$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Friends
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Trip spoiler.

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and he/she are sentenced to time in a halfway house. Their room has dingy beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind),a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with an old wool blanket at the end like you would find in a shelter, cheap lamps with dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light on, (yes I did ), and a depressing interior view. The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room). Someone needs a dictionary and a moral compass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Friends
Charleston
Dec 7, 2014

I've never seen a room like this in NY(or anywhere).

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and they are sentenced to time in a halfway house before they are free. Their room has dingy marked on beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind), a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with old wool blankets on the bed like you would find in a shelter , and cheap lamps whith dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light out (yes I did). The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck on the corner has good food.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersarah73
Couples
Redmond, WA
Dec 5, 2014

Great for the Price!

The location is perfect and so many things are in walking distance, great for a short trip in New York. And the rooms and building are very unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can go to a site beforehand to get free internet there

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Somerset
Couples
Yeovil England
Nov 30, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Over all a great place to stay. Close to 5th Ave, Times Square etc. The room was a bit small but clean. Hotel staff were all smart and helpful. Would recommend to anyone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haruka
Friends
Boston
Nov 18, 2014

Good

Good location, nice staff! But I couldn't turn on the heat....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GolfingGal2014
Couples
Vermont
Nov 17, 2014

Great value

Well located , clean with freindly staff. Updated bath and comfy bed. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs and Heifers in Meatpacking district is a hoot!

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adventure trip
Family
norfolk
Nov 15, 2014

disappointing

we were not informed of breakfast options, heating came on when we didn't want it to, shower was not fixed when we reported it not to be working very well & the room had not been cleaned properly as items found under one of the beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jpfankuch
Business
Plymouth, WI
Nov 14, 2014

Comfortable stay in convenient location

No real complaints about the room. The bed was comfortable, no noise issues. The location was central to the subway, the train station and not too far from the Javits Center. The staff was friendly and everything worked right. Overall, a good place to stay and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various small grocery stores/delis. Good food, not a lot of money and convenient.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenfig Red
Couples
Bridgend UK
Oct 13, 2014

An ideal hotel for a short break in New York

Jolly Hotel Madison is ideally located at East 38th Street right next to Madison Avenue. Major attractions such as TImes Square and the Empire State Building are within reasonable walking distance. The amenities at the hotel are ordinary - the bar was closed during our 4 night stay. The reason for this was not obvious. The hotel room was of a reasonable size. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff on the front desk were particularly helpful and made excellent recommendations on local restaurants. There was a 15% discount on our room when we booked it and this meant that the hotel was very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benjamin`s Steak House is a top class restaurant. Its not cheap but the steak is amazing.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dixiedog
Family
Ontario
Sep 15, 2014

Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room. Noticing I was traveling with my adult daughter, they asked if we wanted two beds. We set off touring the city and returned to the hotel around 3. Room was on 11th floor, away from elevator. Two beds, clean, and recently redone bath. Stocked refrigerator was nice addition. TV was a little outdated, but we didn't come to NYC to watch tv. Upon check out, the staff couldn't have been better! they locked our luggage, and allowed us access to it during the day. They hailed us a cab to return to airport, and we're extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of tkts.....I got best seats for phantom for 73.00 Time saver - use the subway system it's fantastic Shopping.....Burlington Coat factory Free, and amazing......central park! Interesting dining....Jekell and Hydes on 44th NYC needs more restaurants that offer BOTH vegan and non vegan AN ABSOLUTE MUST......911 memorial .....it's heart wrenching...I cannot imagine the fear that day..... Lastly shoes.....go to famous footwear behind Macy's They always have BOGO half off at very good prices

Back to menu Return to top