JW Marriott Essex House New York ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$251
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016
4.4 /5
Overall score
88%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The JW Marriott Essex House in New York stands 40 stories tall in all its Art Deco glory. There are gilded fixtures and doors, visually pleasing wood paneling, and even the eye-popping Grand Salon to enjoy while strolling about the hotel. The rooms are accented in leather, and each will provide you a hip home away from home. The hotel was awarded a Certificate of Excellence in 2014.

Highlights

Key facts

The hotel has one restaurant, the Southgate, which doubles as a bar, but you can order room service 24/7. To get yourself pampered, visit the on-site spa, which is run by PRIMP. If you're looking to get out of the room for dining pleasure, the re-opened Tavern on the Green is only a few blocks away, and you can also find Italian, Japanese and American menus within a few steps of the hotel.

If you're a theatergoer, the bright lights of Broadway beckon from just down the street, and if you're a classical music fan, it's only a two-block walk to Carnegie Hall. Central Park is next door, and guests can walk a mile or less to the art or natural history museums. Subway stations and bus stops are right outside the doors, offering you an easy way to visit all parts of NYC's five boroughs. To indulge your inner child, be sure to stroll down Central Park South to FAO Schwarz.

Dining

SOUTHGATE Bar & Restaurant
SOUTHGATE, our restaurant near Central Park, features an American menu that focuses on locally sourced ingredients, complemented by a generous selection of libations. Join us for Sunday Jazz Brunch, or for a nightcap, with light fare available until 1am.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 5.0 / 5
$404
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$275
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$129
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$161

The Quin

★★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$269
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$138

Amenities

Featured

  • Wi-Fi Access in Room (Charges May Apply)
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • Air conditioned
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators
  • Ice machine

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa
  • Fitness Center
  • Exercise gym
  • Sauna
  • Steam bath

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Maid service
  • Laundry service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Childcare Service
  • Concierge desk
  • Laundry/Valet services
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Car rental desk
  • Barber/Beauty shop
  • FAX
  • Video checkout
  • Gift shop
  • Currency exchange
  • Florist

Internet

  • Wi-Fi Access in Room (Charges May Apply)

Parking

  • Valet parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Radio
  • Safe
  • Phone with speaker
  • Telephone
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Mini bar
  • Free newspaper
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Outlet adapters
  • Turndown service
  • Bathroom telephone
  • Cribs available
  • Sofa bed
  • Temperature control
  • Iron
  • Ironing board
  • Bath tub

Reviews

4.4 /5 Overall score

88% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.6/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.5/5
  • Comfort: 4.5/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Recent stay for business/pleasure

Would recommend Sat, Apr 25, 2015
Hotel location and concierge were particularly good. Dave Rahner helped us with a number of requests and he was simply fantastic! He made it a personal experience.

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

New York trip

Would recommend Mon, Jan 26, 2015
We were in NYC to celebrate our 50th. The hotel upgraded our room to a huge suite without our asking. Our daughter called to arrange for champagne room service and they graciously provided a complementary champagne bottle accompanied by huge chocolate covered strawberries (delicious) to the surprise of our daughter who expected to pay for the service. The only downside to the hotel, is the exorbitant breakfast prices. Unfortunately, the food did not measure up to the shocking prices. Oatmeal was watery, fruit unripe, muffins stale. Oatmeal, yogurt/fruit/muffin plate, one juice and 2 cups of coffee $75 (tip included)!

Dining

Great 3-course prix fixe lunch at Jean-George Nougatine

| Tallahassee Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent NY Hotel

Would recommend Mon, Sep 29, 2014
The room was spacious and inviting The hotel is well located and the staff was super accomodating Would definitely recommend

| Princeton NJ Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Overnight business trip

Would recommend Sat, Apr 12, 2014
excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location

| Lexington.KY Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Too hot!

Would not recommend Tue, Feb 25, 2014
Everything about the Essex House was fine except that we could not cool the room to a comfortable temperature (in February).

| Chicago Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Fantastic weekend getaway in New York

Would recommend Mon, Feb 17, 2014
the location and staff are simply outstanding. The rest of the hotel is very good. No real issues. I requested a park view room but from the 5th floor you cannot see a whole lot of the park. Be sure to ask for higher floors if you want a panoramic view of Central Park. The Concierge service was outstanding. I requested flowers be ready in the room and was quoted the minimum of $75 that with delivery and taxes will be slightly more than 100. The concierge called me back 2 hours later to say he received the flowers and was not impressed and offered to have them redone or reduce the charge. I asked him to have it redone although it was late in the evening and only 2 hours before our arrvival. He got it done. That was EXCELLENT service. I would definitely consider staying here again.

| Pittsburgh Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Mon, Jan 27, 2014
We were in NY to attend opera and walked to Lincoln Center from the Hotel and had a great choice of restaurants within a short walk.

