$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
83 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Peter
Business
St. Paul
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we didn't have much time to watch TV anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morgan Library and Museum is a 5 minute walk away. The library is amazing and we enjoyed the DaVinci and Edgar Allen Poe exhibits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 22, 2007

Pleasing surprise

Our room, while small, was very comfortable and accomodated two people nicely. At first I was concerned because our room was located next to the elevator but we never heard a sound during our two night stay. Very quiet, clean and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to subway, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

great location

the jolly hotel was a great place to stay. wonderful location and accessable to everything. grand central station was only a block away and we could easily walk to times square. the room was comfortable, with the only drawback a very small bathroom. was very clean and we would definitely go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

no matter which way you went when you left the hotel you could find restaurants and shopping within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Country Girl in the City
Business
Berlin, CT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tricks
Business
sligo, Ireland
Nov 6, 2013

HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel central to Times Square, loads of restaurants and tourist attractions near by. Staff very helpful with regards to Broadway Shows and great directions to shopping centres as well as Shopping Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping Outlets are about an hour away, would be worthwhile going as designer clothes are much cheaper and more of a selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Dec 9, 2007

Good Midtown Location

The Jolly Madison was the only NY Midtown Hotel that I found that didn't jack there rate to the moon during the Christmas season. It was a very good value. The room was comfortable and met my needs. I enjoyed my stay and will certainly consider staying there again on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Midtown shopping and a short walk to fabulous restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather Money Saver
Business
Pottstown, PA
Jul 9, 2010

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Stay

The hotel was beautiful and the people there were great. The people that worked there were very nice and attentive to your needs. And the vale parking was a great touch and good price too. I couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks away from grand central station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dixiedog
Business
Ontario
Sep 15, 2014

Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room. Noticing I was traveling with my adult daughter, they asked if we wanted two beds. We set off touring the city and returned to the hotel around 3. Room was on 11th floor, away from elevator. Two beds, clean, and recently redone bath. Stocked refrigerator was nice addition. TV was a little outdated, but we didn't come to NYC to watch tv. Upon check out, the staff couldn't have been better! they locked our luggage, and allowed us access to it during the day. They hailed us a cab to return to airport, and we're extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of tkts.....I got best seats for phantom for 73.00 Time saver - use the subway system it's fantastic Shopping.....Burlington Coat factory Free, and amazing......central park! Interesting dining....Jekell and Hydes on 44th NYC needs more restaurants that offer BOTH vegan and non vegan AN ABSOLUTE MUST......911 memorial .....it's heart wrenching...I cannot imagine the fear that day..... Lastly shoes.....go to famous footwear behind Macy's They always have BOGO half off at very good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in city for the day
Business
Woodstock, NY
Jan 16, 2014

good value

I just stayed one night and the room and bathroom were clean and pleasant. My only complaints are: you have to pay for wi fi (about $10 per computer for 24 hours), there was no access to coffee in the hotel before 6:45 am, and you can't open the window to cool the room down, but have to turn the a/c on (a typical NYC winter heating issue, but better too hot than too cold, I guess!!). But these complaints are minor for the price ($109 for a single before taxes). In a nice part of midtown, with a great diner/coffee shop across the street (Moonstruck) that is open 6am to 1 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Couple
Business
Edgewood Maryland
Feb 25, 2014

Good Value

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower, This hotel is good for the price, the location is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top