$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

La Semana Hotel

3 stars
25 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
44 reviews
Great budget find

I've stayed at a lot of budget hotels in New York, and some are better than others. This was one of... See full review

  • Sylvia NYC Lover
  • Oct 9, 2012
Fantastic Location and suitable for low-maintence people

Before arriving, we were very worried due to other reviews. We were extremely satisfied with our... See full review

  • Vicki Liz
  • Oct 8, 2012
La Semana Hotel would like to invite you to enjoy our state-of-the-art Jacuzzi and steam rooms. Established in 1978 in a turn of the century building, located near the world famous Flatiron building...Catering to people on the go. We offer the convenience of midtown, the nightlife of Chelsea, the style of the Flatiron and the privacy of Madison Square Park. Located in the heart of Manhattan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Semana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

La Semana Hotel Rooms

European Shared Bath
Rooms in the traditional European style with 1 full size bed. These rooms do not have private bath. Bath is shared on the same floor. Rooms do have mini-fridge, hairdryer and cable television. Max occ 2.
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe room furnished with queen size bed, work desk with chair, and mini-fridge. Room offers guests a private bath. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max Occ 2.
Queen Jacuzzi
Queen Jacuzzi rooms are all uniquely decorated in a style that is retro chic. Rooms offer guests a queen size bed, mini-fridge, and a jacuzzi tub that is large enough for 2. Amenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.
Jacuzzi Suite
Spacious room furnished with sofa, 1 queen size bed and large jacuzzi tub. Room is accented with mirrors creating a more open feel. Ammenities include cable television and hairdryer. Max occ 2.

Amenities

Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.1 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.7 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.8 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.8 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • High Line: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for La Semana Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Dec 13, 2010

pretty basic

the hotel was VERY basic but the price was great. If you are going on a short trip or do not plan to stay in the room other than to sleep it is fine. Do not book for the romantic getaway. It is centrally located in lower manhattan and near the subway which was great. I would only recommend to a friend under these criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
N. D. Lurch
Business
New York
Nov 4, 2010

Not The Worst But Not Worth It

I was in a bind and needed a room for the night. This place was the only thing in my price range. Reluctantly, even after reading the reviews I took it. It wasn't dirty, actually tidy - but it just looked and felt like it was unsanitary. The bathroom was the best part, even though I didn't shower there. I pulled back the thin top cover wrapped the pillow in a towel I took from the gym and slept in my full outfit. By 9AM I was out! Even thinking about it makes me quiver slightly! Again, if you are caught in a lurch and just need a place to sleep - it's doable. Otherwise - skip it. I won't even talk about the holes and cracks in the ceiling....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meekie
Business
New orleans
Sep 8, 2010

The worst

The worst place I've every stayed. The room was inhabitable. Trash in the room, carpet filthy, small, showers too tiny to shower, a few bugs flying around, dead bolt missing of the door, just really nasty and unkept. It appeared as though the room is never clean. I felt unsafe, almost appeared as a place you bring prostitutes. The next day I had to check out to find a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's not worth it to save money, u will regret it. I gave it one star but it does not deserve a star.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 27, 2010

Upset!

For 3 star hotel,this is not that type of 3 star... Very small room, no door for restroom or bathtub,the bed sheet is itchy .... not recommend for anyone, unless you don't care about that or just want some place to stay...it's a good location,though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
skeggia
Business
Via formato 20 00128 rome italy
May 21, 2010

La semana hotel

I have no time sorry but belive me is an unconfortble place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Bargain Gal
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 16, 2010

One step above a youth hostel

Nutshell: Treat this as a great bargain and a utility room, and you'll be fine. Full review: It is without a doubt a bargain ($98/nt in Manhattan!). That said, may the buyer beware of the establishment's false advertising. The hotel speaks of A/C, but it is by individual in-room units that don't quite do the job. The restrooms for the regular rooms are common, not private. There was no jacuzzi to be found (by me at least). I smelled cigarettes in the lobby, so asked for a non-smoking room, but the receptionist said that all rooms are supposed to be non-smoking... I would consider staying here again due to the price, but will emphasize that this place is nothing special. I would rather travel to NYC during the off-season and pay an extra $50/nt more to stay at a real 3-star hotel in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
catskills, ny
May 16, 2010

MISLEADING AND INCORRECT INFO

Hotel's location was good/ But despite the [...] listing of a private bath and no mention of it when I recieved the confirmation emails. I arrived to a shared bath situation. Not only that, the BR's were dirty and had zero water pressure. Honestly, I never took my morning shower because the water stopped coming out of the showerhead.When I bristled at the shared bath because I never was told, the guy behind the desk showed me the hotel's audit memo which had the info. I am in the business and know when I have been had. If you don't mind semi filth and no AC, abd sharing your toilet with the floor, the place is for you.On a side note, the cleaning woman (obviously overworked) was VERY SWEET and attentive, getting us more towels and a fan for our stuffy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

23rd street- twp great bbq places within 10 minutes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mig
Business
PR
May 5, 2010

To bad and ugly

Hotel is very bad and ugly place. Broken stuff. Not clean. NO GOOD. looks like old and ugly cheap motel. Too expensive to be a Hotel. NO GOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando
May 3, 2010

good

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Semana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
acbenz
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 26, 2010

Mediocrity at its best

The staff is friendly and helpful. This place is like a European Hostel, small, cheap with a good location. There was someone in the rooms near us that smoked all night long, then burned incense. But it was quiet. Bed was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Cafe, excellent food. 1 Block away. There was a tapas restaurant too, 2 blocks away. Both were spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top