$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
li l.
Business
pittsburgh
Jan 5, 2015

good

good for trip. The front worker is nice for us to resolve the problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good for trip. The front worker is nice for us to resolve the problem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBIN D.
Business
Ocala
Jan 5, 2015

Sisters Get Away

The hotel fit our needs just fine. The location was perfect for all the site seeing activities we were looking forward too. We could either walk or take public transportation that was very close by. The hotel registration attendant was very helpful in her recommendations. We wanted a mid-range cost hotel that was conveniently located in a safe area and this hotel fit our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Fair Value for your Money

The Jolly Hotel had helpful staff that made the stay a lot more informative and enjoyable. The location may be the best aspect of this hotel as you are near all the major tourist spots of New York City. If you are looking for a great NYC view from your hotel window, this is probably not the hotel for you but if you're looking for decent value for your money especially during the holiday season, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer Y.
Business
chicago
Dec 30, 2014

Comme ci, comme ca

the pros- location- it was a three block walk from Grand Central, about a mile to Rockefeller Plaza, and by looking at a map, we could have easily walked to at least a dozen other major tourist attractions the staff-we arrived about noon, and they were kind enough to let us check in then, instead of just stowing our bags. Everyone we encountered was polite without being obsequious. room size-we were fully expecting to be able to touch all the walls while laying in bed. While not a suite, it was definitely roomier than we expected. the cons- the bed-Dear God. Remember how Your First Mattress was basically a collection of springs covered with a mattress cover? We attempted to layer the extra blanket for a little more padding, but lets just say it wasn't the best nights sleep ever. the bathroom-the way the wall protruded in front of the toilet let to some amusing contortions from the male member of the party... tl,dr-it's a fantastic value for the money, the location can't be beat, employees were great and looked out for their guests, bed was not fabulous. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drunken Shakespeare!.. Waaay off Broadway, do not believe the people at the tkts booth who say it does not exist. Will laugh til you cry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Trip spoiler.

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and he/she are sentenced to time in a halfway house. Their room has dingy beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind),a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with an old wool blanket at the end like you would find in a shelter, cheap lamps with dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light on, (yes I did ), and a depressing interior view. The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room). Someone needs a dictionary and a moral compass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I R Bethany
Business
Charleston
Dec 7, 2014

I've never seen a room like this in NY(or anywhere).

Imagine a beautifully appointed room with freshly painted walls, coordinating fresh linens and duvet, expansive windows, a flat panel TV, and an attractive bathroom with special toiletries. Now picture a scene from a movie where the character is released from prison and they are sentenced to time in a halfway house before they are free. Their room has dingy marked on beige wallpaper, very old furniture (not of the antique kind), a box style TV, a closet with no hangers, twin beds with old wool blankets on the bed like you would find in a shelter , and cheap lamps whith dangerous sharp edgeds on which one could cut his/her finger when trying to turn the light out (yes I did). The room at The Madison Jolly Tower Hotel was a perfect match to the above description of the halfway house room. And, the only crime was being charged over $300. a night to stay in the room, (which by the way was described when booking as a "Superior" room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonstruck on the corner has good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersarah73
Business
Redmond, WA
Dec 5, 2014

Great for the Price!

The location is perfect and so many things are in walking distance, great for a short trip in New York. And the rooms and building are very unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can go to a site beforehand to get free internet there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Somerset
Business
Yeovil England
Nov 30, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Over all a great place to stay. Close to 5th Ave, Times Square etc. The room was a bit small but clean. Hotel staff were all smart and helpful. Would recommend to anyone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyJ
Business
Edgerton, WI
Nov 20, 2014

Fantastic first trip to New York

We just recently returned from New York and I have to say that I had a fantastic time! We had been warned that we needed to watch for shared bathrooms and that room size would be tiny. However, I was greatly surprised when we got into the hotel. The lobby was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was beyond helpful and very nice. We got up to our room and couldn't believe it. The room was actually pretty good sized for what we were expecting. It also had a closet for extra space. The bathroom was HUGE and absolutely amazing. I wanted to bring it home with me. We didn't do the breakfast there because it was pricey. However there was a little grocery style store right around the corner so we just grabbed stuff from there. There was also numerous restaurants in the area. It was only a couple short block walk to the Empire State Building and not far from Time Square either. Central Park was a bit of a distance away. We took a cab up there and decided to walk back which was actually a great walk. The walk took you right past a ton of shops and restaurants. Not to mention the view and scenery were amazing, especially at night all lite up. We are already talking about when we want to go back again and will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. We couldn't have imagined staying somewhere else for this price and actually being this comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haruka
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2014

Good

Good location, nice staff! But I couldn't turn on the heat....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top