| Sparta NJ Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

WARNING ---- READ THE LATEST REVIEWS THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 23, 2013
Don't fall for all the 4 and 5 star customer ratings this hotel built up under its former owners (Jumeirah Group). Since the Marriott took over this hotel has drastically declined beyond recognition. A once iconic hotel has fallen into serious disrepair and is unrecognisable from the 5 star hotel it used to be. It is clear the current owners are driving out as much shareholder value and running this asset into the ground before they are finally forced to close the hotel for a full and much needed refurbishment. According to some staff this is due to happen in around a years time. The real shame here is this is been done at the detriment of any level of customer service and current customers experience.Customers are not getting anywhere near the standard of hotel they are paying for. I also feel sorry for the staff who are more of an apology network than a customer service and hotel management team. I cannot urge you enough to read the most recent guest reviews before wasting your money (we can't all be wrong). The rooms are now very tired and unloved, chipped furniture, stained carpet overlaid with terrible customer service which borders on rude and at best indifferent and you can see why this hotel was a terrible disappointment. It is our first xmas together so I wanted it to be magical. There was nothing luxurious about the stay. The first room we were given didn't even have a safe and was a complete dive. I asked to move and the 2nd room was marginally better. Determined not to spend the whole 5 days complain (which would have been easy to do) I didn't want this to ruin our trip. The bathroom was almost comical, extremely dated and with creaky plumbing so we had the keep the door closed at night so it didn't wake us. The bath plug leaked so there was no relaxing and bizarrely the baths are tiny my girlfriend is only 5ft 3" they were like 3/4 size or something. Needless to say no romantic bath and I just made do with the drip of shower as I'm 6ft 2". i'm just glad it didn't smell as I heard several guest complaining about sewer smells and asking to change room. On the positive side this is a great location near central park (forget any ideas of park view 99% of the hotel rooms face inward and have no view or overlook carparks or roofs). 5-10 minute walk from time square and right near a sub way making getting round the city very easy. There are also some great restaurants in this area. I certainly would not stay at the hotel again as for the £2600 ($4160) we paid for 5 nights you could get a much more appropriate hotel where they actually care weather you have a nice stay or not. I would welcome a response for hotel management, but am doubtful there will be any kind of refund or compensation for our disappointing over priced stay.

Dining

Ellens Stardust Diner for breakfast. Let broadway hopefuls sing entertain you whilst you eat. These guys can really sing and the food is pretty good too. Head down 7th Avenue you a few streets down (think it was 51st). Great experience

| Lytham-St-Annes Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Excellent luxury hotel

Would recommend Sun, Dec 22, 2013
Great location, walked everywhere (theater, great restaurants, shopping), excellent room and service.

| Upstate NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good business stay

Would recommend Wed, Nov 27, 2013
Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the hotel can't be beat, the bed linens were immaculately clean. There was some trouble getting hot water in the morning for a shower, which I would not have expected from a 5 star hotel. But on a previous stay the concierge served as a real force multiplier by arranging reservations for a business dinner and providing recommendations for corporate gifts, etc. Helpful staff make a huge difference.

Time saver

Use the concierge, especially the German guy Berndt, he's fantastic at arranging for all of your needs.

| Boston Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Municipal Art Society 0.1 mi
57th Street 0.1 mi
Rose Museum 0.1 mi
Carnegie Hall 0.1 mi
CitySpire Center 0.1 mi
Tuscan Square 0.2 mi
Victorian Gardens, Central Park 0.2 mi
Museum of Arts and Design 0.2 mi
Columbus Circle mall 0.3 mi
Broadway 0.3 mi
Takashimaya 0.3 mi
New York Coliseum 0.3 mi
Bergdorf Goodman 0.3 mi
New Amsterdam Theater 0.3 mi
Lincoln Center 0.3 mi
New York Institute of Technology 0.3 mi
Museum of American Folk Art 0.3 mi
FAO Schwarz 0.3 mi
American Craft Museum 0.3 mi
Fifth Avenue 0.3 mi
Henri Bendel 0.3 mi
Studio 54 0.3 mi
Metropolitan Club 0.3 mi
Roseland 0.3 mi
CBS Building 0.3 mi
Trump Tower 0.3 mi
Equitable Center 0.4 mi
University Club 0.4 mi
Harmonie Club 0.4 mi
August Wilson Theatre 0.4 mi
Paine Webber Art Gallery 0.4 mi
Knickerbocker Club 0.4 mi
Bloomingdale's 0.4 mi
Neil Simon Theatre 0.4 mi
Museum of Television and Radio 0.4 mi
Central Park Zoo 0.4 mi
Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) 0.4 mi
Winter Garden Theatre 0.4 mi
Sony Wonder Technology Lab 0.4 mi
Gershwin Theatre 0.4 mi
Barney's 0.4 mi
Circle in the Square Theatre 0.4 mi
Sony Building 0.4 mi
Dante Park 0.4 mi
Paley Park 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$251
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016