$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
4 day trip with a friend

Hotel was better than I expected for the price. Located in the very heart of manhattan so... See full review

  • Bruce
  • Jan 26, 2015
me and mom NYC trip

small room, but very clean and conveniently located, walking distance from times square. Great... See full review

  • fanny g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 107
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
my town, tx
Apr 17, 2010

would not recommend

doormen helpful and two staff at desk when checked in in afternoon were courteous - rest of concerige staff unfriendly; rooms very run down so much that one of our party checked out; very unfriendly people on phone when trying to get a reservation; breakfast way overpriced $10 for a bowl of oatmeal - seriously?; would not recommend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Business
Charleston
Dec 7, 2014

I've never seen a room like this in NY(or anywhere).

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and they are sentenced to time in a halfway house before they are free. Their room has dingy marked on beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind), a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with old wool blankets on the bed like you would find in a shelter , and cheap lamps whith dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light out (yes I did). The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck on the corner has good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Trip spoiler.

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and he/she are sentenced to time in a halfway house. Their room has dingy beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind),a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with an old wool blanket at the end like you would find in a shelter, cheap lamps with dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light on, (yes I did ), and a depressing interior view. The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room). Someone needs a dictionary and a moral compass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rosiedog
Business
new york
Apr 3, 2013

not happy

we booked a double room with 2 beds . received only one bed and had to change rooms. were promised a king bed but received a small queen. eventually got a rollaway bed in a junior suite. Too much trouble. The rest of our party had to change rooms because of uncontrolled heat in the rooms. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the touring bus is close to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 1, 2009

Reststop version of an Hotel

When I checked in, some dude with a name tag Mostafa kept whispering 750, 750, 750 to the other person who was actually checking me in. Right away I knew I was getting the special room. Of course I got the 750 room. As soon as I got off the elevator, room 750 is right next to the elevator. Literary as soon as you get off the elevator, the room was on the left. All the time I was in the room including night time when I was sleeping I heard people going in and out. BIG TURN OFF. Room: VERY SMALL. I have never seen a hotel room that small. Beds: VERY SMALL BEDS. It had two small beds. Extras: I asked for late checkout but no way you can get anything from them. Costumer Service: They talk to you as if they are paying you to stay in this hotel. To sum up, this hotel was as if you go to a rest stop along some major highway and you think you are getting something descent but everything you get is junk. That is the feeling I got from this hotel. But then that is how rest stops work too - they don't have to worry about back log and have customers come back. They did not deserve my money - I will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicolejiayingli
Business
San francisco CA
Jun 28, 2014

not good

The room is so small. There is no hot water in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carze
Business
Buffalo
Nov 25, 2012

Good one

Hotel has a great location that is near to grand central empire states and also times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Fair Value for your Money

The Jolly Hotel had helpful staff that made the stay a lot more informative and enjoyable. The location may be the best aspect of this hotel as you are near all the major tourist spots of New York City. If you are looking for a great NYC view from your hotel window, this is probably not the hotel for you but if you're looking for decent value for your money especially during the holiday season, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudette, never use cheap tickets
Business
The Hamptons NY
Aug 24, 2009

Hotel great Cheap tickets sucks

The hotel was great they even upgraded us for free when Cheap Tickets screwed up my reservation, I will never deal with cheap tickets again, I was over charged, the wrong rooms were booked they lied to me. The worst website for traveling and I travel alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jan 7, 2010

Good hotel in superb location

Good hotel. A very good location (although some might find it noisy, but hey: you're in the middle of New York City!). Friendly service, good, clean, comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middel of NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top