$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2008

Never had such luxury

Ok, so my husband and I have been to NYC several times and usually stay with my brother, but this time wanted to have a romantic time in NYC. The location is amazing, only blocks away from times square, rockafeller center, across street from Central park, and fifth avenue!!! Felt like a queen in this safe, beautiful, amazing hotel. My brother came to visit us and couldn't even get past security to ride the elevators unless I came to get him!!! I loved that privacy and privacy because NYC is so full of random people that atleast you have the quiet enviroment of the hotel. The staff was amazing! Will stay again, despite the price, don't be fooled---spend the extra money, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnagie Hall

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cromwell CT
Jan 3, 2010

A lovely get away

The staff were extremely friendly. The room was beautiful. It had the most comfortable bed - we had a great night sleep. We were right across from Central Park so it was easy to explore. Check out the food prices before ordering ... dining was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Comfortable, classy room near everything

The Jumeirah Essex House worked out perfect for our first stay in New York. It was a brief trip so it was nice to be right next to Central Park & only a block or so from the subway. The hotel is right next to the New York Athletic Club which really impressed my husband. I was very pleased with the cleanliness & size of our room. I would definitely stay at the Essex again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park steps away.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

excellent property

Essex House provides excellent location. Top notch service. Everything is newly renovated and first class. Automatic night lights when you get up. Nice vanity, amenities, modern furniture in room. Very comfortable bed and linens. Across from Central Park. Convenient to good shopping. would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from Central Park. Two blocks from Fifth Avenue. A walk or short cab ride to theatre district.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 2, 2010

New York Trip

Ideal location with walking access to Lincoln Center, dining, theaters, shopping and Central Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Romance and pampering

Romantic hotel overlooking Central Park. Very courteous staff. Luxurious decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park across the street

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
May 10, 2010

A very happy camper!

As a native New Yorker I was looking for a unique way to spend a weekend with my wife for a 'milestone' birthday celebration. I decided to make the Essex House the cornerstone of a really wonderful NYC experience and it did not disappoint. I booked a central park view room and the view was like nothing else in the world. The room was beautifully appointed and the staff very attentive to our every need. Among many, many others, the nicest touches were a complimentary NY Times daily and, don't laugh, a full size umbrella in the closet. While fortunately we did not need it this weekend there have been many times in the past when this would have been very handy to have. Those small touches really go a long way to well traveled guests and were very welcome. We arrived in the City Friday, walked through the Park to the Met, took in the Picasso exhibit (a must see) and had dinner at Citrus on the upper west side (very good). Saturday was breakfast at the Brooklyn Diner on 57th, a matinee performance of South Pacific and dinner at Porter House in the Time Warner Center. I highly recommend all! I was actually able to register for a 4 mile run in the Park Sunday morning. Having raced in the Park before, there is nothing like walking out of the Essex House and up to the starting line. Fabulous! After checking out we did some shopping and took in one of the many street fairs that day and then back to Long Island. It was the Essex House that was the center of our perfect weekend and brought all these wonderful experiences right to our doorstep. Great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jul 7, 2007

Awesome Room!

The room was one of the nicest I have stayed in anywhere! I have stayed at some of the finest hotels around the world and The Essex House certaintly rates up there with the best! The furnishings, lighting, attention to details and the amount of space itself was fantastic. The junior suite we had was one of those rooms that you want to spend time in, even in a city like New York where there is so much to do and see! The automatic lighting under the nightstands was very cool. Another great touch was the large flat screen tuned into the room cam showing views of Central Park. Made up for not being located directly on the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park right out the front door. Doesn't get much better than that! Perfect location for all of midtown and the Upper West Side. Time Warner only a few blocks down the street.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Apr 29, 2007

Beautiful Ambience

The hotel is extremely well run and maintained. The location at Central Park South makes it ideally located for midtown escapades. The restaurant served delicious food in very well decorated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is just steps away, as well as the Museum of Modern Art and the jazz club the Iridium.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 11, 2007

accomodating diners

the restauant staff was very understanding about my family's dining restrictions and prepared food to order not available on the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from central park. theatre district with walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top