenty of other hotels in that area to choose from... and most likely worth the extra money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peabody, MA
Mar 22, 2010

Very cute and comfortable

We had a nice stay at the Mayfair hotel and I would stay there again, definitely. The rooms were very small, and there is no extra space, but I liked everything else. The beds were comfortable; the decor was nice, we had a flat screen tv, iron & ironing board, in-room safe, hairdryer and free wirelss internet. I would call it a very cute hotel, just very small rooms. The staff was nice; they had a concierge who could direct us anywhere we wanted to go. It was a great location - right in Times Square and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't go to restaurants in the Times Square area. They are all very expensive.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Mar 22, 2010

Not so great...

Not so great... room was absolutely too small, good thing it was just to sleep there. But even then the bed was not comfortable. The only really nice thing was the location but plenty of other hotels in that area to choose from... and most likely worth the extra money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peabody, MA
Mar 22, 2010

Very cute and comfortable

We had a nice stay at the Mayfair hotel and I would stay there again, definitely. The rooms were very small, and there is no extra space, but I liked everything else. The beds were comfortable; the decor was nice, we had a flat screen tv, iron & ironing board, in-room safe, hairdryer and free wirelss internet. I would call it a very cute hotel, just very small rooms. The staff was nice; they had a concierge who could direct us anywhere we wanted to go. It was a great location - right in Times Square and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't go to restaurants in the Times Square area. They are all very expensive.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 2, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was in a great location. Close to Time Square and subway. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 2, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was in a great location. Close to Time Square and subway. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamarazzi
Fairport, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Small, but good for the price

We stayed at the Mayfair this past weekend. The room was REALLY small, as expected, but clean, and charming in its own way. The walls and curtains were decorated in toile, which made the room cozy. There was room for a double bed, a small (18"?) desk and chair and that's about it. The hotel itself is really old. The lobby was ok, although dreary, but the stairwells and upper hallways could use some repairs. We were on the 4th floor, so it was a bit noisy - we could definitely hear the sounds of the city below (sirens, etc.) and pigeons, but remedied this by turning on the fan. The place is perfect if you just want a clean, no-frills place for a night or two and don't plan on hanging out in your room. The hotel is very close to Times Square which was very convenient for us, and the primary reason for my selecting it. All in all, I would return to this hotel for the price (got it for under $130 [...]), but personally wouldn't pay more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Times Square and located in the theatre district.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamarazzi
Fairport, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Small, but good for the price

We stayed at the Mayfair this past weekend. The room was REALLY small, as expected, but clean, and charming in its own way. The walls and curtains were decorated in toile, which made the room cozy. There was room for a double bed, a small (18"?) desk and chair and that's about it. The hotel itself is really old. The lobby was ok, although dreary, but the stairwells and upper hallways could use some repairs. We were on the 4th floor, so it was a bit noisy - we could definitely hear the sounds of the city below (sirens, etc.) and pigeons, but remedied this by turning on the fan. The place is perfect if you just want a clean, no-frills place for a night or two and don't plan on hanging out in your room. The hotel is very close to Times Square which was very convenient for us, and the primary reason for my selecting it. All in all, I would return to this hotel for the price (got it for under $130 [...]), but personally wouldn't pay more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Times Square and located in the theatre district.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA
Feb 18, 2010

VERY BAD

TV WAS LOCKED UP BEHIND GLASS YOU NEED TO PAY FOR TOWELS I CANT BELIVE THE RATING THIS HOTEL HAS SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE 1 STAR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA
Feb 18, 2010

VERY BAD

TV WAS LOCKED UP BEHIND GLASS YOU NEED TO PAY FOR TOWELS I CANT BELIVE THE RATING THIS HOTEL HAS SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE 1 STAR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top