$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
888 out of 888
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Marlo Man
Business
Washington DC
Nov 19, 2014

Unpretentious

The location combined with the low cost is probably unbeatable in mid Manhattan. Their are no bells and whistles and the rooms are small but comfortable with a large flat screen TV on the wall.The bar and Cielo Restaurant are excellent and fun. The food is excellent with a decided Italian emphasis. The Letterman Show, Music Director Paul Shaefer was propping up the bar when I went down for lunch.He's a regular there. The hotel was patronized by many Broadway actors over the years . It sits right next to the O'Neil Theater . Don't bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring the whole family. Great for singles and couples though.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue from. south
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 16, 2014

Older Hotel great location

Spent one night, location great. Room small, but not any different than most NYC rooms. Staff very nice. Hotel a bit worn, but clean. No ability to control heat and got a bit warm and had to keep window cracked in very cold weather, shame to be so wasteful. Great value for the money for midtown/Times Square hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

to TXT for broadway

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super ICON
Business
NEWYORK
Nov 14, 2014

amazing traver

this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .this one was nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Joan
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 6, 2014

Cozy means tiny. Convenient is All

The Mayfair makes NY City your playground. Pretend it''s a Pension in Europe. NO Coffee!! Not in the room or in the lobby. Room was tiny. Needed a real vacuuming. Bathroom door was hard to close & door handle almost came off. Only 3 people can fit in the elevator. Lime shampoo = yummy. Charm: check. Space: no. Might even go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your Medicare card to get 1/2 price Metrocard -- round trip rides for price of 1.

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Nov 4, 2014

Great Location

Have stayed at the Mayfair a number of times and always enjoy my stay. Friendly staff and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy Chronicles
Business
Miami
Oct 28, 2014

RIght Place, Right Price!!!

Comfortable beds and ambiance! I slept great! Times Square area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bartolito
Business
Phoenix
Oct 21, 2014

Disappointing stay

The hotel is perfectly located and looks fine from the outside. Once you get inside, you notice that it is really dated and in desperate need of remodeling. The room was supersmall. The water in the toilet kept running all night. The wifi only works in the lobby, and even there it is very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tgumbleton
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 18, 2014

Decent hotel, with great location

This hotel is perfectly fine for a trip to NY. The rooms are small and worn, but they are clean and the staff is very friendly. You also can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Subhajit Sen
Business
Schenectady, NY
Oct 16, 2014

A place to crash for the night

We needed a place near Midtown to stay overnight so we could take a morning bus from Port Authority. This hotel turned out to be the cheapest. The hotel is neatly tucked at the heart of broadway with a lot of theaters surrounding it. 9th Avenue is a block away so one will have access to a lot of international cuisine. Times Square is couple of blocks from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and took our bags since we arrived early. Later when we checked in, they delivered the bags directly to the room without being asked. The room was tiny but well appointed. Only complaint was the AC unit, which was very loud, but we were too tired to raise the flag. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mick Heins
Business
Champaign, IL
Oct 13, 2014

A bit down-at-the-heels, but OK

The room was just OK. It was pretty clean, and had what you would expect. But I wouldn't call it comfortable. The staff was helpful when I needed luggage checked prior to checkin, so I could make my theater date. All in all, it was a reasonable value. And the location is great if you are going to the theater or diamond district. If I were coming back, I would look for another hotel, but if necessary, I would again settle for the Mayfair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great if you are going to the theater -- walking distance to most on-Broadway venues.

Back to menu Return to top