$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 77
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fedg
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2014

tired

hotel looks in need of refurbishment. Annoying that internet not included in room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammi lynn
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Decent

I was very disappointed that the Restaurant was closed. I planned my evening with going to dinner at the hotel, and with the location there isn't other restaurants around. I heard people all night, through the super thin walls and small rooms. For as much as you pay per night the rooms & features are very it dated. But service was decent. Wouldn't stay again. Pictures online are NOT what you get in actuality!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egyptian one
Business
Egypt
Oct 27, 2013

good one

very good location in a quite area, so overall is a good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Austin01
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 11, 2013

Fatigued

For the amount charged, the room is uncomfortable and old. AC, lighting, carpeting, bed comfort and amenities, the Jolly needs a makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Milou28
Business
Montreal, Canada
May 6, 2013

Jolly Madison Tower Hotel

Unwelcoming front desk staff (not even a hello) Smallest standard room I have ever stayed in considering the $300 price tag. Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. The room has not been renovated or thoroughly cleaned in a decade. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, dirty bathtub and an old soap. TV was old with bad reception, looked like a museum piece. No free Wi-Fi although it was advertized as being free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SeasonedRoadie
Business
Denver CO
Oct 20, 2012

Not so Jolly Hotel

Decor was circa 1965. Old TV. Felt like the carpet had never been cleaned. Mattress was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leahwrites
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2012

One of the smallest rooms I've ever had in a hotel

When I checked in at the Jolly Madison Towers and I was asked if I wanted 1 or 2 beds, I should have said 2, even though I was traveling alone. The room I ended up getting, with one double bed, was barely big enough to fit the bed. I imagine a room with 2 beds had to be bigger. In fact, the room was so small that the dresser was inside the closet, and the closet door barely opened because the bed was in the way. The bed linens were worn and threadbare in spots, and the furniture was worn as well. Ironically, the bathroom was bigger and recently redone. So some renovations have occurred. Then why not replace the tired green carpet in the room or patch the hole in the ceiling? Or replace the TV, which was circa 1980s and only had one channel in color--I kid you not! I wish the hotel had more working elevators. There are "four" but I only ever saw two working, and often had to wait for 2 or 3 elevators to go by before getting on because they were crowded. Even though I wouldn't want to live in this room forever, I booked it at a great rate and only came back to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monarico4
Business
Jersey
Jan 13, 2012

clean and convenient

great location-room is nothing fancy but clean and totally refurbished bathrooms-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMprod
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Average, Little out of the way

It's just a room to sleep and shower. Very small and a little farther uptown-west. If you stay M-Wednesday its ok for $225/night. Otherwise - no. Lot's of Italian's stay here as well, nice espresso shop next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice espresso shop next door; drugstore around the corner. Staples across the street and Kinkos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Girl 1
Business
Minneapolis
May 16, 2011

Good location, needs a makeover

I was in NY for only one night to attend an event. Pros: This hotel was relatively inexpensive (I paid about $230) and had a good location at Madison and 38th. Plenty of restaurants, close to shopping and tourist places like the Empire State Bldg. The place is a bit run down. Walls in the lobby need a fresh coat of paint and upholstery on furniture was ripped and dirty. Furniture in my room was quite old and worn, as was the carpet, bedspread, and worst of all, the noisey old air conditioner. On the up side, the linens were clean and nice, and the bathroom had been recently remodeled with nice marble tile, etc. Front desk staff were friendly and attentive. However, I think there are probably nicer hotels around for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search