$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
104 reviews
4 day trip with a friend

Hotel was better than I expected for the price. Located in the very heart of manhattan so... See full review

  • Bruce
  • Jan 26, 2015
me and mom NYC trip

small room, but very clean and conveniently located, walking distance from times square. Great... See full review

  • fanny g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

4 day trip with a friend

Hotel was better than I expected for the price. Located in the very heart of manhattan so everything was a short walk away. Just a 5 minute walk from grand central station so you could get to anywhere in New York in a short amount of time. Very clean and staff was very helpful. It was our first time in NY and they gave us good recommendations of where to go. The only thing that it was lacking was a gym / health center, but its a minor gripe since most people are here on vacation anyway. Brian at the front desk was infinitely helpful. Would definitely stay here again if I find myself in New York in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudette, never use cheap tickets
Business
The Hamptons NY
Aug 24, 2009

Hotel great Cheap tickets sucks

The hotel was great they even upgraded us for free when Cheap Tickets screwed up my reservation, I will never deal with cheap tickets again, I was over charged, the wrong rooms were booked they lied to me. The worst website for traveling and I travel alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jan 7, 2010

Good hotel in superb location

Good hotel. A very good location (although some might find it noisy, but hey: you're in the middle of New York City!). Friendly service, good, clean, comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middel of NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yvon
Business
providence RI
Nov 28, 2011

good location

This hotel has good location. It's just close to 5th avenue and the Empire state building. And it is easy to take bus but needs to walk several streets to get subway station. The only advice is that the TV in the room is too old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monarico4
Business
Jersey
Jan 13, 2012

clean and convenient

great location-room is nothing fancy but clean and totally refurbished bathrooms-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chgo919
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Would stay here again any time

We stayed in a newly renovated room that was just lovely. CLEAN and maid service was good. Excellent location! Walking distance to Grand Central Station will then get you anywhere you want to go in NYC. Staff was very professional. We had a problem wtih the volume on the TV and told the front desk. Someone arrived in FIVE minutes and fixed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about the car service they provide. If there are two or more people, it's cheaper to get them to provide a Town Car to/from LaGuardia than it is to take the economy GO! shuttle service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orbiter123
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 27, 2012

Romantic New York City escape

Overall, I booked this hotel after reading several reviews. I was especially concerned about bed bugs that were reported in reviews of a less expensive hotel and had to cancel it. I did not find any reviews that indicated this hotel had any and therefore booked it even with the extra price difference. We traveled during a bad snowstorm weekend and the location of this hotel was ideal to the subway station and bus terminal. The staff was excellent! We arrived at noon and were expecting to just have our bags checked but he gave us a room, a king size bedroom! The room and decor left much to be desired, but everything was clean! There were minor wear and tear, but nothing that affected our stay. The furniture was a bit outdated and decoration was sparse and bland for my taste. The bathroom was superbly clean and view was nice! Although we didn't spend much time gazing out the view, rather enjoying the city. They held our bags after our stay and were very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miyeon
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful but...

Loved the staff, loved the room for the most part but I just didn't find the room big enough. The bed in the standard room truly did take up most of the room space but I found the atmosphere quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FL to NY
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Aug 6, 2012

Great hotel for the price and location!

This hotel was in a great location from everything we wanted to do. Very close to Grand Central Station to catch any train or subway to get around town. The staff was very helpful and made you feel welcomed! Yes the room is small, but they tell you that on their website, and yes it could use a little updating, but those are not a big deal to my Husband and I. We weren't living in the hotel and didn't need a lot of space. We had a big king bed, room to walk around and a bathroom. And the room and bathroom were clean!!!! What else can you ask for in NYC? The beds and pillows yes I'll admit could use a bit more cushion, but we still slept good anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Mc
Business
Lakewood, Ohio
Nov 25, 2012

We would gladly stay here again

We stayed here for the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade and would be happy to stay again. We were within walking distance to almost everything and were 2 blocks from the parade route. Room was clean but small. I had requested an extra bed but it wouldn't have fit in the room. Nice place and friendly staff. Valet parking was $36/day but that is cheaper than using any of the garages in the area. I had forgotten some things of value in the car when we arrived and it was all there when we got our car back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save a ton on breakfast and pick up some yogurt and fruit at the Duane Read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top