$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
View map of 22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
111 reviews
Amazing location and great staff

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was close to where we wanted to be during our stay as... See full review

  • Bellini90
  • Apr 23, 2015
Great, family-friendly hotel

Very clean and nice hotel. Close to everywhere we want to be. The only downside: no wifi in the... See full review

  • Bellini90
  • Apr 6, 2015
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 139 reviews
★★★★
$219
3.8 / 5 103 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$143
3.8 / 5 142 reviews
★★★★
$175
4.3 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 113 reviews
★★★
$149
3.3 / 5 99 reviews

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chana
Friends
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

Good location

The hotel is in need of some updates but is in a great location. When we got there we were told that the two bed room we ordered might not be available. After insisting that we needed two beds they somehow found an available room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leon J.
Couples
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

dissatified

room is very dated, paint peeling in the room. never again. for almost $200.00 a day was a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DELMAR
Business
N/A
Jul 9, 2015

Good trip

Good hotel the location is ok the room was nice and we'll keep I will recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ian W.
Couples
Ware
Jul 4, 2015

Short break to NYC

Ideally located reasonably close to Times Square, The Empire State Building and Penn Station. Budgetish hotel but perfect for a few nights in NYC and met all our needs for a hotel perfectly. Clean and well maintained. Excellent diner across the road and a brilliant irish bar a few steps away. WIFI terrible as is a pay per day/hour service operated by a third party supplier and we could not get it to accept on our tablet. There is a public PC in the reception area that you can pay and use for a hour so was ideal for facebook, flight check ins etc. Small bug bear but just a couple of dollars for internet use. With ease of access to the sights, would stay here again if I could get a similar good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fiona T.
Family
N/A
Jun 27, 2015

Mum and son trip

Great location, service good but 'Superior' room was rather tatty and old-fashioned . Wifi not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamela C.
Couples
Seattle
May 2, 2015

Price was right

We were staying for 2 days, but needed 3 nights hotel. Only needed a place to sleep while we explore the city. Nothing fancy. Very simple, good price. Service was good and helped us when we needed. They can't call a cab for you. No wi fi in the room that we could figure out. Hotel bar closed on Sundays. But overall, got what we paid for and we had money to spend in the city. )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travels from far
Business
c at bs as
Apr 29, 2015

Second Stay

The hotel room was clean and the bed comfortable. On this room category (the basic room) the TV was a hundred years old but worked properly. As long as the discounted rates continue, I will keep on coming back to this hotel as it meets my needs and is centrally located. On my previous stay I had booked a higher end room that have many amenities including a huge bathroom. Overall I found everything to be as described on their web page. Internet is only available for a fee but there is a work station with complementary internet by the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellini90
Family
Tekirdag
Apr 23, 2015

Amazing location and great staff

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was close to where we wanted to be during our stay as well as to the makn attractions. Staff was very nice and helpful. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler
Couples
Wadmalaw Is.
Apr 6, 2015

Vacation

The hotel is in a fantastic location and walking distance to nearly everything we went to see, however completely different than from where I am from. EVERYTHING cost $$$ no free breakfast, no free bus pick up or carry to airport, no free internet, no pool. Our room was standard so very small and though the bathroom was nice it too was also small and water would leak out because the glass did not cover enough. The tv is an old RCA tube tv. The hotel could use an update. Everyone was really nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellini90
Family
Tekirdag
Apr 6, 2015

Great, family-friendly hotel

Very clean and nice hotel. Close to everywhere we want to be. The only downside: no wifi in the rooms unles you sign up for a rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top