$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

La Semana Hotel

3 stars
View map of 25 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10010

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Semana Hotel

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
1.8
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the cheap
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Mar 19, 2010

La Semana Hotel

We slept very well in the comforable bed. The room was very clean and the space heater kept us warm. We were off the streets and was close to the Penn station just a short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Neighborhood not that bad. Hyatt Hotel and Wyndom in the same block.

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
finest
Business
bklyn
Feb 14, 2010

decent place for what it is

management was nice unlike what was expressed by other guest. cleaning lady was very nice and polite even offering extra blankets and a heater. room was small but was very accomodating for a one night stay, with the room being used as just a crashing point for bags and to sleep. comfortable bed. clean room... not a 5 star hotel but perfect for a traveller with a budget and just looking for a place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2009

Really small.

The rooms were very small, at most 9x8.Didn't have queen size bed, probably because it wouldn't fit in the room.Also had two folding chairs and a book shelf. Location is about the only good thing.Rooms are nothing like the pics on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glad I left
Business
los angeles, ca
Oct 10, 2009

A Dog Kennel would have been better!

Room was strickly a hooker/drug hang out. Should have rented by the hour! Room was a fire hazzard. Door to room was not secure, wind could have blown open door. If dirt was a dollar a pound, I would have left a millionaire!I did not stay the night. Got on internet(laptop, they had no connection)and found another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Blue
Business
Boston
Sep 28, 2009

Gotta get in the mood....

Can't argue with the price and location. The room was tiny but fine for sleeping. Clean but had a mild to moderate smell of cigarettes. Sheets were clean and pillows did'nt smell. View was like looking out at East Berlin which I actually thought was kind of cool. I was really quite fine with it considering the price but it took my girlfriend a bit to settle in. Really for those who only need a room to crash. The room was completely mirrored which had its uses... Its iron curtin chic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 3-5 minutes to the El Quijote Restaurant which is a totally awesome 1930's spanish restaurant right out of a Ernest Hemingway novel. Might even see a celebrity there.. its that kind of place.

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Voice of Reason
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 23, 2009

Beware

This is not really a hotel in the traditional sense. There was no door on the bathroom, the shower and tub were directly in the room inches from the bed, there were gigantic mirrors placed in such a way that at any given point in the room, you could see into both the toilet and shower areas. I am very comfortable with my friend, but there is absolutely no privacy in this room. There was no bedside table, no chair, nowhere to set anything except on the floor. Not clean. Sheet was fitted directly on the mattress. I've read reviews of this hotel that suggest it is a *place of pleasure* (Orbitz won't let me use the term. Seriously, they were willing to book me a hotel that's not even PG to describe!) or an hourly rate hotel. I found nothing to disprove these claims. Looks like a hooker den to me. I'm fine with basic and small, but this was scary. Very cheap and in a great location, but I would not stay in this "hotel" again. Ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 15, 2009

Well.. it's cheap.

Well, the first night was fouled up. Orbitz and the hotel's front desk didn't communicate. We had a confirmed reservation, but no room waiting for us. Downgraded to a 'european' room, which is essentially a bed and 3 feet of floor space in a 'room' that smelled like smoke. you also end up sharing one of two bathrooms with the floor of about 12 rooms. kinda sketchy. The next night was back to the deluxe room, which was by comparison, much more enjoyable. Positive points: it's cheap. way cheap for its location (24th/broadway - flatiron district). if you just need a central place to stay that's cheap and quick to get to then it's ideal. if you need top notch service, cleanliness and a suite, then this isnt for you. I would definitely go again as I fit that description, but only if i can get the deluxe room - and I call ahead to the hotel to confirm it's available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Apr 22, 2009

great location, small clean rooms

Personel is great and very friendly and helpful. The room whas clean, but really small. We wanted to visit the city and used the room to sleep in. This whas good for us. You share shower and bathroom, this whas ok too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 3, 2009

Extremely economical

this hotel wasn't too bad for young people who just need a place to crash. It was way way over priced in my opinion. However If you consider that it was Manhattan and it was New Years eve.. maby it wasent to bad. To be frank.. My walkin closet in Los Angeles is a little bit bigger than this room was (i'm not jokeing) But we needed a warm room to crash in after a long night of drinking, and it did the job just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bars and clubs

Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Needham
Oct 19, 2008

Very Basic

La Semana is low cost and you get the minimum in hotel accommodation. The bed was uncomfortable, TV did not work, room was cold, and so on. Would not recommend unless your budget requires the minimum expense possible. Location is good for subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top