$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Excellent NY Hotel

The room was spacious and inviting The hotel is well located and the staff was super accomodating... See full review

  • Anquan
  • Sep 29, 2014
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

SOUTHGATE Bar & Restaurant
SOUTHGATE, our modern tavern, offers a variety of specially crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Fineman
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2013

A wedding to remember

Thank you so much to the staff of the Essex House. What a beautiful property! The art deco details, the service. the room. Everything was beautiful. And the location is not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner for celebrity sightings and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globetrotting executive
Business
Boston
Nov 27, 2013

Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the hotel can't be beat, the bed linens were immaculately clean. There was some trouble getting hot water in the morning for a shower, which I would not have expected from a 5 star hotel. But on a previous stay the concierge served as a real force multiplier by arranging reservations for a business dinner and providing recommendations for corporate gifts, etc. Helpful staff make a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge, especially the German guy Berndt, he's fantastic at arranging for all of your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn
Jun 29, 2008

great location

Staff was great, ameneties were excellent. Location was great. Furniture in room seemed a bit outdated, but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

broadway is a short walk and central park is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2009

Really comfortable

I was in town for business for one night and needed a quiet room for sleep and work. The renovated rooms are well laid-out and spotlessly clean. The bed is super-comfortable. The lighting takes some getting used to but is very cool - the lights are on switches that make them fade off. Really enjoyed my stay - probably my 10th time there - will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golden star
Business
Wake Forest, NC
Nov 10, 2009

Remarkable experience!

First, let me say that the entire staff here was incredibly attentive and friendly. We chose the Essex House primarily based on the location. We had plans to visit the Mets (both the museum and opera house, NOT the baseball team) and the hotel is within easy walking distance of each. There are several Michelin-starred restaurants within walking distance, and excellent 57th street shopping as well. In fact, we never had to arrange transportation the entire trip, b/c the walk down to 34th street is a breeze! The room I originally booked had an unsatisfactory view (but was otherwise impeccable and larger than most in the area), and we were generously upgraded to a room directly overlooking Central Park. The room was both modern and classically luxurious. The room was quiet in the evening. We plan to make this our go-to NYC hotel. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby neighborhood dining gems: for breakfast try Amy's Breads on 9th (b/w 46-47th) and have dinner at Picholine on west 63rd or Quality Meats on 58th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Arab elegance continues New York finery

Recently remodelled rooms were elegant. We asked for and got an upgrade which was outstanding. Didn't try the restaurant nor athletic facilities. Lobby areas still grand. Couldn't quite figure out the lighting in the room as we didn't need a baggage handler to take us to our room and show us the new high tech mood modifying system. But we managed. Facing central park south we thought the room might be noisy, but on the 17th floor it was perfectly quiet. Lobby was a bit congested on this busy weekend. Long line at check in with only two clerks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park South is a grand location for strolls in the Park, cafes, restaurants, and elegant shopping. No bargains though. Breakfast at Sarabeths, one block directly East was worth going back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Excellent choice

The room was perfect in every way. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I found the business center staff particularly attentive and helpful. I plan to stay at the Essex House for all of my future New York trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is a short walk from Times Square. The subway is conveniently nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrenton, Va.
May 17, 2010

perfect location..superior service

I want to thank both the hotel management and [...]for allowing me to change my length of stay due tospecial circumstances. It gave me a good feeling about both. Gratefully, Marion Poynter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mengkofen
Jul 27, 2008

staff very helpful and friendly, very upscale property, great view, nice rooms

I have been to many JUMEIRAH hotels this was the best and for sure the best hotel in all over New York (Manhattan) i have ever stayed at. The room where big, nice park view in the room that i had and the bar was just an eye catcher. Very nice, up scaled property. Don;t forget the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on 5th Avenue only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2007

Grat Location

The Essex House is right across the street from Central Park just a few steps away from Park benches shady tree and a chance to observe native N.Yorkers & fellow tourist, you are also within walking to famous shopping and Museums..a subway stop just around the corner. WE stayed in a newly renovated room with the most comfortable bed and luxuious sheets and down comforter, there was work desk but not a comfy chair for casual sitting(although there was a space for one and it might be added I meant to ask ) Next time I would request a Park view or any view room, ours looked onto a brick wall. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with Hotel matters and other personal difficulties we encountered. It was a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top