$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
98 reviews
me and mom NYC trip

small room, but very clean and conveniently located, walking distance from times square. Great... See full review

  • fanny g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
good

good for trip. The front worker is nice for us to resolve the problem See full review

  • li l.
  • Jan 5, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple 30's
Business
dublin
Feb 13, 2012

very central...

we enjoyed our stay at the jolly madison towers ..the only downfall was rooms very small and no tea/coffee making facilites...roy the porter was very helpful...would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

bring a suitcase going shopping ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Never had one
Business
Delray Beach, Florida
Jul 24, 2012

Visit to our son

The hotel was ideally located for us in reference to where our son lives. We did some sightseeing with him and ate in some terrific restaurants. The bathroom needed a little upgrading - there were peeled spots on one wall. The people who worked there were extremely nice to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivy quant
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2012

Excellently priced for NYC

Great location. Satisfactory amenities and for newyork great !!! Pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RafaelQ
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Aug 3, 2012

Location

Is perfect for a short visit to NY. Rooms are very small but everything clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leahwrites
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2012

One of the smallest rooms I've ever had in a hotel

When I checked in at the Jolly Madison Towers and I was asked if I wanted 1 or 2 beds, I should have said 2, even though I was traveling alone. The room I ended up getting, with one double bed, was barely big enough to fit the bed. I imagine a room with 2 beds had to be bigger. In fact, the room was so small that the dresser was inside the closet, and the closet door barely opened because the bed was in the way. The bed linens were worn and threadbare in spots, and the furniture was worn as well. Ironically, the bathroom was bigger and recently redone. So some renovations have occurred. Then why not replace the tired green carpet in the room or patch the hole in the ceiling? Or replace the TV, which was circa 1980s and only had one channel in color--I kid you not! I wish the hotel had more working elevators. There are "four" but I only ever saw two working, and often had to wait for 2 or 3 elevators to go by before getting on because they were crowded. Even though I wouldn't want to live in this room forever, I booked it at a great rate and only came back to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carze
Business
Buffalo
Nov 25, 2012

Good one

Hotel has a great location that is near to grand central empire states and also times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toots 1
Business
Johnstown, PA
Nov 25, 2012

Jolly Madison

Went there for Thanksgiving Day Parade. Able to walk to Radio City, NBC, the train station and the parade. Nothing spectacular, but a good location and clean place to sleep. Price reasonable for time and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cama
Business
Edinburgh UK
Feb 17, 2013

New York

Excellent location, everything at hand. Felt safe at all times, but did in the whole of the city. Plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee near by, nothing in the hotel, not even a kettle in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask for armed forces discount

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Married Two
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 20, 2013

okay room, good location

The overall service was good. The location was great, close to everything. The sheets were washed in something too strong, they caused both my husband and I to dry out before the morning. The bistro associated with the hotel wouldn't let us take coffee into our room in the morning (?). Otherwise the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Overall a good experience for the great package price we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fagiolini Italian Resaurant. Absolutely delicious, short walk from hotel, and very well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blau
Business
Illinois
Feb 24, 2014

you get what you pay for

It was pretty cheap offer so we didn't expect much. We didn't get much. Small rooms, very clean and altogther okay. Not more and not less. Note that there's no free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top