$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
755 out of 755
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dizzle1987
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 6, 2014

Awful Hotel, Great Location!

From the outside I was excited. Nice look, great location. lobby was very downtownish with a old but comfy feel. I was excited to see my room until the elevator doors opened. Complete claustrophobia. fits 3 people max, 4 people if you squeeze like sardines. the hallway to the room was just narrow so I knew the room would be a disappointment. King size bed took up the whole room. would have made sense if it was a california king but no. Only had room to get on the bed and walk into the bathroom. No heat or AC working. The room was just hot. lets talk about the wallpaper all over the room and the bedding matching. Sensory overload in the ugliest way. Something out of World War. I called the front desk for toothpaste, NONE. Wifi, beyond slow. dont waste your time. I wold recommend if you are a little older and really only need a place to sleep. I paid too much for a last minute dissapointmeent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpr61
Business
ny
Oct 2, 2014

quite small, but great value

nice, old-fashioned place - tiny, clean rooms, can use updating, but great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bujo
Business
England
Sep 26, 2014

Excellent location for Times Square

A simple hotel, a bit care worn, but an excellent location if you just want a place to stay while seeing the sights. Subway a block away, plenty of eating places local. Good well stocked bar and good food attached to hotel. The staff are very friendly and hard working. I would definitely stay here again if in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking for attractions in the midtown area.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mmll
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 16, 2014

Nice affordable hotel

Great location right near Times Square, and a great price for the location. The room was larger than I expected, and the bathroom was huge. Both were very clean, with relatively new tiling and wall papering in both. I was very happy with it, and will definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ73
Business
Arizona
Sep 11, 2014

Amazing location...nice hotel, just small.

This is a cute boutique hotel right in the heart of the Theatre District. The location is superb. The hotel room itself is extremely small, but for as little as we were in the room it worked for us. The staff was friendly, and worked for our budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank99
Business
Davis, California
Sep 11, 2014

one night shopping at NYC

definitively a great location but the price is too high for the room…it is ok for one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigman4by4
Business
seattle, wa
Sep 10, 2014

Perfect for the tourist

If you are a tourist I can't think of a better hotel in NYC. The price is fantastic for the location. Almost everything is within walking distance. If I was being picky I'd say the accommodations are dated and a little worn. But my room was clean. the staff courteous, and the value outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

McSorley's Ale House

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Aug 5, 2014

Great Time!

I always like staying at the Mayfair, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wrb5a
Business
DC
Jul 22, 2014

Better luck elsewhere

Just don't. You can find a better hotel. The hotel is tired. There is only ac in the main rooms (not central air), not in the bathroom which was stifling hot. AC was difficult to turn on. (Had to stand on bed). The hotel was dirty. The only redeeming feature is the staff who let me leave after one night. It sounded like that happened a lot. This hotel is totally totally not worth the money you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Wolf
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 7, 2014

Mayfair

It was just a basic hotel to crash for the night in case you don't want to drive home. It was good enough for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top