$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

South Gate
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAMR
Business
Lexington.KY
Apr 12, 2014

Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cslab
Chicago
Feb 25, 2014

Too hot!

Everything about the Essex House was fine except that we could not cool the room to a comfortable temperature (in February).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makmich
Pittsburgh
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic weekend getaway in New York

the location and staff are simply outstanding. The rest of the hotel is very good. No real issues. I requested a park view room but from the 5th floor you cannot see a whole lot of the park. Be sure to ask for higher floors if you want a panoramic view of Central Park. The Concierge service was outstanding. I requested flowers be ready in the room and was quoted the minimum of $75 that with delivery and taxes will be slightly more than 100. The concierge called me back 2 hours later to say he received the flowers and was not impressed and offered to have them redone or reduce the charge. I asked him to have it redone although it was late in the evening and only 2 hours before our arrvival. He got it done. That was EXCELLENT service. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conchy Joe
Sparta NJ
Jan 27, 2014

Great Location

We were in NY to attend opera and walked to Lincoln Center from the Hotel and had a great choice of restaurants within a short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Craig B
Lytham-St-Annes
Dec 23, 2013

WARNING ---- READ THE LATEST REVIEWS THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL

Don't fall for all the 4 and 5 star customer ratings this hotel built up under its former owners (Jumeirah Group). Since the Marriott took over this hotel has drastically declined beyond recognition. A once iconic hotel has fallen into serious disrepair and is unrecognisable from the 5 star hotel it used to be. It is clear the current owners are driving out as much shareholder value and running this asset into the ground before they are finally forced to close the hotel for a full and much needed refurbishment. According to some staff this is due to happen in around a years time. The real shame here is this is been done at the detriment of any level of customer service and current customers experience.Customers are not getting anywhere near the standard of hotel they are paying for. I also feel sorry for the staff who are more of an apology network than a customer service and hotel management team. I cannot urge you enough to read the most recent guest reviews before wasting your money (we can't all be wrong). The rooms are now very tired and unloved, chipped furniture, stained carpet overlaid with terrible customer service which borders on rude and at best indifferent and you can see why this hotel was a terrible disappointment. It is our first xmas together so I wanted it to be magical. There was nothing luxurious about the stay. The first room we were given didn't even have a safe and was a complete dive. I asked to move and the 2nd room was marginally better. Determined not to spend the whole 5 days complain (which would have been easy to do) I didn't want this to ruin our trip. The bathroom was almost comical, extremely dated and with creaky plumbing so we had the keep the door closed at night so it didn't wake us. The bath plug leaked so there was no relaxing and bizarrely the baths are tiny my girlfriend is only 5ft 3" they were like 3/4 size or something. Needless to say no romantic bath and I just made do with the drip of shower as I'm 6ft 2". i'm just glad it didn't smell as I heard several guest complaining about sewer smells and asking to change room. On the positive side this is a great location near central park (forget any ideas of park view 99% of the hotel rooms face inward and have no view or overlook carparks or roofs). 5-10 minute walk from time square and right near a sub way making getting round the city very easy. There are also some great restaurants in this area. I certainly would not stay at the hotel again as for the £2600 ($4160) we paid for 5 nights you could get a much more appropriate hotel where they actually care weather you have a nice stay or not. I would welcome a response for hotel management, but am doubtful there will be any kind of refund or compensation for our disappointing over priced stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellens Stardust Diner for breakfast. Let broadway hopefuls sing entertain you whilst you eat. These guys can really sing and the food is pretty good too. Head down 7th Avenue you a few streets down (think it was 51st). Great experience

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer reviewer
Upstate NY
Dec 22, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel

Great location, walked everywhere (theater, great restaurants, shopping), excellent room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globetrotting executive
Business
Boston
Nov 27, 2013

Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the hotel can't be beat, the bed linens were immaculately clean. There was some trouble getting hot water in the morning for a shower, which I would not have expected from a 5 star hotel. But on a previous stay the concierge served as a real force multiplier by arranging reservations for a business dinner and providing recommendations for corporate gifts, etc. Helpful staff make a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge, especially the German guy Berndt, he's fantastic at arranging for all of your needs.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluetang11
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 19, 2013

Apart from the location, not so good...

First I would like to say the location is excellent. Apart from that, I would not recommend the hotel to my friends. For my stay, I am arriving early @8 am , so I call them and let them know ahead of time we wish to have early checkin "if possible". The person on the phone, was kinda rude, saying this hotel don't do early checkin, if the room is available, then we can check in. It's understandable, but I explain to him I just want him to make a note, so if there's room available, they can accommodate. The tone is not friendly at all. I then told the person it's my 10 year anniversary weekend with my partner. If there's any room at higher floor that would be nice. He said sure, i'll add to the note. When we arrive, we were able to checkin early. We did not expect room upgrade or anything as we will be out and about most time anyway. Not a word from the front desk person saying Happy Anniversary or anything like that. I bet no notes were added to the computer at all. The Room itself its ok. Bed is comfortable. Then it comes the washroom. When you take a shower, you're standing in 1 feet of water, the water doesn't drain properly. It takes 15 mins to drain after each shower. I went to the front desk and let them know on our way out. They said they will send someone. But when we take a shower at night, the drain is blocked like before. At this point, I didn't brother asking them again. As we are only staying 2 nights. When we check out, we left the luggage with them for the day. After they handed us the tag, our luggage is left on luggage cart for over 12 mins unattended while the bell boy run around helping other people. Anyone could have walk up and pick up our luggage. Since we have some valuable items and a vintage hermes bag, we waited till they push the cart somewhere. I don't think this hotel can be 5 stars base on staff and the fact that you need to stand in 1 feet of dirty water when you shower. The staff did not really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAF1234
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 29, 2013

Too expensive for location/Access to taxis

The hotel was clean and nice but it had very little in the way of amenities and it is virtually impossible to catch a cab from the hotel. Not even the bellman could hail one. We were late for a show despite going out to hail a cab an HOUR before show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Fineman
Los Angeles
May 8, 2013

A wedding to remember

Thank you so much to the staff of the Essex House. What a beautiful property! The art deco details, the service. the room. Everything was beautiful. And the location is not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner for celebrity sightings and great food!

Back to menu Return to top