$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

La Semana Hotel

3 stars
25 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
44 reviews
Great budget find

I've stayed at a lot of budget hotels in New York, and some are better than others. This was one of... See full review

  • Sylvia NYC Lover
  • Oct 9, 2012
Fantastic Location and suitable for low-maintence people

Before arriving, we were very worried due to other reviews. We were extremely satisfied with our... See full review

  • Vicki Liz
  • Oct 8, 2012
La Semana Hotel would like to invite you to enjoy our state-of-the-art Jacuzzi and steam rooms. Established in 1978 in a turn of the century building, located near the world famous Flatiron building...Catering to people on the go. We offer the convenience of midtown, the nightlife of Chelsea, the style of the Flatiron and the privacy of Madison Square Park. Located in the heart of Manhattan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Semana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

La Semana Hotel Rooms

European Shared Bath
Rooms in the traditional European style with 1 full size bed. These rooms do not have private bath. Bath is shared on the same floor. Rooms do have mini-fridge, hairdryer and cable television. Max occ 2.
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe room furnished with queen size bed, work desk with chair, and mini-fridge. Room offers guests a private bath. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max Occ 2.
Queen Jacuzzi
Queen Jacuzzi rooms are all uniquely decorated in a style that is retro chic. Rooms offer guests a queen size bed, mini-fridge, and a jacuzzi tub that is large enough for 2. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.
Jacuzzi Suite
Spacious room furnished with sofa, 1 queen size bed and large jacuzzi tub. Room is accented with mirrors creating a more open feel. Ammenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.

Amenities

Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.7 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.8 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.8 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • High Line: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for La Semana Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
1.8
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kat & Z Jazz
Business
connecticut
Apr 26, 2010

Basic-Good location

location was great - rooms were cheap - but you pay for what you get. overall not bad - it was just a place to shower and sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AnnieCakes
Business
DC
Apr 9, 2010

Annie's New York

The shower was broken, the room was dingy and dark, there was no bathroom door, there was one electrical outlet. Half a block from Madison Park, though, and we certainly weren't in New York to spend our time in a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack in Madison park is great for lunch. The lines are long but worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the cheap
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Mar 19, 2010

La Semana Hotel

We slept very well in the comforable bed. The room was very clean and the space heater kept us warm. We were off the streets and was close to the Penn station just a short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Neighborhood not that bad. Hyatt Hotel and Wyndom in the same block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany, ny
Feb 16, 2010

bad!!!

horrible fuse for the room kept blowing.. ended up sitting in a dark room with only the bathroom light on, with the only source of heat turned off as it kept blowing the fuse...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
finest
Business
bklyn
Feb 14, 2010

decent place for what it is

management was nice unlike what was expressed by other guest. cleaning lady was very nice and polite even offering extra blankets and a heater. room was small but was very accomodating for a one night stay, with the room being used as just a crashing point for bags and to sleep. comfortable bed. clean room... not a 5 star hotel but perfect for a traveller with a budget and just looking for a place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2009

Really small.

The rooms were very small, at most 9x8.Didn't have queen size bed, probably because it wouldn't fit in the room.Also had two folding chairs and a book shelf. Location is about the only good thing.Rooms are nothing like the pics on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glad I left
Business
los angeles, ca
Oct 10, 2009

A Dog Kennel would have been better!

Room was strickly a hooker/drug hang out. Should have rented by the hour! Room was a fire hazzard. Door to room was not secure, wind could have blown open door. If dirt was a dollar a pound, I would have left a millionaire!I did not stay the night. Got on internet(laptop, they had no connection)and found another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Blue
Business
Boston
Sep 28, 2009

Gotta get in the mood....

Can't argue with the price and location. The room was tiny but fine for sleeping. Clean but had a mild to moderate smell of cigarettes. Sheets were clean and pillows did'nt smell. View was like looking out at East Berlin which I actually thought was kind of cool. I was really quite fine with it considering the price but it took my girlfriend a bit to settle in. Really for those who only need a room to crash. The room was completely mirrored which had its uses... Its iron curtin chic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 3-5 minutes to the El Quijote Restaurant which is a totally awesome 1930's spanish restaurant right out of a Ernest Hemingway novel. Might even see a celebrity there.. its that kind of place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Voice of Reason
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 23, 2009

Beware

This is not really a hotel in the traditional sense. There was no door on the bathroom, the shower and tub were directly in the room inches from the bed, there were gigantic mirrors placed in such a way that at any given point in the room, you could see into both the toilet and shower areas. I am very comfortable with my friend, but there is absolutely no privacy in this room. There was no bedside table, no chair, nowhere to set anything except on the floor. Not clean. Sheet was fitted directly on the mattress. I've read reviews of this hotel that suggest it is a *place of pleasure* (Orbitz won't let me use the term. Seriously, they were willing to book me a hotel that's not even PG to describe!) or an hourly rate hotel. I found nothing to disprove these claims. Looks like a hooker den to me. I'm fine with basic and small, but this was scary. Very cheap and in a great location, but I would not stay in this "hotel" again. Ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
La Semana Hotel NYC 9/18
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 21, 2009

NYC 9/18

I came to NYC for the weekend to relax and spend some time with friends. I didn't expect to spend a lot of time in my room, so I opted for the "European" style with a shared bathroom. The hotel staff were friendly. The building is very old, and nothing seems to have been updated or cared for in a very long time. There is no elevator, and I had the feeling the stairs were going to give way the way that they were creaking and not level. The bathroom was extremely tiny, with just barely enough room to open the door inwards. The shower was a little scary, and it was obvious that they hadn't replaced the shower curtain in a long time. The room was small, but ok. The room tended to get a little stuffy, and the window was broken, so we could not let fresh air in. This is ok if you just desperately need somewhere to crash in the city, however, I would not stay here again. Location was great and within very short walking distance of Madison Square Park, the Flatiron Building, and the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top