$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Staff Location Value......doesn't get any better

Arrived at 7 am, room wasn't ready, however, staff set aside our baggage for us, in a secure room.... See full review

  • dixiedog
  • Sep 15, 2014
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • Jan 27, 2014
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April Mom
Philadelphia
Apr 28, 2014

Family Getaway

We stayed at the hotel and had booked a deluxe room and was very pleased with the cleanliness but some lights were not working and the room was dark as they had placed us in the back, maybe bc we had a pet but still would have preferred a little bit of a view and light. The mattress was a little uncomfortable to sleep on and the front desk staff esp. the African American lady was not being very accommodating and just kept saying we are sold out. I felt she could have been a little courteous about it, but overall it was a great experience otherwise the rest of the staff more than made up for her attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaiya Thai on 28th which was really great food if you like Spicy and Jacks wife Frieda brunch in SOHO the next morning was awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommyb
Cary NC
Apr 28, 2014

So so

The room was okay, clean enough but the mattress seemed very old and not very comfortable. Don't think I'll stay there again. Location was good though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a very good breakfast place on the corner right down from our hotel which I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fedg
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2014

tired

hotel looks in need of refurbishment. Annoying that internet not included in room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Couple
Edgewood Maryland
Feb 25, 2014

Good Value

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower, This hotel is good for the price, the location is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blau
Illinois
Feb 24, 2014

you get what you pay for

It was pretty cheap offer so we didn't expect much. We didn't get much. Small rooms, very clean and altogther okay. Not more and not less. Note that there's no free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Peter
St. Paul
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we didn't have much time to watch TV anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morgan Library and Museum is a 5 minute walk away. The library is amazing and we enjoyed the DaVinci and Edgar Allen Poe exhibits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in city for the day
Woodstock, NY
Jan 16, 2014

good value

I just stayed one night and the room and bathroom were clean and pleasant. My only complaints are: you have to pay for wi fi (about $10 per computer for 24 hours), there was no access to coffee in the hotel before 6:45 am, and you can't open the window to cool the room down, but have to turn the a/c on (a typical NYC winter heating issue, but better too hot than too cold, I guess!!). But these complaints are minor for the price ($109 for a single before taxes). In a nice part of midtown, with a great diner/coffee shop across the street (Moonstruck) that is open 6am to 1 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammi lynn
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Decent

I was very disappointed that the Restaurant was closed. I planned my evening with going to dinner at the hotel, and with the location there isn't other restaurants around. I heard people all night, through the super thin walls and small rooms. For as much as you pay per night the rooms & features are very it dated. But service was decent. Wouldn't stay again. Pictures online are NOT what you get in actuality!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tricks
sligo, Ireland
Nov 6, 2013

HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel central to Times Square, loads of restaurants and tourist attractions near by. Staff very helpful with regards to Broadway Shows and great directions to shopping centres as well as Shopping Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping Outlets are about an hour away, would be worthwhile going as designer clothes are much cheaper and more of a selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egyptian one
Business
Egypt
Oct 27, 2013

good one

very good location in a quite area, so overall is a good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top