$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 88
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersarah73
Business
Redmond, WA
Dec 5, 2014

Great for the Price!

The location is perfect and so many things are in walking distance, great for a short trip in New York. And the rooms and building are very unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can go to a site beforehand to get free internet there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Somerset
Business
Yeovil England
Nov 30, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Over all a great place to stay. Close to 5th Ave, Times Square etc. The room was a bit small but clean. Hotel staff were all smart and helpful. Would recommend to anyone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyJ
Business
Edgerton, WI
Nov 20, 2014

Fantastic first trip to New York

We just recently returned from New York and I have to say that I had a fantastic time! We had been warned that we needed to watch for shared bathrooms and that room size would be tiny. However, I was greatly surprised when we got into the hotel. The lobby was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was beyond helpful and very nice. We got up to our room and couldn't believe it. The room was actually pretty good sized for what we were expecting. It also had a closet for extra space. The bathroom was HUGE and absolutely amazing. I wanted to bring it home with me. We didn't do the breakfast there because it was pricey. However there was a little grocery style store right around the corner so we just grabbed stuff from there. There was also numerous restaurants in the area. It was only a couple short block walk to the Empire State Building and not far from Time Square either. Central Park was a bit of a distance away. We took a cab up there and decided to walk back which was actually a great walk. The walk took you right past a ton of shops and restaurants. Not to mention the view and scenery were amazing, especially at night all lite up. We are already talking about when we want to go back again and will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. We couldn't have imagined staying somewhere else for this price and actually being this comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GolfingGal2014
Business
Vermont
Nov 17, 2014

Great value

Well located , clean with freindly staff. Updated bath and comfy bed. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs and Heifers in Meatpacking district is a hoot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenfig Red
Business
Bridgend UK
Oct 13, 2014

An ideal hotel for a short break in New York

Jolly Hotel Madison is ideally located at East 38th Street right next to Madison Avenue. Major attractions such as TImes Square and the Empire State Building are within reasonable walking distance. The amenities at the hotel are ordinary - the bar was closed during our 4 night stay. The reason for this was not obvious. The hotel room was of a reasonable size. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff on the front desk were particularly helpful and made excellent recommendations on local restaurants. There was a 15% discount on our room when we booked it and this meant that the hotel was very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benjamin`s Steak House is a top class restaurant. Its not cheap but the steak is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cookie1918
Business
finger lakes ny
Sep 9, 2014

nyc getaway

it was adequate, nothing over the top. i would have like breakfast included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to grand central terminal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Freshhh
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 22, 2014

Quick weekend in the city

Reading many reviews prior to booking - i pretty much feel the same way as the general populous: location was great and was the key factor in the decision making process. Everything else was average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian G
Business
Argentina
Jul 3, 2014

Nice NH Hotel near Times Square

I booked a double superior room through Orbtz for USD 180 so my review considers this price as value for money (room price at hotel was USD 350). Jolly Hotel Madison Tower is an NH hotel so if you have stayed in any of them, expect no less from Madison Tower. Location is pretty good, its near Times Square, Grand Central, Empire State among other things. Rooms are spacious and clean, fully equipped except for the 20' CRT TV. You can get continental breakfast in room for 20 USD. The only flaw is no free wifi, nor room or lobby. Internet is charged something like USD 3 for 30min and USD 10 for 24h clock. You pay 3 bucks, you get 30 min clock no matter if you where connected 1 min or the whole time. You cannot use more than one device per connection. It's cheaper and easier to walk two blocks and get a SB coffee and free wifi. (Techys advice: wifi is url proxy filtered, you can bypass it through IP address naming or so).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Empire State, Grand Central & Macys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barry Bum
Business
Boise ID
Jun 26, 2014

Nice Madison Tower

The Hotel was in a good location. No wi-fi unless you paid. Really not a good idea in this age. Coffee in the room would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try the hop on hop off bus. We saw a lot more of the city that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Couple
Business
Edgewood Maryland
Feb 25, 2014

Good Value

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower, This hotel is good for the price, the location is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top