$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time NYC Hotel User
Couples
Colorado
Jan 16, 2012

Old but OK

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was good, but the carpet and curtains were pretty "tired". We were on the 12th floor and had lots of street noise (sirens, horns, trucks) but I guess that's just NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $22 per person. We got bananas, coffee, and muffins from a bodega around the corner on Madison Ave.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple 30's
Couples
dublin
Feb 13, 2012

very central...

we enjoyed our stay at the jolly madison towers ..the only downfall was rooms very small and no tea/coffee making facilites...roy the porter was very helpful...would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

bring a suitcase going shopping ...

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivy quant
Couples
USA
Jul 25, 2012

Excellently priced for NYC

Great location. Satisfactory amenities and for newyork great !!! Pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RafaelQ
Couples
Bogotá, Colombia
Aug 3, 2012

Location

Is perfect for a short visit to NY. Rooms are very small but everything clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leahwrites
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2012

One of the smallest rooms I've ever had in a hotel

When I checked in at the Jolly Madison Towers and I was asked if I wanted 1 or 2 beds, I should have said 2, even though I was traveling alone. The room I ended up getting, with one double bed, was barely big enough to fit the bed. I imagine a room with 2 beds had to be bigger. In fact, the room was so small that the dresser was inside the closet, and the closet door barely opened because the bed was in the way. The bed linens were worn and threadbare in spots, and the furniture was worn as well. Ironically, the bathroom was bigger and recently redone. So some renovations have occurred. Then why not replace the tired green carpet in the room or patch the hole in the ceiling? Or replace the TV, which was circa 1980s and only had one channel in color--I kid you not! I wish the hotel had more working elevators. There are "four" but I only ever saw two working, and often had to wait for 2 or 3 elevators to go by before getting on because they were crowded. Even though I wouldn't want to live in this room forever, I booked it at a great rate and only came back to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carze
Friends
Buffalo
Nov 25, 2012

Good one

Hotel has a great location that is near to grand central empire states and also times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toots 1
Couples
Johnstown, PA
Nov 25, 2012

Jolly Madison

Went there for Thanksgiving Day Parade. Able to walk to Radio City, NBC, the train station and the parade. Nothing spectacular, but a good location and clean place to sleep. Price reasonable for time and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cama
Couples
Edinburgh UK
Feb 17, 2013

New York

Excellent location, everything at hand. Felt safe at all times, but did in the whole of the city. Plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee near by, nothing in the hotel, not even a kettle in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask for armed forces discount

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, D.C.
Apr 5, 2010

Good location, good price

Good tourist location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuppe
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 6, 2009

Good Service, reasonable NY rates,

I checked in late, the staff indicated that the room reserved for me was the worst in the hotel so they were upgrading me to a "Queen" room. The room decor was modern and a little small even by NYC standards, it would not be comfortable for a couple. The room looked like it needed some freshing, baseboards were scared and in need of paint, walls also could have benefited from some paint and veneer on the furniture showed many chips and wear. Bath look recently redone, it should be noted that the glass splash wall used is better suited to a pan head shower, the traditional wall mount shower head soaked the floor making it very slick. I think the star rating on the web site was slightly high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top