$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCav
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 28, 2013

A small room to sleep in NYC

I've stayed at the Mayfair a few times because it's inexpensive, the staff is friendly. Because I'm usually traveling around the city during the day and return at night just to sleep, it works for me. I don't mind the threadbare carpets or the tiny room. It's quiet and in a good midtown location off of Broadway. Only real drawback is that subway connections to the East Side can be complicated. Otherwise, it works fine for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fabulous fabulous inventive Japanese - Koyotofu 705 9th Ave between 48th + 49th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel roving the world
Business
Florida
Jan 28, 2013

A sweet and cozy, but old hotel

This hotel has a lot of charm but needs some renovating. The room itself was very small, but not a problem if you are traveling solo. There was something about this cute little hotel that was very nice and homey while traveling in NYC. Although I rated only 3 stars, I would definitely recommend this place if it was going for a good price (under $100/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West End Grill down the street has awesome food for a good price, not crazy expensive like EE grill across the street from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRGH
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2013

Great Stay

Hotel was great and so was the staff. Only issue was the Budget Parking that they recommended, price I was given was not the price I was charged. Parking garage attends were rude. I was quoted a price of $25.00 for 24 hours and was charged $40.00 when I was parked there for less then 18 hours. Other then that the stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CM business traveller
Business
NJ
Jan 16, 2013

overnight business trip

Great location near Times Square, the Theater District and within walking distance of many NYC attractions. The hotel was fine, but the room was easily the smallest I have ever stayed in. Not much room for anything other than the bed. The wallpaper and curtains were very busy, European maybe, but wasn't to my taste. Was a pleasant stay and I got a great rate for a NYC hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ozzy 77
Business
Anchorage
Jan 8, 2013

Great location but very small room

Good value for money if someone wants to stay near the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcello the backpacker
Business
Brasilila, Brazil
Jan 6, 2013

Good for those who just wants a place to sleep

It is extremely well located in the heart of NYC. It doesn't get any better. However, the place is old, there is no luxury at all. The room is just a bed with some little space to get to the bathroom, wich is decent.The staff was pretty polite too.It's for those who just wants a place to sleep, and nothing else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

Stayed at the Mayfiar a number if times and always had a great stay. Fabulous location and great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xmas in nyc
Business
Massachusettes
Dec 21, 2012

Perfect location

Three minute walk to Times Square. Room is incredibly small, barely enough room for 2 to walk around, but nice. Everything was clean, great bathroom, comfy bed, and surprisingly very quiet for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Dec 15, 2012

Great Location

Alway like staying at the Mayfair. Great location, value and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dino73
Business
vegas
Dec 5, 2012

GOOD LOCATION BAD HOTEL

the room was very small.cheep bed.the guy in the night shift was meen and demanding. no manors no polite.HE GAVE ME A FELLING THAT HE DOING ME A FAVOR BY STAYING THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

eat street food.is good haelthy.not expansive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top