$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAMR
Business
Lexington.KY
Apr 12, 2014

Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GotToGoThere
Business
Cheshire
Jan 9, 2010

Couldn't Fault It

The location is great, right opposite central park and close to subway stations to get you to most places. There are plenty of places to get breakfast nearby for those who can't afford or are not willing to pay the hotels extortionate prices. The staff were friendly apart from a young guy (who was hired to stand near the elevator to direct people left or right because all elevators didn't go to all floors), he seemed to find it difficult to break a smile. The rooms were great with plenty of space and cleaned everyday and turned down every evening. You can make use of a free safe deposit box. We didn't make use of any of the hotel amenities such as the gym or restraunts so can't comment on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yetts
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great hotel

We had a great time. Perfect location, big room, anything needed was close by. Will return for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Minetta tavern, great burgers, awesome ambiance open till 2 am. Great to go after the theatre. Staton Social, trendy, great restaurant. Tapas style

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lupus
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Million-Dollar View

My wife and I enjoyed our 3 nights at Jumeirah Essex House from the first to the last minute. We had booked a room with Central Park view and that we got. It was a nice and recently renovated room, however, it was on the fifth floor and we were looking at the trees. So I asked for a room on a higher floor and the hotel accommodated us with a great room on the 14th floor overlooking the whole park. Perfect. Internet is not free. South Gate, the hotel restaurant, is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrossian in the landmark Alwyn Court building for lunch or dinner.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raffy
Business
New York, NY
Mar 14, 2012

Romantic Escape

It was the great value and pampering we expected. My only suggestion is that a small easy chair should be placed in the room for reading / watching TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young fellow
Business
White Plains, NY 10607
Jul 2, 2012

A satisfying (exhilarating) experience.

My wife, grandkids and I enjoyed our stay at your hotel, notwithstanding the fact that we were inconvenienced by the power being shut down and us not being ble to get in and out of our rooms without the aid the hotel security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
13chairs
Business
Foster Cityy
Jun 11, 2012

Classic Hotel

This is a classic well appointed hotel right on Central Avenue Parkway. Our room was large and well appointed with all the amenities. The staff was extremely pleasant and ready to please. The location made touring New York a breeze. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book a room with a view of the Park

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
Business
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet lagged
Business
Lancs UK
Jan 3, 2013

Superb location.

As none city people who like to dip our toes in to the hustle an bustle occasionally we chose Essex House for its proximity to Central Park to allow for escape time. It was perfect for accessing the city, being only a few blocks from Time Square, 5th Avenue etc while allowing for a stroll around the Park to wind down from the madness of New York. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. After reading reports about the size of rooms in New York I was expecting a tiny room. This is not the case. Very comfortable rooms, which after all are only a base. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maze at Gordon Ramsay's. great food in a relaxed setting.

Back to menu Return to top