$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Good for vacation with family

business and family vacation; nice service; it is good memory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wagnerite
Business
Connecticut
May 2, 2010

Great for a night at the opera.

We live in Connecticut, and often visit the Met. We prefer matinees - since we can take the train, and see the opera, without the need to stay overnight. This year, the only Wagner opera at the Met didn't have a matinee, so we had to attend an evening performance. We chose the Essex because it was only a ten-minute walk from Lincoln Center, and because it offered some (relatively) low cost rooms for those of us who weren't interested in the view. Our room was clean, modern, and at the back of the hotel, looking out onto some interesting rooftops. It was pleasant to walk back to the hotel after a very good performance of Holländer, and then spend an hour in the bar, people-watching and sipping on our Riesling. Just like Bayreuth. Recommended for operagoers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a perfect base, if you are attending an evening performance at Lincoln Center.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anquan
Business
Princeton NJ
Sep 29, 2014

Excellent NY Hotel

The room was spacious and inviting The hotel is well located and the staff was super accomodating Would definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel B.
Business
Tallahassee
Jan 26, 2015

New York trip

We were in NYC to celebrate our 50th. The hotel upgraded our room to a huge suite without our asking. Our daughter called to arrange for champagne room service and they graciously provided a complementary champagne bottle accompanied by huge chocolate covered strawberries (delicious) to the surprise of our daughter who expected to pay for the service. The only downside to the hotel, is the exorbitant breakfast prices. Unfortunately, the food did not measure up to the shocking prices. Oatmeal was watery, fruit unripe, muffins stale. Oatmeal, yogurt/fruit/muffin plate, one juice and 2 cups of coffee $75 (tip included)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great 3-course prix fixe lunch at Jean-George Nougatine

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
russel m.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Recent stay for business/pleasure

Hotel location and concierge were particularly good. Dave Rahner helped us with a number of requests and he was simply fantastic! He made it a personal experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GotToGoThere
Business
Cheshire
Jan 9, 2010

Couldn't Fault It

The location is great, right opposite central park and close to subway stations to get you to most places. There are plenty of places to get breakfast nearby for those who can't afford or are not willing to pay the hotels extortionate prices. The staff were friendly apart from a young guy (who was hired to stand near the elevator to direct people left or right because all elevators didn't go to all floors), he seemed to find it difficult to break a smile. The rooms were great with plenty of space and cleaned everyday and turned down every evening. You can make use of a free safe deposit box. We didn't make use of any of the hotel amenities such as the gym or restraunts so can't comment on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conchy Joe
Business
Sparta NJ
Jan 27, 2014

Great Location

We were in NY to attend opera and walked to Lincoln Center from the Hotel and had a great choice of restaurants within a short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makmich
Business
Pittsburgh
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic weekend getaway in New York

the location and staff are simply outstanding. The rest of the hotel is very good. No real issues. I requested a park view room but from the 5th floor you cannot see a whole lot of the park. Be sure to ask for higher floors if you want a panoramic view of Central Park. The Concierge service was outstanding. I requested flowers be ready in the room and was quoted the minimum of $75 that with delivery and taxes will be slightly more than 100. The concierge called me back 2 hours later to say he received the flowers and was not impressed and offered to have them redone or reduce the charge. I asked him to have it redone although it was late in the evening and only 2 hours before our arrvival. He got it done. That was EXCELLENT service. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cslab
Business
Chicago
Feb 25, 2014

Too hot!

Everything about the Essex House was fine except that we could not cool the room to a comfortable temperature (in February).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top