$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Fineman
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2013

A wedding to remember

Thank you so much to the staff of the Essex House. What a beautiful property! The art deco details, the service. the room. Everything was beautiful. And the location is not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner for celebrity sightings and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globetrotting executive
Business
Boston
Nov 27, 2013

Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the hotel can't be beat, the bed linens were immaculately clean. There was some trouble getting hot water in the morning for a shower, which I would not have expected from a 5 star hotel. But on a previous stay the concierge served as a real force multiplier by arranging reservations for a business dinner and providing recommendations for corporate gifts, etc. Helpful staff make a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge, especially the German guy Berndt, he's fantastic at arranging for all of your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn
Jun 29, 2008

great location

Staff was great, ameneties were excellent. Location was great. Furniture in room seemed a bit outdated, but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

broadway is a short walk and central park is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2009

Really comfortable

I was in town for business for one night and needed a quiet room for sleep and work. The renovated rooms are well laid-out and spotlessly clean. The bed is super-comfortable. The lighting takes some getting used to but is very cool - the lights are on switches that make them fade off. Really enjoyed my stay - probably my 10th time there - will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golden star
Business
Wake Forest, NC
Nov 10, 2009

Remarkable experience!

First, let me say that the entire staff here was incredibly attentive and friendly. We chose the Essex House primarily based on the location. We had plans to visit the Mets (both the museum and opera house, NOT the baseball team) and the hotel is within easy walking distance of each. There are several Michelin-starred restaurants within walking distance, and excellent 57th street shopping as well. In fact, we never had to arrange transportation the entire trip, b/c the walk down to 34th street is a breeze! The room I originally booked had an unsatisfactory view (but was otherwise impeccable and larger than most in the area), and we were generously upgraded to a room directly overlooking Central Park. The room was both modern and classically luxurious. The room was quiet in the evening. We plan to make this our go-to NYC hotel. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby neighborhood dining gems: for breakfast try Amy's Breads on 9th (b/w 46-47th) and have dinner at Picholine on west 63rd or Quality Meats on 58th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Arab elegance continues New York finery

Recently remodelled rooms were elegant. We asked for and got an upgrade which was outstanding. Didn't try the restaurant nor athletic facilities. Lobby areas still grand. Couldn't quite figure out the lighting in the room as we didn't need a baggage handler to take us to our room and show us the new high tech mood modifying system. But we managed. Facing central park south we thought the room might be noisy, but on the 17th floor it was perfectly quiet. Lobby was a bit congested on this busy weekend. Long line at check in with only two clerks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park South is a grand location for strolls in the Park, cafes, restaurants, and elegant shopping. No bargains though. Breakfast at Sarabeths, one block directly East was worth going back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Excellent choice

The room was perfect in every way. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I found the business center staff particularly attentive and helpful. I plan to stay at the Essex House for all of my future New York trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is a short walk from Times Square. The subway is conveniently nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrenton, Va.
May 17, 2010

perfect location..superior service

I want to thank both the hotel management and [...]for allowing me to change my length of stay due tospecial circumstances. It gave me a good feeling about both. Gratefully, Marion Poynter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mengkofen
Jul 27, 2008

staff very helpful and friendly, very upscale property, great view, nice rooms

I have been to many JUMEIRAH hotels this was the best and for sure the best hotel in all over New York (Manhattan) i have ever stayed at. The room where big, nice park view in the room that i had and the bar was just an eye catcher. Very nice, up scaled property. Don;t forget the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on 5th Avenue only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2007

Grat Location

The Essex House is right across the street from Central Park just a few steps away from Park benches shady tree and a chance to observe native N.Yorkers & fellow tourist, you are also within walking to famous shopping and Museums..a subway stop just around the corner. WE stayed in a newly renovated room with the most comfortable bed and luxuious sheets and down comforter, there was work desk but not a comfy chair for casual sitting(although there was a space for one and it might be added I meant to ask ) Next time I would request a Park view or any view room, ours looked onto a brick wall. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with Hotel matters and other personal difficulties we encountered. It was a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top