$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Country Girl in the City
Berlin, CT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MarkP6
Business
NJ
Dec 11, 2011

Average, clean but outdated

Great location, clean quiet rooms but really needs a face lift. Would recommend this only if trying to save money and everything else in the area is much more expensive...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greingo
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 20, 2011

Good price, excellent location!

Took a while for the concierge to get to me since there was only one at the time and he was handling somebody else. Room was small but we only stayed one night and it was just me and my significant other. Cleanliness was excellent and the location...couldn't get any better. TV could use a little updating if you just wanna relax because it's not flat screen and that TV was going. Definitively would like to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck right across the street is an excellent little breakfast place to have your Belgium waffles, the hotel wanted to charge us $22 per person for a buffet, no thanks

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time NYC Hotel User
Business
Colorado
Jan 16, 2012

Old but OK

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was good, but the carpet and curtains were pretty "tired". We were on the 12th floor and had lots of street noise (sirens, horns, trucks) but I guess that's just NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $22 per person. We got bananas, coffee, and muffins from a bodega around the corner on Madison Ave.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple 30's
Business
dublin
Feb 13, 2012

very central...

we enjoyed our stay at the jolly madison towers ..the only downfall was rooms very small and no tea/coffee making facilites...roy the porter was very helpful...would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

bring a suitcase going shopping ...

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Never had one
Business
Delray Beach, Florida
Jul 24, 2012

Visit to our son

The hotel was ideally located for us in reference to where our son lives. We did some sightseeing with him and ate in some terrific restaurants. The bathroom needed a little upgrading - there were peeled spots on one wall. The people who worked there were extremely nice to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivy quant
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2012

Excellently priced for NYC

Great location. Satisfactory amenities and for newyork great !!! Pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RafaelQ
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Aug 3, 2012

Location

Is perfect for a short visit to NY. Rooms are very small but everything clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leahwrites
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2012

One of the smallest rooms I've ever had in a hotel

When I checked in at the Jolly Madison Towers and I was asked if I wanted 1 or 2 beds, I should have said 2, even though I was traveling alone. The room I ended up getting, with one double bed, was barely big enough to fit the bed. I imagine a room with 2 beds had to be bigger. In fact, the room was so small that the dresser was inside the closet, and the closet door barely opened because the bed was in the way. The bed linens were worn and threadbare in spots, and the furniture was worn as well. Ironically, the bathroom was bigger and recently redone. So some renovations have occurred. Then why not replace the tired green carpet in the room or patch the hole in the ceiling? Or replace the TV, which was circa 1980s and only had one channel in color--I kid you not! I wish the hotel had more working elevators. There are "four" but I only ever saw two working, and often had to wait for 2 or 3 elevators to go by before getting on because they were crowded. Even though I wouldn't want to live in this room forever, I booked it at a great rate and only came back to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carze
Business
Buffalo
Nov 25, 2012

Good one

Hotel has a great location that is near to grand central empire states and also times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toots 1
Business
Johnstown, PA
Nov 25, 2012

Jolly Madison

Went there for Thanksgiving Day Parade. Able to walk to Radio City, NBC, the train station and the parade. Nothing spectacular, but a good location and clean place to sleep. Price reasonable for time and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top