$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • Nov 6, 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms have been recently renovated, offering a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as: body lotions, bath salts, shaving set, toothpaste and toothbrush.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Dining

The Cinquelerre Restaurant
Wonderful authentic Italian Restaurant with traditional dishes, that recreates the cozy atmosphere of the fishing villages on the Italian Riviera. The walls frescoes reproduce the image of an enchanting view from the reefs overlooking the blue Mediterranean Sea. A feast for your eyes and for your senses once you start savoring the incredible fish and meat dishes with the colorful pastas and the Italian desserts that will make you feel "out of this world" but deep inside the heart of Italy. The Cinquelerre Restaurant has been awarded with two stars by the New York Times restaurant review.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
66 out of 66
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Country Girl in the City
Berlin, CT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
Austin01
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 11, 2013

Fatigued

For the amount charged, the room is uncomfortable and old. AC, lighting, carpeting, bed comfort and amenities, the Jolly needs a makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
texas
Dec 31, 2009

Dont let the picture fool you.

Had to switch rooms 3 times before we asked for our money back and switched hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
my town, tx
Apr 17, 2010

would not recommend

doormen helpful and two staff at desk when checked in in afternoon were courteous - rest of concerige staff unfriendly; rooms very run down so much that one of our party checked out; very unfriendly people on phone when trying to get a reservation; breakfast way overpriced $10 for a bowl of oatmeal - seriously?; would not recommend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Feb 17, 2008

Awful Hotel Experience

We have traveled for years and this was, by far, the worst hotel stay we have ever experienced. The whole stay was riddled with stressful situations; awful room locations; awful sleeping accommodations; too much noise to sleep (in the room); pushier than usual bell hops; the whole stay was just awful! I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone, ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
DAH sinky
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 2, 2012

One Night in NYC

Hotel great location and good car parking rate on $37.00 per night. Everything else about this place was less than great. Super small room even by NYC standards, poor service from front desk guys who could not be understood, and a TV that was as big as a postage stamp. One night fine but never more than that. Great diner across street call Moonstruck, excellent breakfast and just about anything else you wanted to eat. Overall very sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck Diner was excellent.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Jan 1, 2009

Reststop version of an Hotel

When I checked in, some dude with a name tag Mostafa kept whispering 750, 750, 750 to the other person who was actually checking me in. Right away I knew I was getting the special room. Of course I got the 750 room. As soon as I got off the elevator, room 750 is right next to the elevator. Literary as soon as you get off the elevator, the room was on the left. All the time I was in the room including night time when I was sleeping I heard people going in and out. BIG TURN OFF. Room: VERY SMALL. I have never seen a hotel room that small. Beds: VERY SMALL BEDS. It had two small beds. Extras: I asked for late checkout but no way you can get anything from them. Costumer Service: They talk to you as if they are paying you to stay in this hotel. To sum up, this hotel was as if you go to a rest stop along some major highway and you think you are getting something descent but everything you get is junk. That is the feeling I got from this hotel. But then that is how rest stops work too - they don't have to worry about back log and have customers come back. They did not deserve my money - I will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 13, 2008

Hotel Staff with an attitude problem

The hotel is very nice and quite comfortable but the staff have lots to learn about customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were some great little restaurants along Lexington Avenue, we ate at one called Fagiolin. Great Italian food..very simple wine list and for not a lot of money.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
fedg
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2014

tired

hotel looks in need of refurbishment. Annoying that internet not included in room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
Sammi lynn
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Decent

I was very disappointed that the Restaurant was closed. I planned my evening with going to dinner at the hotel, and with the location there isn't other restaurants around. I heard people all night, through the super thin walls and small rooms. For as much as you pay per night the rooms & features are very it dated. But service was decent. Wouldn't stay again. Pictures online are NOT what you get in actuality!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Sep 12, 2009

Not So Great

The location was good. It was real close to Grand Central Terminal. The staff was friendly, but the hotel was less than impressive. The age of the building showed. There were no curtains on our windows, just sheers. We were watching TV and there was a knock on the door and in less time it took to get to the door (4 ft away) the maintenance guy had already inserted the key and opened the door to come in. We weren't told the shower did not drain, so when we took a shower we were left standing in a good two inches of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Terminal is a very short walk. It is the main hub to connect to anywhere in the city you want to go.

Back to menu Return to top