$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

JW Marriott Essex House New York

5 stars
160, Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Overnight business trip

excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location See full review

  • TAMR
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good business stay

Had to book a last minute room in New York for a series of meetings in Midtown. The location of the... See full review

  • Globetrotting executive
  • Nov 27, 2013
Art Deco hotel in New York City

With sleek accommodations and contemporary facilities housed in a historic, Art Deco-era structure, JW Marriott Essex House New York makes for an ideal base for travelers visiting vibrant New York City. Diners at this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel fulfill cravings with sumptuous modern American specialties all day South Gate Restaurant on site. Guests can also enjoy a selection of cocktails and wines at the in-house bar.

JW Marriott Essex House New York features equipped meeting and events facilities that can host corporate and banquet events of up to 550 persons. Patrons can work out at the 24-hour fitness center and later unwind with relaxing treatments at the full-service spa on site. Valet parking is available for a fee. Dry cleaning, Wi-Fi access in public areas, and foreign currency exchange are also on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prestigious Manhattan location along Central Park
  • Art Deco structure with luxurious accommodations
  • Beaux Arts-style Grand Salon
JW Marriott Essex House New York Rooms

All 511 rooms and suites at JW Marriott Essex House New York are done in sophisticated style and outfitted with modern comforts. Each unit is fitted with air conditioning, iron/ironing board, writing desk, alarm clock, mini bar, iPod docking station, cable flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom with shower/tub and hairdryer. Some units have living area with sofa bed and scenic city views. Safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access are available for an added fee. 

Things To Do:
  • Carnegie Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Statue of Liberty National Monument (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs are allowed within the hotel with a $150 per stay fee for pets up to 25 lb. There is no charge for service animals.
  • Rollaway beds are available upon request on a first-come, first-served basis for $75 per night. Rollaway beds are allowed only in the following room types: Junior Suite, Manhattan Suite, Family Suite, Central Park Suite, and Central Park Deluxe Suite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7662 -73.9786
Area served
Times Square
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.30, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.90, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Essex House New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Barney's: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi

Dining

SOUTHGATE Bar & Restaurant
South Gate, our modern tavern, offers a variety of crafted tastes and flavors. Our American menu of locally-sourced ingredients focuses on tapas and small bites, complemented by a generous selection of libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KKCD
OREGON
Aug 8, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & SERVICE

WE ARRIVED IN THE CITY EARLY AND DECIDED TO CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF WE COULD POSSIBLY GET AN EARLY CHECK IN. THE YOUNG WOMAN THAT ANSWERED SAID SHE WOULD CHECK AND WHEN SHE CAME BACK TO THE PHONE SHE VERY KINDLY TOLD ME SHE HAD ARRANGED IT AND WE COULD COME AT ANY TIME. ONCE WE GOT THERE THE STAFF COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Location, location...but at a cost!

First room they gave us was on a back street (58th Street)on the 7th floor and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. They moved us up to the 17th floor the next night which was much better. Surely they've had complaints about noise on the south side of the hotel before, so they should have considered this when assigning our room at check-in, given that this is at least the 4th time in 12 months we've stayed with them...and they knew it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Blue, 158 West 58th St., just across from the 58th street hotel entrance, is great for drinks and hors d'ouvres - tapas. We ordered an assortment and skipped dinner...food was excellent!

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scougalls
Essex House Hotel
Oct 25, 2012

Trip of a lifetime

Perfect location for central park and short walk to broadway and times square. Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful but restaurant, room service and bar prices very expensive. Would definately recommend buying the New York Pass, we had a 3 day pass with bus tours included and we seen all the main attractions plus a few we may not have considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cslab
Chicago
Feb 25, 2014

Too hot!

Everything about the Essex House was fine except that we could not cool the room to a comfortable temperature (in February).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAF1234
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 29, 2013

Too expensive for location/Access to taxis

The hotel was clean and nice but it had very little in the way of amenities and it is virtually impossible to catch a cab from the hotel. Not even the bellman could hail one. We were late for a show despite going out to hail a cab an HOUR before show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 2, 2007

Great for bussines helpfyl staff

This is a great hotel for location and staff are very helpfu. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Problems long waits at frort desk no coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great attractions nearby central park, MOMA and shopping

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Christmas Trip Traveller
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2011

