$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Married Two
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 20, 2013

okay room, good location

The overall service was good. The location was great, close to everything. The sheets were washed in something too strong, they caused both my husband and I to dry out before the morning. The bistro associated with the hotel wouldn't let us take coffee into our room in the morning (?). Otherwise the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Overall a good experience for the great package price we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fagiolini Italian Resaurant. Absolutely delicious, short walk from hotel, and very well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 5, 2010

Good location, good price

Good tourist location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuppe
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 6, 2009

Good Service, reasonable NY rates,

I checked in late, the staff indicated that the room reserved for me was the worst in the hotel so they were upgrading me to a "Queen" room. The room decor was modern and a little small even by NYC standards, it would not be comfortable for a couple. The room looked like it needed some freshing, baseboards were scared and in need of paint, walls also could have benefited from some paint and veneer on the furniture showed many chips and wear. Bath look recently redone, it should be noted that the glass splash wall used is better suited to a pan head shower, the traditional wall mount shower head soaked the floor making it very slick. I think the star rating on the web site was slightly high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Girl 1
Business
Minneapolis
May 16, 2011

Good location, needs a makeover

I was in NY for only one night to attend an event. Pros: This hotel was relatively inexpensive (I paid about $230) and had a good location at Madison and 38th. Plenty of restaurants, close to shopping and tourist places like the Empire State Bldg. The place is a bit run down. Walls in the lobby need a fresh coat of paint and upholstery on furniture was ripped and dirty. Furniture in my room was quite old and worn, as was the carpet, bedspread, and worst of all, the noisey old air conditioner. On the up side, the linens were clean and nice, and the bathroom had been recently remodeled with nice marble tile, etc. Front desk staff were friendly and attentive. However, I think there are probably nicer hotels around for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Rooms were very small

The room was just large enough for the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 6, 2009

"Great Location"

Staff was very friendly and helpful, our room was clean, free WIFI would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meer
Business
massachusetts
Jan 3, 2010

great location!

great location, average rooms, non-smoking room still smelled smokey, very noisy all night bathroom not that clean. good deal for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
andor
Business
Seattle
Oct 3, 2011

Not bad

Close to the good stuff, sparse room, no ice or coffee maker, but hey, good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barry Bum
Business
Boise ID
Jun 26, 2014

Nice Madison Tower

The Hotel was in a good location. No wi-fi unless you paid. Really not a good idea in this age. Coffee in the room would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try the hop on hop off bus. We saw a lot more of the city that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
autumnmama
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Internet not free

I would have a much better feeling about the amenities provided if internet was free for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top