$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Amazing location and great staff

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was close to where we wanted to be during our stay as... See full review

  • Bellini90
  • Apr 23, 2015
Great, family-friendly hotel

Very clean and nice hotel. Close to everywhere we want to be. The only downside: no wifi in the... See full review

  • Bellini90
  • Apr 6, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 121
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather Money Saver
Business
Pottstown, PA
Jul 9, 2010

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Stay

The hotel was beautiful and the people there were great. The people that worked there were very nice and attentive to your needs. And the vale parking was a great touch and good price too. I couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks away from grand central station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dixiedog
Business
Ontario
Sep 15, 2014

Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room. Noticing I was traveling with my adult daughter, they asked if we wanted two beds. We set off touring the city and returned to the hotel around 3. Room was on 11th floor, away from elevator. Two beds, clean, and recently redone bath. Stocked refrigerator was nice addition. TV was a little outdated, but we didn't come to NYC to watch tv. Upon check out, the staff couldn't have been better! they locked our luggage, and allowed us access to it during the day. They hailed us a cab to return to airport, and we're extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of tkts.....I got best seats for phantom for 73.00 Time saver - use the subway system it's fantastic Shopping.....Burlington Coat factory Free, and amazing......central park! Interesting dining....Jekell and Hydes on 44th NYC needs more restaurants that offer BOTH vegan and non vegan AN ABSOLUTE MUST......911 memorial .....it's heart wrenching...I cannot imagine the fear that day..... Lastly shoes.....go to famous footwear behind Macy's They always have BOGO half off at very good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fanny g.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

me and mom NYC trip

small room, but very clean and conveniently located, walking distance from times square. Great value for the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellini90
Business
Tekirdag
Apr 6, 2015

Great, family-friendly hotel

Very clean and nice hotel. Close to everywhere we want to be. The only downside: no wifi in the rooms unles you sign up for a rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellini90
Business
Tekirdag
Apr 23, 2015

Amazing location and great staff

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was close to where we wanted to be during our stay as well as to the makn attractions. Staff was very nice and helpful. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April Mom
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 28, 2014

Family Getaway

We stayed at the hotel and had booked a deluxe room and was very pleased with the cleanliness but some lights were not working and the room was dark as they had placed us in the back, maybe bc we had a pet but still would have preferred a little bit of a view and light. The mattress was a little uncomfortable to sleep on and the front desk staff esp. the African American lady was not being very accommodating and just kept saying we are sold out. I felt she could have been a little courteous about it, but overall it was a great experience otherwise the rest of the staff more than made up for her attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaiya Thai on 28th which was really great food if you like Spicy and Jacks wife Frieda brunch in SOHO the next morning was awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Mc
Business
Lakewood, Ohio
Nov 25, 2012

We would gladly stay here again

We stayed here for the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade and would be happy to stay again. We were within walking distance to almost everything and were 2 blocks from the parade route. Room was clean but small. I had requested an extra bed but it wouldn't have fit in the room. Nice place and friendly staff. Valet parking was $36/day but that is cheaper than using any of the garages in the area. I had forgotten some things of value in the car when we arrived and it was all there when we got our car back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save a ton on breakfast and pick up some yogurt and fruit at the Duane Read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 4, 2009

Jolly Madison for a night

Very nice for my one night. Great location & easy to find, helpful staff, very clean hotel, comfortable bed (but only one pillow on each), nice bathroom with some nice extras (like extra towels). Flight attendants seem to stay here. One drawback was no temperature control in the room. At least I was able to open windows to get some cooler air. Also, TV was dismal - few choices, and the volume needed work. But overall a great hotel for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBIN D.
Business
Ocala
Jan 5, 2015

Sisters Get Away

The hotel fit our needs just fine. The location was perfect for all the site seeing activities we were looking forward too. We could either walk or take public transportation that was very close by. The hotel registration attendant was very helpful in her recommendations. We wanted a mid-range cost hotel that was conveniently located in a safe area and this hotel fit our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TONG Z.
Business
Nagoya
Feb 25, 2015

good

Hotel are better than I saw on the website. Good experience of living in Jolly Hotel Madison Tower. Good location and easy to transport. you can walking to 5th Ave, it is not too far.If you want to stay in Manhattan midtown, this hotel will be the best place for low budget. Personally, I'm very satisfied location and price. Strongly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top