$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
autumnmama
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Internet not free

I would have a much better feeling about the amenities provided if internet was free for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cookie1918
Business
finger lakes ny
Sep 9, 2014

nyc getaway

it was adequate, nothing over the top. i would have like breakfast included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to grand central terminal

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GolfingGal2014
Business
Vermont
Nov 17, 2014

Great value

Well located , clean with freindly staff. Updated bath and comfy bed. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs and Heifers in Meatpacking district is a hoot!

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer Y.
Business
chicago
Dec 30, 2014

Comme ci, comme ca

the pros- location- it was a three block walk from Grand Central, about a mile to Rockefeller Plaza, and by looking at a map, we could have easily walked to at least a dozen other major tourist attractions the staff-we arrived about noon, and they were kind enough to let us check in then, instead of just stowing our bags. Everyone we encountered was polite without being obsequious. room size-we were fully expecting to be able to touch all the walls while laying in bed. While not a suite, it was definitely roomier than we expected. the cons- the bed-Dear God. Remember how Your First Mattress was basically a collection of springs covered with a mattress cover? We attempted to layer the extra blanket for a little more padding, but lets just say it wasn't the best nights sleep ever. the bathroom-the way the wall protruded in front of the toilet let to some amusing contortions from the male member of the party... tl,dr-it's a fantastic value for the money, the location can't be beat, employees were great and looked out for their guests, bed was not fabulous. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drunken Shakespeare!.. Waaay off Broadway, do not believe the people at the tkts booth who say it does not exist. Will laugh til you cry.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Fair Value for your Money

The Jolly Hotel had helpful staff that made the stay a lot more informative and enjoyable. The location may be the best aspect of this hotel as you are near all the major tourist spots of New York City. If you are looking for a great NYC view from your hotel window, this is probably not the hotel for you but if you're looking for decent value for your money especially during the holiday season, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happylion
Business
Silver Spring
Jan 12, 2015

Okay for the money

I originally planned to stay in midtown where the room is a large closet and the bathroom is down the hall. So to find a place with a private (tiny) bathroom and a king size bed for less money was really nice. And it wasn't that far from my meetings. I did like the deep bathtub (needed a hot bath for my legs after walking several miles), though I couldn't get the stopper to work. The vent in the room was off but it was too warm for me I had to leave the window open in sub-freezing temperatures. The bed was almost as hard as concrete. I slept on top of folded blankets to make it bearable. I only tried watching tv briefly and could not get any programs. The only button that seemed to work on the remote was the power button. However, I spent almost all my waking time elsewhere so these were only minor annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're around Port Authority terminal (such as taking an inter-city bus), the Two Brothers pizzeria across the street at 40th Street and 9th Avenue has good NY pizza for $1 a slice! Sodas are 75 cents. Not much variety but very tasty.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin M.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

4 day couple retreat

Didn't spend much time in the room. Old tube type TV worked and didn't. Hotel restaurant to pricey to try. $27.00 for breakfast per head. Great restaurant (Moonstruck) 1/3 the price across the street. Hotel was clean and employees nice. TV was fixed a couple of times promptly. Comfy bed and temperature was comfy in January. Priced right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler
Business
Wadmalaw Is.
Apr 6, 2015

Vacation

The hotel is in a fantastic location and walking distance to nearly everything we went to see, however completely different than from where I am from. EVERYTHING cost $$$ no free breakfast, no free bus pick up or carry to airport, no free internet, no pool. Our room was standard so very small and though the bathroom was nice it too was also small and water would leak out because the glass did not cover enough. The tv is an old RCA tube tv. The hotel could use an update. Everyone was really nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juan at NYC
Business
Fort myers, Florida
Jul 24, 2014

Great family getaway

I was very happy with the location and the price as well. Rooms were a little small but everything else made up for that. Staff was great and always came back to a clean room. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcela L.
Business
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

Great trip!

Loved the location of this hotel. They just to update the TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top