$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Country Girl in the City
Berlin, CT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Austin01
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 11, 2013

Fatigued

For the amount charged, the room is uncomfortable and old. AC, lighting, carpeting, bed comfort and amenities, the Jolly needs a makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Photo Mariah
Business
Hudson
Sep 1, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel needs a make over!!! The pictures of the rooms are very misleading, actually they are very old, the carpets are dirty, and several rooms smelled like cigarette smoke with a spray of deodorant over it! The lobby is just a room with a desk and two small couches. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Milou28
Business
Montreal, Canada
May 6, 2013

Jolly Madison Tower Hotel

Unwelcoming front desk staff (not even a hello) Smallest standard room I have ever stayed in considering the $300 price tag. Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. The room has not been renovated or thoroughly cleaned in a decade. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, dirty bathtub and an old soap. TV was old with bad reception, looked like a museum piece. No free Wi-Fi although it was advertized as being free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rosiedog
Business
new york
Apr 3, 2013

not happy

we booked a double room with 2 beds . received only one bed and had to change rooms. were promised a king bed but received a small queen. eventually got a rollaway bed in a junior suite. Too much trouble. The rest of our party had to change rooms because of uncontrolled heat in the rooms. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the touring bus is close to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic Location

The location is fantastic. It's located close to Empire State Building, Times Square, and the Grand Central. The amenities are a little lacking though; just the basic bathroom, bed, table, and chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mikey R211
Business
trenton new jersey
Mar 11, 2013

It was ok, the pictures were misleading.

Room was very small for my taste. Could be more comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claire747
Business
Uk
Mar 5, 2013

Great location

This hotel is in a great location room was clean warm comfortable, recommend the Moonstruck diner and the 99 c store close by. Hotel fixed us up with last minute limo to airport when our booked shuttle let us down. Look forward to returning to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

99c store close by for drinks and snacks much cheaper than the shop next to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Married Two
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 20, 2013

okay room, good location

The overall service was good. The location was great, close to everything. The sheets were washed in something too strong, they caused both my husband and I to dry out before the morning. The bistro associated with the hotel wouldn't let us take coffee into our room in the morning (?). Otherwise the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Overall a good experience for the great package price we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fagiolini Italian Resaurant. Absolutely delicious, short walk from hotel, and very well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cama
Business
Edinburgh UK
Feb 17, 2013

New York

Excellent location, everything at hand. Felt safe at all times, but did in the whole of the city. Plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee near by, nothing in the hotel, not even a kettle in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask for armed forces discount

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenabell
Business
Co Durham United Kingdom
Feb 2, 2013

Fantastic 50th Birthday

Where to start, the holiday was nearly a disaster as we were delayed at the airport and the luggage was lost. We eventually arrived at the hotel 8 hours later than arrival time. The reception staff were ok but when we asked for a room with a view of the empire state building, they were a bit abrupt saying they had no rooms left on that side of the building. Never mind we eventually got to our room and were really pleased with the size and cleanliness of it. There were 2 double beds in and a fridge for the pop and wine! The shower was fantastic with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner wasnt working but this was repaired straight away and the room was lovely and warm afterwards. The beds were made every day and the toilet rolls and towels replaced also which was great. The bar had 2 hours with half price drinks every evening and the staff were friendly and made the cocktails we asked for with no problem. We didnt eat at the hotel but there was a menu available for breakfast The location of this hotel is excellent as its really handy for some of the main attractions, the Empire state building, Time square, theatres, Grand central terminal and central park to name a few are all in walking distance (if you like walking) I would definately recommend this hotel and will use it again when we return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Phantom of the Opera at the Theatre is a must see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top