$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

South Gate
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2009

Really comfortable

I was in town for business for one night and needed a quiet room for sleep and work. The renovated rooms are well laid-out and spotlessly clean. The bed is super-comfortable. The lighting takes some getting used to but is very cool - the lights are on switches that make them fade off. Really enjoyed my stay - probably my 10th time there - will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2007

Grat Location

The Essex House is right across the street from Central Park just a few steps away from Park benches shady tree and a chance to observe native N.Yorkers & fellow tourist, you are also within walking to famous shopping and Museums..a subway stop just around the corner. WE stayed in a newly renovated room with the most comfortable bed and luxuious sheets and down comforter, there was work desk but not a comfy chair for casual sitting(although there was a space for one and it might be added I meant to ask ) Next time I would request a Park view or any view room, ours looked onto a brick wall. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with Hotel matters and other personal difficulties we encountered. It was a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2007

Perfect location

Essex House is a beautiful hotel across street from Central Park and within walking distance of theatre district and 5th avenue shopping. Our room had recently been redone and was very comfortable and well appointed. Room was spacious by NYC standards. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service and hotel restaurant prices were ridiculous but there are variety of eating establishments within short walk of hotel entrance. La Parisienne Coffee House which is around the corner on 7th Ave had good food, reasonable prices and quick service (cash only).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Essex House offers complimentary 'house car' which will provide transportation to locations within 10 blocks of the hotel. this would include most of the theatre district and 5th Avenue shops. Service is on a first come, first serve basis so was often unavailable when we needed it. Taxis were cheap with fare of $4-$6 to most theaters.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 5, 2011

Love this hotel!

Ran the More Half-Maratho on Sunday. This hotel is so conveniently located right across the street from Central Park. The staff could notbe nicer or more knowledgeable. The bar is great. The hotelrooms are spacious and extremely clean. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great inexpensive restaurants within walking distance.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mengkofen
Jul 27, 2008

staff very helpful and friendly, very upscale property, great view, nice rooms

I have been to many JUMEIRAH hotels this was the best and for sure the best hotel in all over New York (Manhattan) i have ever stayed at. The room where big, nice park view in the room that i had and the bar was just an eye catcher. Very nice, up scaled property. Don;t forget the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on 5th Avenue only 2 blocks away.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Good for vacation with family

business and family vacation; nice service; it is good memory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golden star
Wake Forest, NC
Nov 10, 2009

Remarkable experience!

First, let me say that the entire staff here was incredibly attentive and friendly. We chose the Essex House primarily based on the location. We had plans to visit the Mets (both the museum and opera house, NOT the baseball team) and the hotel is within easy walking distance of each. There are several Michelin-starred restaurants within walking distance, and excellent 57th street shopping as well. In fact, we never had to arrange transportation the entire trip, b/c the walk down to 34th street is a breeze! The room I originally booked had an unsatisfactory view (but was otherwise impeccable and larger than most in the area), and we were generously upgraded to a room directly overlooking Central Park. The room was both modern and classically luxurious. The room was quiet in the evening. We plan to make this our go-to NYC hotel. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby neighborhood dining gems: for breakfast try Amy's Breads on 9th (b/w 46-47th) and have dinner at Picholine on west 63rd or Quality Meats on 58th.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JF33813
Lakeland, FL
Apr 4, 2010

Great location, helpful staff!

We stayed there for 7 days this last time so I feel like I can speak with a better understanding of what makes it so great. First, the obvious - a great location at the south end of Central Park...just beautiful and steps to just about everything. Less obvious is the staff. Several times they were helpful in unobtrusive manners from lending us two large umbrellas, no questions asked when both of ours blew up at the same time, to sending up two bandages when my daughter developed blisters on her feet from all of the walking. There was no "attitude" just great service. My daughter, who is slightly autistic, was visiting New York for the first time and the staff was just wonderful without making her feel like the "strange" kid. I apologize for going on but the hotel's staff made it special. Yes, I would highly recommend Jumeriah Essex House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli is a must visit. If you have never gone before, be aware that part of their shtick is that the sandwiches, which are divine, are huge...no, I mean two-three people per sandwich huge...that said, I love the food and ambience...must visit it!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
May 11, 2007

accomodating diners

the restauant staff was very understanding about my family's dining restrictions and prepared food to order not available on the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from central park. theatre district with walking distance.

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Mar 2, 2010

New York Trip

Ideal location with walking access to Lincoln Center, dining, theaters, shopping and Central Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top