$339 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Kitano Hotel

4 stars
View map of 66 Park Avenue, Murray Hill, New York City, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Great Thanksgiving Stay

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was large by NY standards and very quiet with a great... See full review

  • Searsport traveller
  • Nov 30, 2014
Beautiful hotel with a friendly staff

My friends and I were in NYC for a girls weekend. I picked this hotel because of it's location,... See full review

  • nj0920
  • Mar 31, 2014
Kitano New York is a luxury, eighteen-story hotel in one of Manhattans oldest neighborhoods; Murray Hill. Located on Park Avenue, the Kitano New York highlights the elegance of Manhattan and Japanese graciousness. Steps away from Grand Central, the Kitano New York features 149 fully appointed guest rooms; with two restaurants and Jazz bar/lounge. Authentic Japanese cuisine is available at Hakubai restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. Guest can also enjoy an array of western cuisine at the Garden Cafe. *note - rollaway beds are available for Premier Rooms and Suites at $40 per day.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kitano Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 526 reviews
★★★★
$164
4.1 / 5 114 reviews
★★★★
$206
4.3 / 5 59 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 113 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.9 / 5 147 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.2 / 5 121 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 553 reviews
★★★
$129
3.4 / 5 151 reviews

Kitano Hotel Rooms

PREMIER ROOM - KING- King
Spacious corner room with an abundance of light Sitting area with loveseat armchair & coffee table Minibar and sound proof windows that open The full marble bathroom has towel warmers and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries Room measures 413 square feet.
JUNIOR SUITE - KING
Junior Suite offers 500 square feet of space and is furnished with one king bed, sound proof windows, an ergonomic work desk and a comfortable sitting area with couch, armchair and coffee table. The spacious bathroom features a bathtub and separate shower stall, towel warmer. The views of Park Avenue will provide a true New York experience.
SUPERIOR ROOM - KING or 2 DOUBLES
Located on floors 3 through 16, the 305 square foot Superior rooms with one king offers a comfortable setting for a sound nights sleep. These rooms in our standard category are furnished with one king bed or two full-sized beds, ergonomic work desks and full marble bathrooms with combination tub/shower. Rooms offer quiet interior views, or skyline views of Park Avenue or the Empire State Building.
PREMIER ROOM - 2 DOUBLES
Spacious corner room with an abundance of natural light. It has two double beds, sitting area with loveseat, armchair & coffee table, working desk, mini-bar and sound proof windows that open. The full marble bathroom has towel warmers and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Room measures 413 square feet. The room offers an Empire State Building view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Penthouse 1400 sqft. Boardroom accommodates 14 guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Kitano Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Searsport traveller
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Nov 30, 2014

Great Thanksgiving Stay

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was large by NY standards and very quiet with a great view of the Empire State Building. Staff were very attentive and extremely polite, and everything was clean and in tiptop shape. Only complaints would be the small pillows (which we never complained about) and only instant coffee in the rooms. Japanese toilet was a new experience, and nice amenities (bathrobe, slippers, shoe brush, umbrella, etc) were provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James T
Couples
Munich
Dec 3, 2012

Not your normal welcoming American Hotel

Lots of niggles: Firstly they didn't recognise our booking and assumed I was a Mr J J Palmer from Chicago therefore the room was set up for one. The room didn't have a mini bar (apparently they are on order!). They wanted to charge for WiFi access and I told no way and they dropped it. The heating stopped working on day three and it an hour to get a heater delivered. The maid packed my wife's nightgown up withe bed linen and it had to be recovered from the cleaning company! Some of the staff we apologetic and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pershing Square Diner: For breakfast or lunch. A true American experience.

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChetFeb
Couples
Upstate NY
Feb 27, 2012

Very convenient to Grand Central Terminal

Nice hotel. Loose manhole cover on 38th street needs attention to stop the thumping. They deep fry the breakfast bacon, I prefer it grilled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Naofu
Couples
Bloomington, IN
Sep 8, 2011

NYC trip Sep 3 2011

We had enjoyed walking around NYC as well as shopping. The location of the hotel was good and convenient for us as it was near to Grand Central Station. It's also nice that Japan TV was available to watch at free of charges in the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walking might not be a problem in NYC as far as the weather is fine.

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sslr
Couples
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 22, 2011

Great location for a weekend getaway

My husband and I were in town for a family event. Hotel location was great--a short walk to Grand Central station. Hotel was clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VA Rick
Couples
Chesapeake, VA
Jul 20, 2011

Frommer Missed This One!

This was special trip to NYC for my wife and I. It was a combination of birthday's, an anniversary, a very belated honeymoon, and the first visit to NYC for my wife. The Kitano is a few blocks from Grand Central, so getting around NYC was easy. Our room was on the sixth floor overlooking Park Ave. We were amazed at how quiet it was. One thing my wife noted was how clean the room was compared to other highly rated hotels. Both the rugs and the bathroom was spotless, no signs of residue from previous occupants. The only negative item was noise from the hallway easily filtered into the room, but most guests were quiet so it wasn't a big problem. We are planning future trips back to NYC and will seriously consider staying at The Kitano again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central NYC location.

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynea Travel Junkie
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 17, 2011

Quiet, Classy, Luxurious

We enjoyed a long weekend in New York City including a Broadway musical, the nearby public library, the Gugenheim museum, Tenement Museum, Top of the Rock observation deck, Pete's Tavern and shopping at Macy's. Our stay at the Kitano Hotel provided the quietest room ever in any city; very clean, tastefully decorated with high quality amenities, deep soaking tub, super soft pillows, comfy bed, in room tea maker, everything we needed and more. We will return and highly recommend this calm oasis in the big noisy city; lots of Japanese charm and gracious service from all employees. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pete's Tavern in Gramercy Park - old charming tavern south at 18th St. Unique historic building, great food, decent prices, excellent service

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
md10
Couples
detroit, mi
Dec 15, 2009

frequent ny visitor

friendly, wonderful location and quiet hotel. The room was spotless and the staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
vancouver
Jul 3, 2009

Small but first class hotel

staff at the front desk are very polite,and professional. The hotel is within walking distance from fifth avenue, union station and other entertainment center but located in a quiet neighbourhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kitano Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee in Denver
Couples
Denver, CO
Jul 1, 2009

A great place in a quiet neighborhood

This hotel met my requirements--quiet, clean and reasonably priced! The immediate neighborhood is quiet and residential. A few blocks away you can find food, the subway and convenience stores. The staff are attentive so you have to use your "do not disturb" sign. The doorbell was rung by someone wanting to restock the minibar just as we were drifting off for an afternoon nap. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central is just 4 blocks away!

Back to menu Return to top