$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
94 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • Nov 6, 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Sep 12, 2009

Not So Great

The location was good. It was real close to Grand Central Terminal. The staff was friendly, but the hotel was less than impressive. The age of the building showed. There were no curtains on our windows, just sheers. We were watching TV and there was a knock on the door and in less time it took to get to the door (4 ft away) the maintenance guy had already inserted the key and opened the door to come in. We weren't told the shower did not drain, so when we took a shower we were left standing in a good two inches of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Terminal is a very short walk. It is the main hub to connect to anywhere in the city you want to go.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockie Spider
Modesto,Ca
Jun 26, 2014

WHAT NO WIFI?

Stay was not the best, why? No coffee, no WIFI, haven't stayed at a hotel in years without coffee or WiFi We visited 9/11 Memorial and it was wonderful. Location of this hotel was the great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying close to 42nd is the best way to get around.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Photo Mariah
Hudson
Sep 1, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel needs a make over!!! The pictures of the rooms are very misleading, actually they are very old, the carpets are dirty, and several rooms smelled like cigarette smoke with a spray of deodorant over it! The lobby is just a room with a desk and two small couches. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SeasonedRoadie
Business
Denver CO
Oct 20, 2012

Not so Jolly Hotel

Decor was circa 1965. Old TV. Felt like the carpet had never been cleaned. Mattress was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Jan 1, 2009

Reststop version of an Hotel

When I checked in, some dude with a name tag Mostafa kept whispering 750, 750, 750 to the other person who was actually checking me in. Right away I knew I was getting the special room. Of course I got the 750 room. As soon as I got off the elevator, room 750 is right next to the elevator. Literary as soon as you get off the elevator, the room was on the left. All the time I was in the room including night time when I was sleeping I heard people going in and out. BIG TURN OFF. Room: VERY SMALL. I have never seen a hotel room that small. Beds: VERY SMALL BEDS. It had two small beds. Extras: I asked for late checkout but no way you can get anything from them. Costumer Service: They talk to you as if they are paying you to stay in this hotel. To sum up, this hotel was as if you go to a rest stop along some major highway and you think you are getting something descent but everything you get is junk. That is the feeling I got from this hotel. But then that is how rest stops work too - they don't have to worry about back log and have customers come back. They did not deserve my money - I will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
modtorney
Boston, MA
May 16, 2011

Sub-par

We were in town to celebrate a birthday with family and couples, and were excited about the location of this hotel. That is about the only good thing we can say about it. Staff was friendly enough, but not very responsive. Things took a long time to do. But generally, even the service was okay. The primary turn off was the dated interior and dated rooms. The bathroom was clean and somewhat updated, and the size of the rooms did not bother us. The carpet, bedding, and inconsistent temperature will not draw us back to this hotel again ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Karaoke. We don't even do this - but in NYC, it seems to be a "thing". We had a blast!

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicolejiayingli
San francisco CA
Jun 28, 2014

not good

The room is so small. There is no hot water in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Milou28
Business
Montreal, Canada
May 6, 2013

Jolly Madison Tower Hotel

Unwelcoming front desk staff (not even a hello) Smallest standard room I have ever stayed in considering the $300 price tag. Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. The room has not been renovated or thoroughly cleaned in a decade. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, dirty bathtub and an old soap. TV was old with bad reception, looked like a museum piece. No free Wi-Fi although it was advertized as being free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rosiedog
new york
Apr 3, 2013

not happy

we booked a double room with 2 beds . received only one bed and had to change rooms. were promised a king bed but received a small queen. eventually got a rollaway bed in a junior suite. Too much trouble. The rest of our party had to change rooms because of uncontrolled heat in the rooms. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the touring bus is close to hotel

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Jan 1, 2009

Reststop version of an Hotel

When I checked in, some dude with a name tag Mostafa kept whispering 750, 750, 750 to the other person who was actually checking me in. Right away I knew I was getting the special room. Of course I got the 750 room. As soon as I got off the elevator, room 750 is right next to the elevator. Literary as soon as you get off the elevator, the room was on the left. All the time I was in the room including night time when I was sleeping I heard people going in and out. BIG TURN OFF. Room: VERY SMALL. I have never seen a hotel room that small. Beds: VERY SMALL BEDS. It had two small beds. Extras: I asked for late checkout but no way you can get anything from them. Costumer Service: They talk to you as if they are paying you to stay in this hotel. To sum up, this hotel was as if you go to a rest stop along some major highway and you think you are getting something descent but everything you get is junk. That is the feeling I got from this hotel. But then that is how rest stops work too - they don't have to worry about back log and have customers come back. They did not deserve my money - I will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top