$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
View map of 160 Central Park South, -, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

My review of Essex House

From the smell of fresh flowers to greet you every time you walk through the opulent lobby, friendly staff, and great location to the well designed rooms with high tech conveniences, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I was very impressed with the lights under the night tables and bathroom vanity that were triggered by motion. When you walked in their path, they added enough light to get around in the dark, without having to fish around for switches. Other nifty features were the lighted clothes rail in the closet and the touch-pad on the telephone that controlled lights and temperature, in addition to the usual phone features. My daughter liked the bathrobes and slippers, the shower with the hand wand, and the lobby in which you could do tea or breakfast. The restaurant and room service was a little bit too pricey, although there are plenty of places close by to please a wide range of palates and wallets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

From this location we could walk everywhere! Lincoln Center, Central Park, Tiffany's, FAO Schwartz, Bloomingdales, to the theaters at Times Square we walked a lot and had a blast!!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bijou Baby
Couples
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect in Many Ways

I was very car sick when I checked in. The staff took very good care of me and got me comfortable. Love being near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Louis, MO
Jul 25, 2007

Great Location - Great Hotel

The Essex House was almost perfect for our recent stay in NYC. The staff was excellent from the doorman to the Concierge and the Housekeeping staff, everyone went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and we were always greeted by any staff member we passed by. We had a one bedroom suite with an interior view, and even though it would be nice to have a park view, this 14th floor room was so quiet that we had the luxury of sleeping in much later than we normally do. The large (600 square foot) suite was newly decorated and had the charm of the original historic hotel, along with beautiful art deco styled furniture and contemporary sink and luxurious marble shower. The bed was very comfortable with nice duvet and linens. The soft fluffy robes were like those in the finest spas. The sophisticated lighting mood controls could be accessed from the wall buttons or telephone system. The livingroom had a sofa sleeper, chair and large desk along with a walk in closet and large built in dresser with a safe, minibar and lots of storage. My wife and I felt that this was one of the nicest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The location was also perfect for us. On the edge of central park, it was a shortwalk to the Time Warner Center, which had great restaurants and shopping as well as Fifth Avenue for shopping and the Upper East Side for great restaurants. It was only a 20-25 minute walk to the Theaters in the Time Square area, with the crowds that made us glad we were staying on Central Park South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The minibar prices are outrageous, there is a newsstand on 7th avenue and 58th street that has cold soda for $1

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JF33813
Family
Lakeland, FL
Apr 4, 2010

Great location, helpful staff!

We stayed there for 7 days this last time so I feel like I can speak with a better understanding of what makes it so great. First, the obvious - a great location at the south end of Central Park...just beautiful and steps to just about everything. Less obvious is the staff. Several times they were helpful in unobtrusive manners from lending us two large umbrellas, no questions asked when both of ours blew up at the same time, to sending up two bandages when my daughter developed blisters on her feet from all of the walking. There was no "attitude" just great service. My daughter, who is slightly autistic, was visiting New York for the first time and the staff was just wonderful without making her feel like the "strange" kid. I apologize for going on but the hotel's staff made it special. Yes, I would highly recommend Jumeriah Essex House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli is a must visit. If you have never gone before, be aware that part of their shtick is that the sandwiches, which are divine, are huge...no, I mean two-three people per sandwich huge...that said, I love the food and ambience...must visit it!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
PA
Apr 5, 2011

Love this hotel!

Ran the More Half-Maratho on Sunday. This hotel is so conveniently located right across the street from Central Park. The staff could notbe nicer or more knowledgeable. The bar is great. The hotelrooms are spacious and extremely clean. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great inexpensive restaurants within walking distance.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Mar 27, 2011

If you are looking for quality

From the second you enter the door, you are in a place of taste and style. I travel quite a bit and it does not get better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
denver colorado
Apr 25, 2011

a wonderfulexperience .

near central park, reasonable dining within a two block radius. room well decorated & modern ; hotel staff helpful & polite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to catch specials

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, CO
Jan 5, 2010

unbeatable price and perfect location

I used to live in the City and now travel back about 4 times a year. Each time I visit, I try a new hotel looking for the perfect one (location, clean, staff) I have found it in the Essex House. WOW talk about location...next to Central Park ( I mean accross the street!)I love to shop and this hotel is just about 8 blks from Saks and Bloomies and only 4 blocks from 57th where Chanel, YSL, Dior and Gucci are. It is also close to a shopping ctr where there is a faboulous Whole Foods, also walking distance to an array of fine restaurants like Tao on 57th and great breakfasts places as well....this hotel has it all and for a reasonable price. Down the street is the Ritz and Im sure it costs a ton more but probably looks the same inside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bergdorfs around the corner!!! Saks and Bloomingdales a short nice walk!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tampa, FL
Mar 2, 2008

Great Value Hotel on Central Park

25th Wedding annivesary trip....hotel is modern having had a refurbishment...luxury everywhere including flat screen on the wall. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Don't touch the fridge or nuts in the draw though...phew the price. Located with views overlooking the park and a 10min walk to the Broadway show.....We will stay here when we visit next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a day or week travel card from the underground station...cheapest way to travel PLUS Staton Island Ferry is FREE!!!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
SF, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Good for vacation with family

business and family vacation; nice service; it is good memory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top