$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rosiedog
Friends
new york
Apr 3, 2013

not happy

we booked a double room with 2 beds . received only one bed and had to change rooms. were promised a king bed but received a small queen. eventually got a rollaway bed in a junior suite. Too much trouble. The rest of our party had to change rooms because of uncontrolled heat in the rooms. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the touring bus is close to hotel

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Milou28
Business
Montreal, Canada
May 6, 2013

Jolly Madison Tower Hotel

Unwelcoming front desk staff (not even a hello) Smallest standard room I have ever stayed in considering the $300 price tag. Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. The room has not been renovated or thoroughly cleaned in a decade. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, dirty bathtub and an old soap. TV was old with bad reception, looked like a museum piece. No free Wi-Fi although it was advertized as being free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Photo Mariah
Family
Hudson
Sep 1, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel needs a make over!!! The pictures of the rooms are very misleading, actually they are very old, the carpets are dirty, and several rooms smelled like cigarette smoke with a spray of deodorant over it! The lobby is just a room with a desk and two small couches. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammi lynn
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Decent

I was very disappointed that the Restaurant was closed. I planned my evening with going to dinner at the hotel, and with the location there isn't other restaurants around. I heard people all night, through the super thin walls and small rooms. For as much as you pay per night the rooms & features are very it dated. But service was decent. Wouldn't stay again. Pictures online are NOT what you get in actuality!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmhy
Couples
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

vacation to NY

The staff at the front desk were very rude - clearly didn't appreciate the business. We requested a king bed and they put us in a room with Twin beds - not ideal for a couple on vacation. And then they said they can get me a different room with a king bed for an additional $50 more per night. I had my travel agent call them and we finally got moved. They were FAR FROM customer service oriented - it was like we imposed on the staff when checking in. The gentleman at the front door was very helpful and gave us directions and smiled and made us feel welcome. And the gentleman at the bar was excellent. Funny thing, when we checked out, another couple was checking in their luggage becasue they too had to change rooms - not sure why they don't put guests in the ideal room in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mesa, AZ
Sep 12, 2009

Not So Great

The location was good. It was real close to Grand Central Terminal. The staff was friendly, but the hotel was less than impressive. The age of the building showed. There were no curtains on our windows, just sheers. We were watching TV and there was a knock on the door and in less time it took to get to the door (4 ft away) the maintenance guy had already inserted the key and opened the door to come in. We weren't told the shower did not drain, so when we took a shower we were left standing in a good two inches of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Terminal is a very short walk. It is the main hub to connect to anywhere in the city you want to go.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
modtorney
Couples
Boston, MA
May 16, 2011

Sub-par

We were in town to celebrate a birthday with family and couples, and were excited about the location of this hotel. That is about the only good thing we can say about it. Staff was friendly enough, but not very responsive. Things took a long time to do. But generally, even the service was okay. The primary turn off was the dated interior and dated rooms. The bathroom was clean and somewhat updated, and the size of the rooms did not bother us. The carpet, bedding, and inconsistent temperature will not draw us back to this hotel again ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Karaoke. We don't even do this - but in NYC, it seems to be a "thing". We had a blast!

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Philadelphia
Jan 1, 2009

Reststop version of an Hotel

When I checked in, some dude with a name tag Mostafa kept whispering 750, 750, 750 to the other person who was actually checking me in. Right away I knew I was getting the special room. Of course I got the 750 room. As soon as I got off the elevator, room 750 is right next to the elevator. Literary as soon as you get off the elevator, the room was on the left. All the time I was in the room including night time when I was sleeping I heard people going in and out. BIG TURN OFF. Room: VERY SMALL. I have never seen a hotel room that small. Beds: VERY SMALL BEDS. It had two small beds. Extras: I asked for late checkout but no way you can get anything from them. Costumer Service: They talk to you as if they are paying you to stay in this hotel. To sum up, this hotel was as if you go to a rest stop along some major highway and you think you are getting something descent but everything you get is junk. That is the feeling I got from this hotel. But then that is how rest stops work too - they don't have to worry about back log and have customers come back. They did not deserve my money - I will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 13, 2008

Hotel Staff with an attitude problem

The hotel is very nice and quite comfortable but the staff have lots to learn about customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were some great little restaurants along Lexington Avenue, we ate at one called Fagiolin. Great Italian food..very simple wine list and for not a lot of money.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockie Spider
Family
Modesto,Ca
Jun 26, 2014

WHAT NO WIFI?

Stay was not the best, why? No coffee, no WIFI, haven't stayed at a hotel in years without coffee or WiFi We visited 9/11 Memorial and it was wonderful. Location of this hotel was the great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying close to 42nd is the best way to get around.

Back to menu Return to top