$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yvon
Business
providence RI
Nov 28, 2011

good location

This hotel has good location. It's just close to 5th avenue and the Empire state building. And it is easy to take bus but needs to walk several streets to get subway station. The only advice is that the TV in the room is too old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monarico4
Business
Jersey
Jan 13, 2012

clean and convenient

great location-room is nothing fancy but clean and totally refurbished bathrooms-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chgo919
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Would stay here again any time

We stayed in a newly renovated room that was just lovely. CLEAN and maid service was good. Excellent location! Walking distance to Grand Central Station will then get you anywhere you want to go in NYC. Staff was very professional. We had a problem wtih the volume on the TV and told the front desk. Someone arrived in FIVE minutes and fixed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about the car service they provide. If there are two or more people, it's cheaper to get them to provide a Town Car to/from LaGuardia than it is to take the economy GO! shuttle service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orbiter123
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 27, 2012

Romantic New York City escape

Overall, I booked this hotel after reading several reviews. I was especially concerned about bed bugs that were reported in reviews of a less expensive hotel and had to cancel it. I did not find any reviews that indicated this hotel had any and therefore booked it even with the extra price difference. We traveled during a bad snowstorm weekend and the location of this hotel was ideal to the subway station and bus terminal. The staff was excellent! We arrived at noon and were expecting to just have our bags checked but he gave us a room, a king size bedroom! The room and decor left much to be desired, but everything was clean! There were minor wear and tear, but nothing that affected our stay. The furniture was a bit outdated and decoration was sparse and bland for my taste. The bathroom was superbly clean and view was nice! Although we didn't spend much time gazing out the view, rather enjoying the city. They held our bags after our stay and were very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miyeon
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful but...

Loved the staff, loved the room for the most part but I just didn't find the room big enough. The bed in the standard room truly did take up most of the room space but I found the atmosphere quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FL to NY
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Aug 6, 2012

Great hotel for the price and location!

This hotel was in a great location from everything we wanted to do. Very close to Grand Central Station to catch any train or subway to get around town. The staff was very helpful and made you feel welcomed! Yes the room is small, but they tell you that on their website, and yes it could use a little updating, but those are not a big deal to my Husband and I. We weren't living in the hotel and didn't need a lot of space. We had a big king bed, room to walk around and a bathroom. And the room and bathroom were clean!!!! What else can you ask for in NYC? The beds and pillows yes I'll admit could use a bit more cushion, but we still slept good anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Mc
Business
Lakewood, Ohio
Nov 25, 2012

We would gladly stay here again

We stayed here for the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade and would be happy to stay again. We were within walking distance to almost everything and were 2 blocks from the parade route. Room was clean but small. I had requested an extra bed but it wouldn't have fit in the room. Nice place and friendly staff. Valet parking was $36/day but that is cheaper than using any of the garages in the area. I had forgotten some things of value in the car when we arrived and it was all there when we got our car back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save a ton on breakfast and pick up some yogurt and fruit at the Duane Read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikidel
Business
Moscow, Russia
Jan 24, 2013

Very good hotel in perfect location!

The location is perfect! Rooms are big enougth, very comfortable and clean. Hotel ia very nice for stay and relax after long and busy day in NYCity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenabell
Business
Co Durham United Kingdom
Feb 2, 2013

Fantastic 50th Birthday

Where to start, the holiday was nearly a disaster as we were delayed at the airport and the luggage was lost. We eventually arrived at the hotel 8 hours later than arrival time. The reception staff were ok but when we asked for a room with a view of the empire state building, they were a bit abrupt saying they had no rooms left on that side of the building. Never mind we eventually got to our room and were really pleased with the size and cleanliness of it. There were 2 double beds in and a fridge for the pop and wine! The shower was fantastic with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner wasnt working but this was repaired straight away and the room was lovely and warm afterwards. The beds were made every day and the toilet rolls and towels replaced also which was great. The bar had 2 hours with half price drinks every evening and the staff were friendly and made the cocktails we asked for with no problem. We didnt eat at the hotel but there was a menu available for breakfast The location of this hotel is excellent as its really handy for some of the main attractions, the Empire state building, Time square, theatres, Grand central terminal and central park to name a few are all in walking distance (if you like walking) I would definately recommend this hotel and will use it again when we return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Phantom of the Opera at the Theatre is a must see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claire747
Business
Uk
Mar 5, 2013

Great location

This hotel is in a great location room was clean warm comfortable, recommend the Moonstruck diner and the 99 c store close by. Hotel fixed us up with last minute limo to airport when our booked shuttle let us down. Look forward to returning to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

99c store close by for drinks and snacks much cheaper than the shop next to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top