$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
94 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • Nov 6, 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 94
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian G
Argentina
Jul 3, 2014

Nice NH Hotel near Times Square

I booked a double superior room through Orbtz for USD 180 so my review considers this price as value for money (room price at hotel was USD 350). Jolly Hotel Madison Tower is an NH hotel so if you have stayed in any of them, expect no less from Madison Tower. Location is pretty good, its near Times Square, Grand Central, Empire State among other things. Rooms are spacious and clean, fully equipped except for the 20' CRT TV. You can get continental breakfast in room for 20 USD. The only flaw is no free wifi, nor room or lobby. Internet is charged something like USD 3 for 30min and USD 10 for 24h clock. You pay 3 bucks, you get 30 min clock no matter if you where connected 1 min or the whole time. You cannot use more than one device per connection. It's cheaper and easier to walk two blocks and get a SB coffee and free wifi. (Techys advice: wifi is url proxy filtered, you can bypass it through IP address naming or so).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Empire State, Grand Central & Macys.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barry Bum
Boise ID
Jun 26, 2014

Nice Madison Tower

The Hotel was in a good location. No wi-fi unless you paid. Really not a good idea in this age. Coffee in the room would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try the hop on hop off bus. We saw a lot more of the city that way.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Couple
Edgewood Maryland
Feb 25, 2014

Good Value

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower, This hotel is good for the price, the location is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blau
Illinois
Feb 24, 2014

you get what you pay for

It was pretty cheap offer so we didn't expect much. We didn't get much. Small rooms, very clean and altogther okay. Not more and not less. Note that there's no free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Peter
St. Paul
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we didn't have much time to watch TV anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morgan Library and Museum is a 5 minute walk away. The library is amazing and we enjoyed the DaVinci and Edgar Allen Poe exhibits.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mikey R211
trenton new jersey
Mar 11, 2013

It was ok, the pictures were misleading.

Room was very small for my taste. Could be more comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claire747
Uk
Mar 5, 2013

Great location

This hotel is in a great location room was clean warm comfortable, recommend the Moonstruck diner and the 99 c store close by. Hotel fixed us up with last minute limo to airport when our booked shuttle let us down. Look forward to returning to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

99c store close by for drinks and snacks much cheaper than the shop next to hotel

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Married Two
Seattle, WA
Feb 20, 2013

okay room, good location

The overall service was good. The location was great, close to everything. The sheets were washed in something too strong, they caused both my husband and I to dry out before the morning. The bistro associated with the hotel wouldn't let us take coffee into our room in the morning (?). Otherwise the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Overall a good experience for the great package price we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fagiolini Italian Resaurant. Absolutely delicious, short walk from hotel, and very well priced.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cama
Edinburgh UK
Feb 17, 2013

New York

Excellent location, everything at hand. Felt safe at all times, but did in the whole of the city. Plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee near by, nothing in the hotel, not even a kettle in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask for armed forces discount

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenabell
Co Durham United Kingdom
Feb 2, 2013

Fantastic 50th Birthday

Where to start, the holiday was nearly a disaster as we were delayed at the airport and the luggage was lost. We eventually arrived at the hotel 8 hours later than arrival time. The reception staff were ok but when we asked for a room with a view of the empire state building, they were a bit abrupt saying they had no rooms left on that side of the building. Never mind we eventually got to our room and were really pleased with the size and cleanliness of it. There were 2 double beds in and a fridge for the pop and wine! The shower was fantastic with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner wasnt working but this was repaired straight away and the room was lovely and warm afterwards. The beds were made every day and the toilet rolls and towels replaced also which was great. The bar had 2 hours with half price drinks every evening and the staff were friendly and made the cocktails we asked for with no problem. We didnt eat at the hotel but there was a menu available for breakfast The location of this hotel is excellent as its really handy for some of the main attractions, the Empire state building, Time square, theatres, Grand central terminal and central park to name a few are all in walking distance (if you like walking) I would definately recommend this hotel and will use it again when we return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Phantom of the Opera at the Theatre is a must see

Back to menu Return to top