$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrenton, Va.
May 17, 2010

perfect location..superior service

I want to thank both the hotel management and [...]for allowing me to change my length of stay due tospecial circumstances. It gave me a good feeling about both. Gratefully, Marion Poynter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mengkofen
Jul 27, 2008

staff very helpful and friendly, very upscale property, great view, nice rooms

I have been to many JUMEIRAH hotels this was the best and for sure the best hotel in all over New York (Manhattan) i have ever stayed at. The room where big, nice park view in the room that i had and the bar was just an eye catcher. Very nice, up scaled property. Don;t forget the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on 5th Avenue only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2007

Grat Location

The Essex House is right across the street from Central Park just a few steps away from Park benches shady tree and a chance to observe native N.Yorkers & fellow tourist, you are also within walking to famous shopping and Museums..a subway stop just around the corner. WE stayed in a newly renovated room with the most comfortable bed and luxuious sheets and down comforter, there was work desk but not a comfy chair for casual sitting(although there was a space for one and it might be added I meant to ask ) Next time I would request a Park view or any view room, ours looked onto a brick wall. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with Hotel matters and other personal difficulties we encountered. It was a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2008

Never had such luxury

Ok, so my husband and I have been to NYC several times and usually stay with my brother, but this time wanted to have a romantic time in NYC. The location is amazing, only blocks away from times square, rockafeller center, across street from Central park, and fifth avenue!!! Felt like a queen in this safe, beautiful, amazing hotel. My brother came to visit us and couldn't even get past security to ride the elevators unless I came to get him!!! I loved that privacy and privacy because NYC is so full of random people that atleast you have the quiet enviroment of the hotel. The staff was amazing! Will stay again, despite the price, don't be fooled---spend the extra money, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnagie Hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cromwell CT
Jan 3, 2010

A lovely get away

The staff were extremely friendly. The room was beautiful. It had the most comfortable bed - we had a great night sleep. We were right across from Central Park so it was easy to explore. Check out the food prices before ordering ... dining was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Comfortable, classy room near everything

The Jumeirah Essex House worked out perfect for our first stay in New York. It was a brief trip so it was nice to be right next to Central Park & only a block or so from the subway. The hotel is right next to the New York Athletic Club which really impressed my husband. I was very pleased with the cleanliness & size of our room. I would definitely stay at the Essex again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

excellent property

Essex House provides excellent location. Top notch service. Everything is newly renovated and first class. Automatic night lights when you get up. Nice vanity, amenities, modern furniture in room. Very comfortable bed and linens. Across from Central Park. Convenient to good shopping. would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from Central Park. Two blocks from Fifth Avenue. A walk or short cab ride to theatre district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 2, 2010

New York Trip

Ideal location with walking access to Lincoln Center, dining, theaters, shopping and Central Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Romance and pampering

Romantic hotel overlooking Central Park. Very courteous staff. Luxurious decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
May 10, 2010

A very happy camper!

As a native New Yorker I was looking for a unique way to spend a weekend with my wife for a 'milestone' birthday celebration. I decided to make the Essex House the cornerstone of a really wonderful NYC experience and it did not disappoint. I booked a central park view room and the view was like nothing else in the world. The room was beautifully appointed and the staff very attentive to our every need. Among many, many others, the nicest touches were a complimentary NY Times daily and, don't laugh, a full size umbrella in the closet. While fortunately we did not need it this weekend there have been many times in the past when this would have been very handy to have. Those small touches really go a long way to well traveled guests and were very welcome. We arrived in the City Friday, walked through the Park to the Met, took in the Picasso exhibit (a must see) and had dinner at Citrus on the upper west side (very good). Saturday was breakfast at the Brooklyn Diner on 57th, a matinee performance of South Pacific and dinner at Porter House in the Time Warner Center. I highly recommend all! I was actually able to register for a 4 mile run in the Park Sunday morning. Having raced in the Park before, there is nothing like walking out of the Essex House and up to the starting line. Fabulous! After checking out we did some shopping and took in one of the many street fairs that day and then back to Long Island. It was the Essex House that was the center of our perfect weekend and brought all these wonderful experiences right to our doorstep. Great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top