$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Mayfair New York

3 stars
View map of 242 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mayfair New York

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
824 out of 824
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannna
Business
Oakland
Mar 1, 2013

Good restaurant, friendly staff

Very comfortable. Good location. Restaurant has vegan food.:) and a nice bar. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJS1
Business
Mansfield Center, Conn
Feb 18, 2013

Mayfair, 2/16-17, 2013

Having stayed at many, many hotels in NYC, we decided to try the Mayfair. Staff was EXCELLENT!! Location is heart of the theater district, so was just perfect for us. Hotel is well-used, shall we say, but we honestly found that charming. Yes, we will stay there again. RJS, Connecticut

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try local restaurants where you see crowds. We have discovered several excellent, small places that have become our favorites. Remember, you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ghanima
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 14, 2013

Definitely not 3 stars!

I've stayed in a lot of smaller hotels around the Times Square area, but the Mayfair Hotel will always be remembered as the worse. Leaking plumbing, rats, peeling wallpaper, and questionable staff made my visit entirely regrettable. With so many other hotels in the area, I would recommend anywhere else. The only plus was the feeling of camaraderie formed with the other guests, as if we were survivors of the same natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul D.
Business
Rhode Island
Feb 13, 2013

Overrated

Needs updating and renovating badly. Heat was uncontrollable in room. Everything is tiny incl. rooms, elevator, lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beantown travaler
Business
Boston
Feb 11, 2013

Right location, but....

The location is perfect and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable. That said, the room was not great. I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal, given the great price. That said, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall and there was no way to control the heat in the room, so it was stifling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
American Rugbier
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 5, 2013

Watch out for the $4/day surcharge

Found an extra $4 charged to my credit card after I came home from my (prepaid) stay. When I called the hotel, they explained it was a fuel surcharge "because gas and oil are so high." Would have been nice to know this ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny K.
Business
State College, PA, USA
Feb 5, 2013

Good location, BOGUS surcharges

The location was great for the money, but they hit us with a bogus "Fuel Surcharge" of $4/night for 'heating the room'...Not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jarguibide
Business
Japan
Feb 3, 2013

Great Value

Great value for the price plus excellent location! The hotel staffs were very kind and helpful in many ways!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCav
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 28, 2013

A small room to sleep in NYC

I've stayed at the Mayfair a few times because it's inexpensive, the staff is friendly. Because I'm usually traveling around the city during the day and return at night just to sleep, it works for me. I don't mind the threadbare carpets or the tiny room. It's quiet and in a good midtown location off of Broadway. Only real drawback is that subway connections to the East Side can be complicated. Otherwise, it works fine for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fabulous fabulous inventive Japanese - Koyotofu 705 9th Ave between 48th + 49th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayfair New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel roving the world
Business
Florida
Jan 28, 2013

A sweet and cozy, but old hotel

This hotel has a lot of charm but needs some renovating. The room itself was very small, but not a problem if you are traveling solo. There was something about this cute little hotel that was very nice and homey while traveling in NYC. Although I rated only 3 stars, I would definitely recommend this place if it was going for a good price (under $100/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West End Grill down the street has awesome food for a good price, not crazy expensive like EE grill across the street from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top