Great looks but not really livable

The hotel looks really elegant. The lobby area offers an afternoon tea as well as a bar and is staffed by at least 10-12 people to help with whatever your needs might be. The convenient location is a bonus since it is very close to bus and subway lines as well as the Central Park carriages (both horse-drawn and bike). The room appears equally elegant but it has some real issues with regard to actually using the room. - The bed is very comfortable and there are an abundance of pillows of varying sizes and firmness. - Dispite the thermostat being set at 68 degrees, the temperature in the room at night ranged from 68 degrees to 76 degrees. - Internet is an extra $15/day/device. If you have two computers, you should expect to pay $30/day. If you have one computer but you use it both wired and wireless, you can expect to also pay $30/day since the hotel considers these to be separate machines. Yes, you can negotiate with the front desk but in a hotel of this quality, I expected free internet. - The internet cable is 12" long. It is 36" to the kneehole in the desk so you cannot use the wired connection without banging your knees on the cabinet. - We had a junior suite which included a pull-out couch. While our reservation indicated 3 people staying in the room, there was no blanket for the sofabed. It took over an hour for the blanket to be delivered. - Once the sofabed was pulled out, the room was reduced to narrow alleys for walking. - If you wanted to watch TV on the beautiful large TV from the couch, everything was great. If you wanted to watch TV from the bed, you had to rotate the screen around to get the remote to work and to see the screen. This is laid out such that if someone needs to go past the TV, say to get to the bathroom, the TV screen must be moved because there is not enough room to walk past it with the sofabed out. - There is no way to make the room dark. Lights are controlled primarily from the door albeit there is a mood light built into the bed's headboard. If one wants to read, one has to get out of bed to turn off the lights. Once all the lights are off, the lightswitches act as nightlights. Nice idea, but this leaves the room fairly well illuminated with no way for a guest to darken the room. The phone also randomly lights up and it is quite bright. - Showers should not require an intelligence test to use. They should also provide ample hot water. I had the hot water maxed but still found the water tepid. - The toilet has a phone next to it right at elbow level. It's on the same side as the toilet paper roll so it kept getting knocked off the hook. - There is no coffee pot in the room nor a refridgerator. - One maid service got us 3 large, wonderful towels and 5 sets of hand towels and washcloths. Another maid service got us 5 large towels and two sets of hand towels and washcloths. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a hotel that in beautiful, this is a great hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is functional, this is a very expensive hotel that gives less thought to the guest's use of the room than a mid-priced hotel. I'm not sure that it met our needs well enough for us to pay this much money again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GJDavis
London, UK
Mar 28, 2012

NOT 5 star. Valuables got "lost"

Pretty poor. First room was dirty and the shower didn't drain so was left standing in a pool of dirt. Room was really small. When I called to complain was transferred to an endless ringing phone which no one picked up. Eventually changed room and left a valuable pen in the old room. Security could not find it and so it was "lost". The lobby was gorgeous but unfortunately that's where the luxury stops. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trot7
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Slightly run down

We've been coming to the Essex House for years, but this is the first time since 2009. It's a bit more run-down than it was before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lilliane
Business
Mexico
Mar 18, 2012

My experience at the Jumeirah Essex House

Well,first night I stayed in a room facing the air conditioning system and it was like being in an airplane all night. I asked for another room and I was moved to a room facing 58 street, where they say the noise will be solved, but those rooms are smaller than the one I paid for. Using the air conditioning inside the room was very noisy like broken, the hotel is a bad refurbished old pit. Not comming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluetang11
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 19, 2013

Apart from the location, not so good...

First I would like to say the location is excellent. Apart from that, I would not recommend the hotel to my friends. For my stay, I am arriving early @8 am , so I call them and let them know ahead of time we wish to have early checkin "if possible". The person on the phone, was kinda rude, saying this hotel don't do early checkin, if the room is available, then we can check in. It's understandable, but I explain to him I just want him to make a note, so if there's room available, they can accommodate. The tone is not friendly at all. I then told the person it's my 10 year anniversary weekend with my partner. If there's any room at higher floor that would be nice. He said sure, i'll add to the note. When we arrive, we were able to checkin early. We did not expect room upgrade or anything as we will be out and about most time anyway. Not a word from the front desk person saying Happy Anniversary or anything like that. I bet no notes were added to the computer at all. The Room itself its ok. Bed is comfortable. Then it comes the washroom. When you take a shower, you're standing in 1 feet of water, the water doesn't drain properly. It takes 15 mins to drain after each shower. I went to the front desk and let them know on our way out. They said they will send someone. But when we take a shower at night, the drain is blocked like before. At this point, I didn't brother asking them again. As we are only staying 2 nights. When we check out, we left the luggage with them for the day. After they handed us the tag, our luggage is left on luggage cart for over 12 mins unattended while the bell boy run around helping other people. Anyone could have walk up and pick up our luggage. Since we have some valuable items and a vintage hermes bag, we waited till they push the cart somewhere. I don't think this hotel can be 5 stars base on staff and the fact that you need to stand in 1 feet of dirty water when you shower. The staff did not really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search