$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
105 reviews
4 day trip with a friend

Hotel was better than I expected for the price. Located in the very heart of manhattan so... See full review

  • Bruce
  • Jan 26, 2015
me and mom NYC trip

small room, but very clean and conveniently located, walking distance from times square. Great... See full review

  • fanny g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Mc
Lakewood, Ohio
Nov 25, 2012

We would gladly stay here again

We stayed here for the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade and would be happy to stay again. We were within walking distance to almost everything and were 2 blocks from the parade route. Room was clean but small. I had requested an extra bed but it wouldn't have fit in the room. Nice place and friendly staff. Valet parking was $36/day but that is cheaper than using any of the garages in the area. I had forgotten some things of value in the car when we arrived and it was all there when we got our car back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save a ton on breakfast and pick up some yogurt and fruit at the Duane Read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frewsburg, NY
Jun 9, 2011

Good Place to stay

The Hotel and staff where more than satisfactory. No problems at all. The only things that were of some consiquence was that a coffee pot in the room would have been nice and the air conditioning in the lobby and bar was not really as good as it could have been. The room air conditioning was fine. Rooms are small but typical of NYC Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian G
Business
Argentina
Jul 3, 2014

Nice NH Hotel near Times Square

I booked a double superior room through Orbtz for USD 180 so my review considers this price as value for money (room price at hotel was USD 350). Jolly Hotel Madison Tower is an NH hotel so if you have stayed in any of them, expect no less from Madison Tower. Location is pretty good, its near Times Square, Grand Central, Empire State among other things. Rooms are spacious and clean, fully equipped except for the 20' CRT TV. You can get continental breakfast in room for 20 USD. The only flaw is no free wifi, nor room or lobby. Internet is charged something like USD 3 for 30min and USD 10 for 24h clock. You pay 3 bucks, you get 30 min clock no matter if you where connected 1 min or the whole time. You cannot use more than one device per connection. It's cheaper and easier to walk two blocks and get a SB coffee and free wifi. (Techys advice: wifi is url proxy filtered, you can bypass it through IP address naming or so).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Empire State, Grand Central & Macys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K12345
Business
CT
Jul 7, 2014

Weekend getaway

The hotel is worth it just by its central location. The room is also pretty spacious and clean. Very good deal overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markZZZZ
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 14, 2014

smooth

made last minute reservation. they were easy to check in and nice on the check out. no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenfig Red
Business
Bridgend UK
Oct 13, 2014

An ideal hotel for a short break in New York

Jolly Hotel Madison is ideally located at East 38th Street right next to Madison Avenue. Major attractions such as TImes Square and the Empire State Building are within reasonable walking distance. The amenities at the hotel are ordinary - the bar was closed during our 4 night stay. The reason for this was not obvious. The hotel room was of a reasonable size. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff on the front desk were particularly helpful and made excellent recommendations on local restaurants. There was a 15% discount on our room when we booked it and this meant that the hotel was very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benjamin`s Steak House is a top class restaurant. Its not cheap but the steak is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jpfankuch
Business
Plymouth, WI
Nov 14, 2014

Comfortable stay in convenient location

No real complaints about the room. The bed was comfortable, no noise issues. The location was central to the subway, the train station and not too far from the Javits Center. The staff was friendly and everything worked right. Overall, a good place to stay and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various small grocery stores/delis. Good food, not a lot of money and convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyJ
Business
Edgerton, WI
Nov 20, 2014

Fantastic first trip to New York

We just recently returned from New York and I have to say that I had a fantastic time! We had been warned that we needed to watch for shared bathrooms and that room size would be tiny. However, I was greatly surprised when we got into the hotel. The lobby was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was beyond helpful and very nice. We got up to our room and couldn't believe it. The room was actually pretty good sized for what we were expecting. It also had a closet for extra space. The bathroom was HUGE and absolutely amazing. I wanted to bring it home with me. We didn't do the breakfast there because it was pricey. However there was a little grocery style store right around the corner so we just grabbed stuff from there. There was also numerous restaurants in the area. It was only a couple short block walk to the Empire State Building and not far from Time Square either. Central Park was a bit of a distance away. We took a cab up there and decided to walk back which was actually a great walk. The walk took you right past a ton of shops and restaurants. Not to mention the view and scenery were amazing, especially at night all lite up. We are already talking about when we want to go back again and will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. We couldn't have imagined staying somewhere else for this price and actually being this comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Somerset
Business
Yeovil England
Nov 30, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Over all a great place to stay. Close to 5th Ave, Times Square etc. The room was a bit small but clean. Hotel staff were all smart and helpful. Would recommend to anyone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersarah73
Business
Redmond, WA
Dec 5, 2014

Great for the Price!

The location is perfect and so many things are in walking distance, great for a short trip in New York. And the rooms and building are very unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can go to a site beforehand to get free internet there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haruka
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2014

Good

Good location, nice staff! But I couldn't turn on the heat....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top