$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

La Semana Hotel

3 stars
25 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
44 reviews
Great budget find

I've stayed at a lot of budget hotels in New York, and some are better than others. This was one of... See full review

  • Sylvia NYC Lover
  • Oct 9, 2012
Fantastic Location and suitable for low-maintence people

Before arriving, we were very worried due to other reviews. We were extremely satisfied with our... See full review

  • Vicki Liz
  • Oct 8, 2012
La Semana Hotel would like to invite you to enjoy our state-of-the-art Jacuzzi and steam rooms. Established in 1978 in a turn of the century building, located near the world famous Flatiron building...Catering to people on the go. We offer the convenience of midtown, the nightlife of Chelsea, the style of the Flatiron and the privacy of Madison Square Park. Located in the heart of Manhattan

Hotel Map

40.7431 -73.9907
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Semana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

La Semana Hotel Rooms

European Shared Bath
Rooms in the traditional European style with 1 full size bed. These rooms do not have private bath. Bath is shared on the same floor. Rooms do have mini-fridge, hairdryer and cable television. Max occ 2.
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe room furnished with queen size bed, work desk with chair, and mini-fridge. Room offers guests a private bath. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max Occ 2.
Queen Jacuzzi
Queen Jacuzzi rooms are all uniquely decorated in a style that is retro chic. Rooms offer guests a queen size bed, mini-fridge, and a jacuzzi tub that is large enough for 2. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.
Jacuzzi Suite
Spacious room furnished with sofa, 1 queen size bed and large jacuzzi tub. Room is accented with mirrors creating a more open feel. Ammenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.

Amenities

Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.7 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.8 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.8 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • High Line: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for La Semana Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 44
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ms tina
Business
new york
Jun 14, 2014

teri

The room was awful,It smelled it was too small, I would never recommend it to anyone. The fire alarm was hanging from the ceiling & also no washcloths

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thopok
Business
Melbourne, Florida
Jun 14, 2014

How this place got 3 stars is an absolute miracle in itself!

One our first night we got placed in a room that smelled heavily of mold. We decided to just deal with it and attempted to buy air fresheners to plug into the walls to hopefully cover some of it up, but to no avail. Eventually you just get used to the horrid stench and can eventually fall asleep. But that's where the real fun began! That moldy smell? That was because the ceiling panels were socked in water. WE found this out because in the middle of the night, one broke loose right over our bed and landed directly on our heads. This isn't the best way to wake up on you're very first day of vacation! So we complained, and got "Upgraded." Now I will admit the new room(while smaller) at least lacked the distinct moldy smell we had grown accustomed to. This hotel also advertises free WiFi in your rooms. They fail to mention the WiFi only works within the main lobby. I would never recommend anyone staying in this abomination of a hotel. How it got three stars is a miracle within itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mini vaca planner
Business
Brownsville, tx
Apr 2, 2013

It was not worth the price!

Horrible conditions. Rooms are old and walls are paper thin. Heard the couple next to us moaning all night every night!!! Room smelled funny. Close walking distance to Times Square but location was a little scary especially at night. Over paid very badly!!! Wouldn't stay there again...staff was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylvia NYC Lover
Business
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Oct 9, 2012

Great budget find

I've stayed at a lot of budget hotels in New York, and some are better than others. This was one of the best. It's not trying to be opulent--and it's not--but it provides a good room for a good price in a city where real estate is sold and rented at a premium. I'd definitely stay here again. The neighborhood is perfect--half a block from the Flatiron building and the Eataly store and close to several subway stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from the Flatiron building and the Eataly store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki Liz
Business
La Semana. New York.
Oct 8, 2012

Fantastic Location and suitable for low-maintence people

Before arriving, we were very worried due to other reviews. We were extremely satisfied with our stay! My boyfriend and I are both very low-maintence and don't need a huge, glamorous room to enjoy your adventures in New York. We were provided a clean rooms, bathroom, and bed that were maintained daily. GREAT price. Ideal location in New York. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They allowed us to check in 2 hours early as well as store our luggage after check-out on our last day! Very simple rooms and bathroom but we loved it! We would totally stay here again on our next trip to NY! Thanks La Semana for an affordable, safe place to stay in NY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYC Fall Travel
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 25, 2012

NYC Fall

Where do I start? Small room, housekeeping is poor (linens, towels, restroom area poor cleaning and dirty stained carpet, broken toilet seat, noisy air conditioning, smoking fumes comes through your room, uncomfortable bed, and sometimes no housekeepng at all! The good news it is centrally located by Flatiron and Eataly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Flatiron

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Dec 13, 2010

pretty basic

the hotel was VERY basic but the price was great. If you are going on a short trip or do not plan to stay in the room other than to sleep it is fine. Do not book for the romantic getaway. It is centrally located in lower manhattan and near the subway which was great. I would only recommend to a friend under these criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meekie
Business
New orleans
Sep 8, 2010

The worst

The worst place I've every stayed. The room was inhabitable. Trash in the room, carpet filthy, small, showers too tiny to shower, a few bugs flying around, dead bolt missing of the door, just really nasty and unkept. It appeared as though the room is never clean. I felt unsafe, almost appeared as a place you bring prostitutes. The next day I had to check out to find a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's not worth it to save money, u will regret it. I gave it one star but it does not deserve a star.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Bargain Gal
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 16, 2010

One step above a youth hostel

Nutshell: Treat this as a great bargain and a utility room, and you'll be fine. Full review: It is without a doubt a bargain ($98/nt in Manhattan!). That said, may the buyer beware of the establishment's false advertising. The hotel speaks of A/C, but it is by individual in-room units that don't quite do the job. The restrooms for the regular rooms are common, not private. There was no jacuzzi to be found (by me at least). I smelled cigarettes in the lobby, so asked for a non-smoking room, but the receptionist said that all rooms are supposed to be non-smoking... I would consider staying here again due to the price, but will emphasize that this place is nothing special. I would rather travel to NYC during the off-season and pay an extra $50/nt more to stay at a real 3-star hotel in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
catskills, ny
May 16, 2010

MISLEADING AND INCORRECT INFO

Hotel's location was good/ But despite the [...] listing of a private bath and no mention of it when I recieved the confirmation emails. I arrived to a shared bath situation. Not only that, the BR's were dirty and had zero water pressure. Honestly, I never took my morning shower because the water stopped coming out of the showerhead.When I bristled at the shared bath because I never was told, the guy behind the desk showed me the hotel's audit memo which had the info. I am in the business and know when I have been had. If you don't mind semi filth and no AC, abd sharing your toilet with the floor, the place is for you.On a side note, the cleaning woman (obviously overworked) was VERY SWEET and attentive, getting us more towels and a fan for our stuffy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

23rd street- twp great bbq places within 10 minutes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top