$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • Nov 6, 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fedg
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2014

tired

hotel looks in need of refurbishment. Annoying that internet not included in room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammi lynn
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Decent

I was very disappointed that the Restaurant was closed. I planned my evening with going to dinner at the hotel, and with the location there isn't other restaurants around. I heard people all night, through the super thin walls and small rooms. For as much as you pay per night the rooms & features are very it dated. But service was decent. Wouldn't stay again. Pictures online are NOT what you get in actuality!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 13, 2008

Hotel Staff with an attitude problem

The hotel is very nice and quite comfortable but the staff have lots to learn about customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were some great little restaurants along Lexington Avenue, we ate at one called Fagiolin. Great Italian food..very simple wine list and for not a lot of money.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmhy
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

vacation to NY

The staff at the front desk were very rude - clearly didn't appreciate the business. We requested a king bed and they put us in a room with Twin beds - not ideal for a couple on vacation. And then they said they can get me a different room with a king bed for an additional $50 more per night. I had my travel agent call them and we finally got moved. They were FAR FROM customer service oriented - it was like we imposed on the staff when checking in. The gentleman at the front door was very helpful and gave us directions and smiled and made us feel welcome. And the gentleman at the bar was excellent. Funny thing, when we checked out, another couple was checking in their luggage becasue they too had to change rooms - not sure why they don't put guests in the ideal room in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Singapore
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic Location

The location is fantastic. It's located close to Empire State Building, Times Square, and the Grand Central. The amenities are a little lacking though; just the basic bathroom, bed, table, and chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mikey R211
trenton new jersey
Mar 11, 2013

It was ok, the pictures were misleading.

Room was very small for my taste. Could be more comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
modtorney
Boston, MA
May 16, 2011

Sub-par

We were in town to celebrate a birthday with family and couples, and were excited about the location of this hotel. That is about the only good thing we can say about it. Staff was friendly enough, but not very responsive. Things took a long time to do. But generally, even the service was okay. The primary turn off was the dated interior and dated rooms. The bathroom was clean and somewhat updated, and the size of the rooms did not bother us. The carpet, bedding, and inconsistent temperature will not draw us back to this hotel again ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Karaoke. We don't even do this - but in NYC, it seems to be a "thing". We had a blast!

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blau
Illinois
Feb 24, 2014

you get what you pay for

It was pretty cheap offer so we didn't expect much. We didn't get much. Small rooms, very clean and altogther okay. Not more and not less. Note that there's no free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuppe
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 6, 2009

Good Service, reasonable NY rates,

I checked in late, the staff indicated that the room reserved for me was the worst in the hotel so they were upgrading me to a "Queen" room. The room decor was modern and a little small even by NYC standards, it would not be comfortable for a couple. The room looked like it needed some freshing, baseboards were scared and in need of paint, walls also could have benefited from some paint and veneer on the furniture showed many chips and wear. Bath look recently redone, it should be noted that the glass splash wall used is better suited to a pan head shower, the traditional wall mount shower head soaked the floor making it very slick. I think the star rating on the web site was slightly high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barry Bum
Boise ID
Jun 26, 2014

Nice Madison Tower

The Hotel was in a good location. No wi-fi unless you paid. Really not a good idea in this age. Coffee in the room would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try the hop on hop off bus. We saw a lot more of the city that way.

Back to menu Return to top